The 376th Heavy Bombardment Group Oral Histories includes audio and video oral histories with veterans serving in the 376th Heavy Bombardment Group during World War II. Attached to the United States 15th Air Force and based in North Africa and later in southern Italy, this bomb group flew 451 missions against Germany and its Axis allies between 12 June 1942 and 15 April 1945. Among the key targets bombed by the 376th Heavy Bombardment were Ploesti, Vienna, Moosierbaum, and the Brenner Pass. Pilots, co-pilots, navigators, bombardiers, flight engineers, gunners, and grounds crewmen of the 376th's four squadrons -- 512th, 513th, 514th, and 515th -- are represented in these interviews. Two additional interviews with Edward Clendenin and Kim Hobbs, both sons of deceased veterans, provide background and context for the oral history collection. The goal of this project was to preserve the memories of the airmen and grounds crewmen for their families, students, scholars, and future generations of Americans.
The interviews were conducted during the annual reunion of the 376th Heavy Bomb Group Veterans Association in September 2007 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and during the annual reunion in September 2010 in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Edward Clendenin, Kim Hobbs, Toni Schmidt, Chris Reidy, and David Ulbrich conducted the interviews with the veterans; and Mr. Reidy and Robert Fultz served as videographers. Dr. Ulbrich organized this project through Ball State University with generous financial and administrative support from the 376th HBG Veterans Association and from Ball State's History Department, Military Science Department, University Teleplex, and Archives and Special Collections.
Copies of interviews and transcripts as well as additional archival materials on the 376th Heavy Bombardment Group are available at the Ball State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections.
The 500 Festival archival collection is held by the organization in Indianapolis. This digitized collection was created to share the 500 Festival events and traditions with the community.
The online collection includes photos and documents from past and present 500 Festival events and programs.
If you own a 500 Festival item not represented in this collection and would be willing to loan it for scanning and consideration, please contact the Center for Digital Scholarship.
If you can enrich the description of photographs through correcting a date or identifying events, products, or people, please use the 'Comments' function at the bottom of the relevant item page or send information to [email protected]. Suggested amendments will be reviewed periodically for inclusion.
Supported by Center for Digital Scholarship
This collection from the Adams Public Library System provides access to obscure historical accounts and photographs of the early years of the county as well as the state. Included in this collection is the documentation of the first known “Peace Monument” in the United States.
This collection is part of an on-going project of the Adams Public Library System to digitize and make publicly available the records for Adams County. Current records include the statistical reports from the Adams County Assessor's Office. Additional materials will be added as time and funding permit.
The Administrators' and Executors' Bonds and Letters, 1844-1851 is a bound volume of Harrison County probate records from the early 1800s. It is the earliest probate record in the collection of the Frederick Porter Griffin Center and contains entries from April 20, 1844 to June 24, 1851. The book primarily contains records associated with administrators and executors, individuals charged with managing and settling the estate of a deceased person. Administrators and executors were required to sign oaths, letters, and/or bonds that held them accountable for the duties entrusted to them. It is these records that are in this volume. There are also four wills recorded in the book—those of Engelbert Bunne, Samuel Current, Reuben Wright, and St. Clair Young. Information in the documents can be helpful in determining residency, date of death, and familial relationships.
The volume contains over 450 handwritten pages of probate records. These pages have not been transcribed as yet. However, the accompanying index has been transcribed and is organized alphabetically by the last name of the deceased, and these can easily be found by entering the deceased's surname in the search box.
Articles, photos and videos that tell the story of the African American experience in Kokomo and Howard County, Indiana.
On March 5th, 2007, a car bomb exploded on Al-Mutanabbi Street in Baghdad. Al-Mutanabbi Street is located in a mixed Shia-Sunni area. More than 30 people were killed and more than 100 wounded. Al-Mutanabbi Street, the historic center of Baghdad bookselling, holds bookstores and outdoor bookstalls, cafes, stationery shops, and even tea and tobacco shops. It has been the longstanding heart and soul of the Baghdad literary and intellectual community for centuries. In response to the attack, a San Francisco bookseller, Beau Beausoleil, rallied a community of international artists and writers to produce a collection of letterpress-printed broadsides (poster-like works on paper), artists' books (unique works of art in book form), and an anthology of writing, all focused on expressing solidarity with Iraqi booksellers, writers and readers. The coalition of contributing artists calls itself Al-Mutanabbi Street Starts Here Coalition. This collection supports and promotes awareness to the important mission and framework of the Al-Mutanabbi Street Starts Here Coalition's focus on the lasting power of the written word and the arts in support of the free expression of ideas, the preservation of shared cultural spaces, and the importance of responding to attacks, both overt and subtle, on artists, writers, and academics working under oppressive regimes or in zones of conflict despite the destruction of that literary/cultural content.
