Description: |
This photographic copy of a book illustration depicts The Marion County Seminary. Erected 1832 [sic]; Torn Down 1853 [sic]. Sketched from a photograph by Mary Y. Robinson. Text identifies the schools principals between 1834 and 1853. Indianapolis artist Mary Yandes Robinson (1864-1953) sketched this from a photograph and a reproduction of her drawing appeared in Picturesque Indianapolis, published in 1889 by her father Joseph R. Robinson. She drew a cupola or bell tower on the structure, which does not appear in the only known photograph of the school [see image ai-0001-0965], taken shortly before its demolition in 1860.The Marion County Seminary, a school for young men, opened on September 1, 1834 facing New York Street on the southwest corner of Square 25 of Ralstons original plan for Indianapolis. The lower floor also doubled as a meeting place for several churches including the Second Presbyterian Church, which met there shortly after organization in November 1838. After the seminary closed in 1853, it was used as the first Indianapolis High School from 1853 until 1859. The structure was demolished in the summer of 1860. |
---|---|
Origin: | 1860, circa |
Created By: |
Robinson, Mary Y. (Mary Yandes), 1864-1953 |
Source: |
http://indianaalbum.pastperfectonline.com/photo/F78B6219-A446-4ABC-A065-951787322975 |
Collection: |
Indiana Album |
Rights: | http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/NoC-US/1.0/ |
Geography: |
East New York Street, Indianapolis, Marion County, Indiana, United States 39.771499,-86.157468 |
Subjects: |
Joan Hostetler Collection Schools Drawings Book illustrations Universities & colleges University Square (Indianapolis, Ind.) University Park (Indianapolis, Ind.) Indianapolis (Ind.) Marion County (Ind.) |
Further information on this record can be found at its source.