Description: |
Picture of former building located on Southeast corner of East Park Drive and North Jefferson Street. Roche Building or Roche Block, built late 1893, 44 feet wide and 80 feet deep. First occupants January 1894 were the Knights of St. John on the second floor and the Huntington Business University. Newspapers The Morning Times, Huntington Democrat and Huntington News Democrat were being published here. From September 1897 until the spring of 1898, St. Marys School students were housed here waiting completion of their own school. By 1915, the Knights of Columbus occupied the 2nd and 3rd floors while Our Sunday Vistor took over the first floor and built an addition to the rear of the building. Our Sunday Visitor occupied this building until 1924 when they built the building behind the Roche Building. From about 1929-1948, Montgomery Ward was located in this building and around 1950-1954, the Carroll House took up residence. In 1954, Wolf & Dessauer came to Huntington and stayed until 1969. From about 1974, Lehmans Appliance could be found there. After 1989, it was basically a warehouse for Lehman Electric & Plumbing. As of 2015 the original Our Sunday Visitor building was tore down to create the Rotary Centennial Park and the second Our Sunday Visitor was renovated into apartments. |
---|---|
Origin: | c. 1920 |
Source: |
http://indianamemory.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p16066coll15/id/204 |
Collection: |
Huntington City-Township Public Library |
Copyright: |
Digital image © 2013 Huntington City-Township Public Library. This material may be protected by U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17, U.S. Code), which governs reproduction, distribution, display, and certain other uses of protected works. The user of this material is responsible for compliance with the Law. |
Subjects: |
Buildings Automobiles Carriage houses Landscape photographs Printing industry Religious facilities |
Further information on this record can be found at its source.