The Allen Williams Ball State University Black Alumni Collection provides online access to a collection of scrapbooks, photographs, newsletters, and videos donated by Allen L. Williams, Class of 1973, documenting the lives and activities of members of the black student and black alumni communities at Ball State University.
Williams, an active member of the Ball State alumni community, served as president of the Ball State University Alumni Council in 1998 and is a member of the Ball State University Black Alumni Constituent Society Board of Directors.
The collection includes scrapbooks compiled by the Ball State University Black Alumni Constituent Society, photograph albums and photographs documenting the annual Ball State University Black Alumni Reunion, publications documenting the black student experience and multicultural affairs at Ball State University, and videos documenting Ball State University Black Alumni events and activities. Materials in the collection date from the 1960s to the 2000s.
The Allison Transmission archival collection is held by the company at its global headquarters in Indianapolis. This digital collection was created as part of the company's centennial in 2015. Included are newsletters, brochures, advertisements, and photographs.
If you own a newsletter issue or unique advertisement not represented in this collection and would be willing to loan it for scanning and consideration, please contact the Center for Digital Scholarship.
If you can enrich the description of photographs through correcting a date or identifying events, products, or people, please use the 'Comments' function at the bottom of the relevant item page or send information to [email protected]. Suggested amendments will be reviewed periodically for inclusion.
This collection documents the history of All Souls Unitarian Church, a congregation founded in 1903 by the Reverend Elmer Newbert that still continues today. It comprises of membership information, church bulletins, and photographs.
This collection provides online access to a selection of digitized records from Altrusa International, Inc. ranging in date from 1917 to 2011. The collection contains a variety of records documenting the history and activities of Altrusa International including constitutions and bylaws, correspondence, member directories, reports, and other administrative records; Board of Directors meeting minutes and proceedings; anniversary programs, certificates, and other commemorative materials; annual convention programs, minutes, and proceedings; newsletters; subject files; photographs; and video recordings.
The Alvin W. Holmes Covered Bridge Photographs digital collection is a representative sampling of more than 300 photographs and slides documenting covered bridges in Indiana and other locations taken by Alvin W. Holmes, circa 1939 to 1972.
This collection of scholarship by Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary (AMBS) faculty, students, and alumni is provided in service of the AMBS mission to serve the church as a learning community with an Anabaptist vision.
Purdue University President Edward C. Elliott invited Amelia Earhart to lecture at the university in 1934. Earhart joined the Purdue University staff as a women's career counselor in 1935. The Purdue Research Foundation funded the purchase of her Lockheed Electra 10E "flying laboratory" that she used in her ill-fated attempt to fly across the world at the equator in 1937. Earhart was on leave of absence from Purdue when she disappeared during this flight. This collection contains photographs and documents related to her time a Purdue.
The American Almanacs digital collection includes representative samples for almanacs published in the United States primarily during the 18th century. The almanacs feature calendars, tide charts, lunar and solar observations, accounts of weather patterns, indexes of political activities and government offices, illustrations, and various regional, national, and international statistics.
The digital collection is comprised of materials from the Gene Wierbach alamanacs collection, which features 19 farmer's almanacs published in Pennsylvania, Maryland and New York between 1788 and 1875. 13 of the almanacs from the Wierbach collection are written in German, marking the influence of German settlers in the mid-Atlantic United States during the 1700s and 1800s.
Almanacs from the Elisabeth Ball Collection are also included.
The American Cities Historic Maps digital collection features maps of American cities dating from 1855 through 1921, depicting a unique urban view at the turn of the century. Cities represented include Chicago, San Francisco, New York, Louisville, Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, and others. The collection features street maps, topographic maps, park maps, city planning maps, and maps of coastal city harbors.
The non-profit American Pianists Association nurtures the artistic growth of America's top young pianists by focusing on creative expression and career development while holding the nation's premier jazz and classical competitions.
The American Red Cross, Muncie Area Chapter digital collection includes annual reports, correspondence, program histories, scrapbooks, and photographs documenting the activities of the Muncie, Indiana chapter of the American Red Cross between 1918 and 1987. The collection primarily highlights the organization’s wartime relief efforts in the local community including blood drives, the preparation of surgical dressings, and the operation of canteen services.
The American Turners is a national German-American organization founded in 1850 by German immigrants. The American Turners advocated a liberal political philosophy, protected the political rights of German-Americans, and promoted the preservation of German culture. Strong believers in physical fitness, the American Turners lobbied to have physical education made a part of the educational curriculum in public schools.
The American Turners is a national German-American organization founded in 1850 by German immigrants. The American Turners advocated a liberal political philosophy, protected the political rights of German-Americans, and promoted the preservation of German culture. Strong believers in physical fitness, the American Turners lobbied to have physical education made a part of the educational curriculum in public schools.
The American Turner Topics, published since 1936, is the newsletter of the American Turners, a German-American organization that stresses physical fitness and German culture. The newsletter contains articles about Turner history and philosophy, obituaries of Turner members, and reports on the activities of the national organization, of individual Turner societies, and of related German-American organizations.
This project was funded in part by the Hoyt-Reichmann Chair in German-American Studies.
AW3D seeks to provide easy to use, open access 3D resources for everyone who loves the Classical World. The students who drive the project conduct research and annotate open access 3D models, that can then be downloaded for uses in VR or 3D printing.
This collection consists of records of the Anderson Guards, an independent military organization formed in Corydon, Indiana in 1861. The collection includes the organization's constitution and bylaws, as well as meeting minutes from March and April 1861. There is also a roll of members and notes to the Secretary regarding proper report methods.
The Arbor Vitae yearbooks collection provides online access to the yearbook of the Muncie Normal Institute in Muncie, Indiana (later renamed the Muncie National Institute), a predecessor institution of Ball State University. Editions of the yearbook date from 1913 to 1917.
Editions of The Orient, the yearbook of Ball State University, are also available digitally for the period spanning 1919 to 1965.
The American Turners is a national German-American organization founded in 1850 by German immigrants. The American Turners advocated a liberal political philosophy, protected the political rights of German-Americans, and promoted the preservation of German culture. Strong believers in physical fitness, the American Turners lobbied to have physical education made a part of the educational curriculum in public schools.
Arlington High School was among the last three public high schools to open within the Indianapolis Public Schools system. Built in response to the rapid growth of the Indianapolis suburbs on the northeast side, Arlington opened in September 1961.
During World War II, the Army Map Service of the Corps of Engineers published detailed maps of European cities that Allied troops would use in areas of fighting and for mission-planning purposes. It is estimated that the Army Map Service produced 500 million different maps during this time. This collection includes detailed maps of cities in France, the site of the Allied invasion beginning on D-Day in June of 1944.
Founded in 1971 as the Association of Voluntary Action Scholars, ARNOVA is a neutral, open forum committed to strengthening the research about and helping shape better practice in these realms. We bring together both theoretical and applied interests, helping scholars gain insight into the day-to-day concerns of third-sector organizations, while providing nonprofit professionals with connections to research they can use to improve the work of their organizations and the quality of life for citizens and communities.
Arsenal Technical High School began as an actual U.S. Army federal arsenal. Attracted by the student-ready buildings, location, and park-like grounds, the Indianapolis Public Schools began using the former arsenal as a new high school. The Arsenal Technical High School collection includes school yearbooks dating from 1914 and other archival materials of interest to graduates and historians alike.
The Arthur B. Henning Architectural Records digital collection consists of photographs, sketches, reference material, and ephemera from the office of architect Arthur B. Henning, from Anderson, Indiana. The collection spans from 1922-1980 and includes architectural drawings by architect Erwin F. Miller. Henning worked for Miller and later bought the firm; he acquired the drawings at that time. Drawing sets are for projects in Madison County and include schools, residences, brewery facilities, and a business.
The bulk of the collection consists of Henning's projects, which were primarily schools, churches, government buildings, libraries, hospital and businesses in Anderson, Indiana, and surrounding Madison County. Some of his largest projects were City Hall, Community Hospital, Fire Department Headquarters, and Anderson High School, all in Anderson, Indiana. Other projects include multiple buildings on the Anderson College campus, Central Christian Church, First Methodist Church, and numerous schools in the area. Items in the collection include photographs, building dedication booklets, newspaper clippings, articles, and reference books.
Objects can be compelling storytellers that put other times and places in context. They bridge time periods and cultures and celebrate our differences. The Indianapolis Public Library and The Children's Museum of Indianapolis have selected 1,000 artifacts from the museum collection to make available via the library's web site. Selected objects range over school subjects from Social Studies to Science to Geography with a particular emphasis on Indiana.
This digital collection contains artist's works within the visual, performance and literary art world. Learn more about Indiana's rich history through sketches, engravings, paintings, and historical works from the late 19th to the early 21st century.
The Arts Council advocates for the need and importance of broad community funding and support for a thriving arts scene; innovates by constantly pursuing and promoting innovative ideas and programs that better serve the area, its artists, and arts organizations; and connects artists, audiences, businesses, foundations, and arts and cultural organizations with opportunities to explore and expand central Indiana's creative vitality. This digital collection contains over 20 years of programs, brochures, and calendars.
Arts for Learning, the Indiana Affiliate of the Young Audiences, Inc. non-profit organization, was formed in 1961 and has since been empowering children to achieve their creative and intellectual potential through arts in education around the state. This collection spans the history of the organization in Indiana, told through photographs, programs, curriculum, and correspondence.
The Athenaeum Damenverein is the women's auxiliary of the Athenaeum Turners, one of the German-American organizations established in Indianapolis in the 1800s. Organized in 1876 to support the Turner society, the Damenverein expanded its activities to include philanthropic and social service work in the community and social and cultural events for their members. The Damenverein is still active. These photographs are part of the Athenaeum Damenverein Records held by the IUPUI University Library Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives.
This project was funded in part by the Hoyt-Reichmann Chair in German-American Studies.
The Athenaeum Pops Orchestra began in 1870 and has continued to flourish. Its mission is to make music for the enrichment, education, and enjoyment of Indianapolis-area audiences with an emphasis on diverse and under-served populations.
The Athenaeum Turners is a German-American organization founded in 1851 as the Indianapolis Turngemeinde. Its original emphasis was on promoting physical fitness and intellectual development, advancing the political interests of German-Americans, and preserving German culture. The Athenaeum, the Turners' home since its opening in 1893, served as a gathering place for the Indianapolis German-American community, and members of the Athenaeum Turners were prominent leaders in the political, business, educational, and cultural life of the city. Today the Athenaeum Turners is primarily a German cultural organization. These photographs are part of the Athenaeum Turners Records held by the IUPUI University Library Ruth Lilly Special Collections and Archives.
This project was funded in part by the Hoyt-Reichmann Chair in German-American Studies.
Digitized images from the local history collection at the library.
Many of these images do not have smaller versions. To view the original image, select "View Asset" from the bottom, left-hand corner of the source record.
This digital collection provides complete, freely-available online access to the Ball State Journal for Business Educators, formerly the Ball State Commerce Journal, which was published at Ball State University, formerly Ball State Teachers College, from 1929 to 1982. The journal, published and produced by the Department of Business Education and Office Administration at Ball State University's Miller College of Business, features scholarship on the theory and practice of business education and pedagogy.
The Ball State Monograph Series digital collection consists of full-text issues of the series, a set of books published by Ball State University from 1963 to 1990. The series showcases the scholarly interests and achievements of Ball State University's faculty.
The Ball State University African American Alumni Oral Histories collection provides online access to 42 interviews conducted with African Americans who attended or worked at Ball State University between 1950 and 2017 regarding their lives, careers, and college or graduate school experiences. Interviews were conducted and recorded by Ball State University Honors College and Public History Program students enrolled in the Oral History Workshop immersive learning courses during the spring of 2015 and 2017 under the direction of Dr. Michael Doyle, Director of Public History Program and Associate Professor in the Ball State University Department of History.
The Ball State University Alumni Memorabilia digital collection includes photographs from the Ball State University Alumni Center ranging from 1918 to 2001 regarding student life. The collection will be expanded in the future to include other memorabilia media types.
Ball State University's Alumni Association was founded when the first class of the Normal School graduated in 1919. To date, the Alumni Association has been a national leader in its involvement with student campus leaders. The Association sponsors special events to include an array of activities that annually involve several students on campus.
On March 26, 1991, the Asian American Student Association (AASA) was approved to become a student organization. The AASA was originally located in the Multicultural Center. The reorganization of the Multicultural Center in 2000 relocated the group to the Office of Student Life, the clearing house for all recognized student organizations. During the Spring Semester of 2021, the AASA changed its name to the Asian Student Union (ASU).
The purpose of ASU is to provide cultural and educational programming about Asian and Asian American history, culture, and interests. The primary goal is to strengthen cultural pride and facilitate the development of a campus environment conducive to cultural appreciation. ASU membership is open to all students, regardless of racial or ethnic backgrounds. ASU-sponsored programs include: Asian American Awareness Month, Asian Fashion Show, Street Festival, Tea Time and Meditation, K-pop Dance Night, and much more.
The Black Student Association (BSA) first began as an off-campus organization under the name Black Student Union in 1968. On May 22, 1969, the group became a recognized student organization known as the Afro-American Student Union (AASU). The AASU established an office within the Special Programs House, later known as the Multicultural Center, after it opened in December 1970. During the fall of 1974, the group revised its constitution and changed its name to the Black Student Association. In 2000, the Multicultural Center was reorganized, and the BSA and other student groups were relocated to the Office of Student Life, the clearing house for all recognized student organizations.
The mission of BSA is to aid in the growth and development of Ball State collegiate students through a series of culturally, socially, and academically focused discussions and programs from a unique African-American perspective. BSA's mission is fulfilled through community service, campus involvement, and professional development. BSA also aims to develop and promote unity within the minority community and intensify the Black voice at Ball State. BSA membership is open to all students, regardless of racial or ethnic backgrounds. Programs and activities sponsored by BSA include: Black History Month, Unity Pageant, Soul Food Fest, Black Student Association Scholarship, and much more.
The Ball State Campus Maps digital collection includes maps of Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana ranging from 1929 to 2009. These maps are valuable resources for researchers interested in the growth of the Ball State University campus over the last century.
The maps are from the GIS Research and Map Collection (GRMC) as well as Archives and Special Collections. The maps from the GRMC are available for check out. To check an item's availability in the University Libraries' online catalog, click on the Locate This Item in CardCat link in the document description view.
The Ball State University Campus Photographs digital collection is a representative sampling of more than 400,000 historic photographs, negatives and other images dating back to 1899. The images document events, activities, people, growth, and development of Ball State from normal school to university.
The Campus Update Newsletter collection provides online access to Campus Update, a newsletter produced for Ball State University faculty and staff members and their families from 1980 to 2009. The newsletter contains information regarding campus developments, University events and programs, and the accomplishments and activities of Ball State University faculty and staff.
The College of Architecture and Planning Guest Lecture Series collection contains digitized audio and video recordings and of lectures held at the Ball State University College of Architecture and Planning since its founding in the 1960s. The collection also contains digitized promotional materials promoting the lecture series.
The college has a history of fostering a vibrant guest lecture series that brings numerous architects, landscape architects, designers, urban planners, and preservationists to speak to the students and faculty. Some of the important design professionals reflected in the collection are Louis Kahn, Nathaniel Owings, Dan Kiley, Evans Woollen, Ewing Miller, and Balthazar Korab. Most of the early lectures were recorded onto audiocassette tapes which have been digitally enhanced for optimal listening. Depending on circumstances during the original recording, the quality of the audio recordings can vary.
This digital collection includes commencement films, videos, audio recordings, graduation ceremony programs, and commencement addresses (1920-Present) for Indiana State Normal School, Eastern Division (1918-1921), Ball Teachers College (1922-1929), Ball State Teachers College (1929-1965), and Ball State University (1965-current). Use the collection to discover commencement and baccalaureate speakers, graduate rosters, and degrees conferred.
The Ball State University Department of Theatre and Dance Costumes digital collection consists of selected images of theatre costumes created and maintained by the Ball State University Department of Theatre and Dance Costume Shop. The images showcase costumes used in Ball State theatrical and dance performances and include multiple costume views, close-up details of the fabric, and original conceptual sketches drawn by the costume designer. Descriptive information includes size information, fabric content, plays and characters for which costumes have been used, and contact information for costume rental. More images of other costumes are forthcoming.
The Ball State Digital History Portal provides access to digital thematic research archives created by students in history professor Douglas Seefeldt’s Introduction to Digital History. These student works explore Ball State's history using digitized primary sources and narrative content.
The Ball State University Early History collection provides access to documents, records, and artifacts documenting predecessor institutions to Ball State University including the Eastern Indiana Normal University, Palmer University, and the Muncie Normal Institute/Muncie National Institute. The collection includes programs, correspondence, and publications from archival collections from presidents and administrators of these institutions, as well as scholarly writings and research materials reflecting on this period.
The Ball State University Electronic Field Trip Videos collection provides online access to educational television episodes created by Ball State University in partnership with museums and cultural institutions as part of the award-winning Electronic Field Trips interactive learning project.
The Ball State University Electronic Field Trips project presented a series of electronic, video, and interactive teaching resources for students building upon the field trip theme. The project provided students with an an out of class experience by creating television episodes, webisodes, web content, and lesson plans regarding the themes of each episode.
At Ball State, the project served as a collaboration between the Teachers College, Teleplex, Emerging Technologies, and the Office of Information Technology. Episodes in the series ran from 1996 to 2009.
The Ball State University Faculty Lecture Series collection provides online access to published, digitized lectures given by Ball State University faculty members dating from 1965 to 1981.
Lectures included in this collection document the work of Ball State faculty members in many fields, including the humanities, natural and social sciences, architecture, business, education, and visual and performing arts.
The Ball State University Faculty Oral Histories collection provides access to audio recordings and transcripts of interviews with retired Ball State faculty and administrators regarding their experiences at and the history of Ball State University.
Included in the collection are interviews conducted in the 2000s by Warren Vander Hill, Emeritus Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs/Professor of History and University Distinguished Professor of Environmental Studies. Subjects interviewed included former faculty, staff, and administrators who had retired from Ball State in the late 1990s and 2000s. The interviews cover the history of Ball State University from the 1960s to the 2000s, and the subjects interviewed discuss their own experiences at Ball State University as well as their observations on the growth and development of the institution.
Interviews in this collection are available both as digitized audio recordings and typed transcripts. Transcripts in the collection are full-text searchable.
The Ball State University Guest Lectures and Convocations collection provides online access to texts of lectures given by prominent scholars and political figures at Ball State University. Materials in the collection date from 1960 to 1990, and prominent figures whose lectures are documented include civil rights activist Coretta Scott King, Indiana Governor Otis Bowen, and author and peace advocate Norman Cousins.
Audio recordings of Ball State University lectures can also be found in the Ball State University Historic Audio Recordings collection in the Digital Media Repository. The UniverCity Videos collection, the Ball State University Provost's Lecture Series, and the Sir Norman Angell Memorial Lectures collection also document guest lectures at Ball State University.
The Ball State University Historic Audio Recordings collection contains digitized audio recordings documenting significant events in the institution's history and speeches and lectures given by both Ball State faculty and noted campus visitors.
Significant events documented in the collection include commencements, building dedications, and speeches from prominent campus visitors.
An audio recording of Eleanor Roosevelt's visit to Ball State on May 6, 1959 and audio recording and film of Robert F. Kennedy's visit to Ball State on April 4, 1968 can be found in the Eleanor Roosevelt Speech Collection and the Robert F. Kennedy Speech Collection respectively. Digitized film recordings of other significant events and notable guests at Ball State can be found in the Ball State University Historic Films and Videos collection.
The Ball State University Historic Films and Videos collection provides online access to digitized videos and films that document significant developments and events, noteworthy scholarship, and student life throughout the institution's history.
Significant events from Ball State history that are documented in this collection include inauguration and retirement ceremonies for important Ball State figures, groundbreakings and building dedications, and speeches by and interviews with notable campus visitors. Documentation of scholarship in this collection includes footage of interviews with and speeches by both Ball State and visiting scholars. Films and videos depicting campus life, including footage of sporting events, festivities, and campus scenes are also included.
The Ball State University Honors College Oral History Project collection provides online access to 34 interviews conducted with administrators, staff, faculty, and alumni who were associated with the Honors College at Ball State University between 1959, when the Honors Program was inaugurated, and 2019 regarding how their lives and careers intersected with or were shaped by the Honors College as an institution. Their interviews were conducted and recorded by Ball State University Honors College and Public History Program students enrolled in the Oral History Workshop immersive learning course during the spring of 2019 under the direction of Dr. Michael Doyle, Director of Public History Program and Associate Professor in the Ball State University Department of History.
Before the Latinx Student Union (LSU) became a recognized student organization, a group of students came together to form the Hispanic Student Association whose goal was to create the Notre American Hispano Association (North American Hispanic Association). On May 1, 1987, the North American Hispanic Association became a recognized student organization and changed its name to La Allianza De Estudiantes Lationos (The Alliance of Latino Students, LADEL). In 1999, La Alianza De Estudiantes was renamed the Latino Student Union (LSU). The LSU was originally located in the Multicultural Center. The reorganization of the Multicultural Center in 2000 relocated the group to the Office of Student Life, the clearing house for all recognized student organizations. In an effort to be more inclusive, LSU changed its name to the more gender-neutral name Latinx Student Union in 2016.
The goal of LSU is to promote the identity and unity of Latinx students at Ball State University through intellectual, cultural, and social growth. LSU membership is open to all students, regardless of racial or ethnic backgrounds. LSU-sponsored programs include: Fiesta on the Green, Latinxpalooza, Bailando con Familia, LSU Month, and much more.
This collection provides access to many presentations facilitated by Ball State University Libraries Archives & Special Collections. These presentations highlight local and campus history along with collections from campus and community archives. Some of the presentations include community partners, such as the Delaware County Historical Society, Minnetrista, and the Muncie Public Library.
The Ball State University Oral History Workshop was established in 2009 by Dr. Michael Wm. Doyle, an associate professor of history and director of the Public History Program. Its mission is to instruct and supervise students in an immersive-learning course on how to record long-form interviews with eye-witnesses to significant events in the past for the sake of posterity. This collection preserves single interviews conducted by students outside of a semester-long course format. Interview projects, which consist of multiple interviewees reflecting on an experience they hold in common, are archived in separate collections and include the Vietnam Era Veterans Oral History Project (2009) and the Cantigny First Division Oral History Project III (2011-12).
The Ball State University Organizational and Administrative Scrapbooks collection provides online access to scrapbooks housed in the Ball State University Archives & Special Collections documenting the history and activities of Ball State University departments, programs, and organizations. The collection includes 48 scrapbooks dating from 1928 to 1998 containing materials including photographs, news clippings, and event programs.
The Ball State University Orient Yearbooks collection provides online full-text searchable access to editions of The Orient, the now-defunct yearbook produced by Ball State students. At present, this digital collection features editions of the yearbook dating from 1919 to 1965.
The Orient provides photographic and textual documentation of student life and campus events from Ball State's history, including pages dedicated to student organizations and academic departments. The Orient also documents sporting events, artistic performances, and significant social events and traditions.
The Orient ceased publication after 78 volumes with its final edition in 1996. A complete collection of the yearbooks in print is open for use at Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
The Ball State University Provost's Lecture Series collection provides access to video recordings and published text of lectures given as part of Ball State University's Provost's Lecture Series.
The series, which began in 1985, brought scholars and public figures of national and global significance to Ball State University to deliver lectures for the benefit of both students and faculty. Introduced by James V. Koch, then Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, the series was coordinated by John Koumoulides, Professor of History.
Lectures given during the 1987-1988 and 1988-1989 academic years were published in a two-volume series entitled Perspectives on Culture and Society. These lectures have also been made available individually in this collection. Assorted lectures from other years were recorded to video and these recordings are available in this collection as well. Video recordings currently available in the collection range in date from 1991 to 2005.
The Ball State University Residence Hall Scrapbooks collection provides online access to scrapbooks documenting resident history and activities of various residence halls on the Ball State University campus. The collection consists of 48 scrapbooks dating from 1964 – 2005 containing materials, including photographs, newspaper clippings, cards, letters/notes, event information, and various ephemera.
The Ball State University School of Music Concert and Event Posters collection provides electronic access to posters from concerts and events sponsored by Ball State's School of Music dating from 2012 to the present. Concerts and events documented include recitals and ensemble performances from Ball State University faculty, students, and visiting artists.
The Ball State University School of Music Concert and Event Programs collection provides electronic access to programs from concerts and events sponsored by Ball State's School of Music, previously known as the Division of Music and the Music Department, that date from 1941 to the present.
This collection features programs from student and faculty concerts, recitals, and ensemble performances, documenting various styles including classical, concert band, opera, choral, and jazz music. Programs for performances by non-affiliated musicians sponsored by Ball State can also be found. Prominently documented performance groups in this collection include the Ball State Symphony Orchestra, the Ball State Jazz Ensemble, the Ball State Concert Choir, and the Ball State Concert Band.
The Ball State Gay Alliance/Gay Activists Union was originally formed in 1974. That organization existed until its disbandment in 1978. From 1978 until 1983, there were no student groups specifically serving gay students. In the Spring of 1983, the organization was reactivated to specifically meet the needs of Ball State's gay and lesbian population. In 1986, the organization changed its name to the Gay and Lesbian Alliance. In 1990, the group changed its name again to the Lesbian and Gay Student Association (LGSA) and later to the Lesbian, Bisexual, and Gay Student Association (LBGSA). By 2000, the organization became known as Spectrum, which it is still called today, in order to reflect the diversity of sexual and gender identities that make up the organization's membership of LGBTQ+ individuals and their allies.
The mission of Spectrum is to educate the Ball State and Muncie communities on gender, sexual, and romantic minority (GSRM) issues, cultures, and history through various programming efforts. Spectrum's goal is to provide an anonymous, healthy, and safe place for Ball State University students and individuals in the surrounding communities who are discovering their personal identities to help find an understanding network of support.
The Ball State University Student Life Collection contains an assortment of digitized textual records and artifacts broadly documenting the diverse range of student experiences at Ball State University with materials dating from the institution's founding in 1918 to the 1990s. Materials available here were selected for digitization from a variety of individual archival collections at the Ball State University Archives & Special Collections.
This digital collection includes editions of the Ball State Teachers College/University student handbook, also known as the Cardinal Code, a selection of scrapbooks created by Ball State students documenting campus life, newsletters published by a variety of student organizations, Ball State homecoming buttons, pamphlets, brochures, and leaflets containing information for students, and material documenting this history of the L.A. Pittenger Student Center.
The Ball State University Student Newspaper collection provides access to full-text searchable digitized student newspapers from Ball State's history, dating to 1922. Included in this collection are The Ball State Daily News (1968-present) and its predecessors, The Ball State News (1937-1968) and The Easterner (1922-1937).
This collection documents Ball State events, issues, and life throughout history as well as student viewpoints regarding campus, local, national, and global news.
A more recent archive of digital articles published by the Ball State Daily News from 2001 to the present can be accessed via the search option on the Ball State Daily News online page.
The Ball State University Student Religious Organizations Records collection provides full-text searchable access to digitized historic records from Ball State University Archives and Special Collections pertaining to the (now defunct) Office of Religious Programs and student religious organizations on the Ball State University campus. The collection includes records dating from the 1950s to the 1990s including correspondence, event programs, promotional literature, news articles, and other organizational records. Over 60 individual religious organizations are represented in the collection including Christian, Jewish, Muslim, and Buddhist faith groups as well as interfaith organizations.
Ball State University offered its first Women's Studies Course, ID 210 Women's Studies, during the spring semester of 1972. The interdisciplinary course was taught by Betty Newcomb, Sharon Seager, and Marie Vogel. By 1974, other departments on campus began to create Women's Studies courses and a Women's Studies Committee had been informally established. The following year the committee was given official status and the mission to create a minor in Women's Studies. The minor was approved by the Ball State University Board of Trustees in 1980. In 2004, a major in Women's Studies was approved.
This collection contains the records of the Ball State University Women’s and Gender Studies Program ranging in date from 1970 to 2021. The collection includes ephemera, brochures, meeting minutes, newsletters, and video recordings pertaining to Women’s Week events, lectures, and Women’s Studies Program classes.
The Ball State University Women’s Club began in 1929 as an auxiliary group for the wives of Ball State Teachers College faculty. As the population of the campus changed, the group expanded to include female faculty and wives of students, which became the University Dames Club.
The Ball State University Women’s Club focused their efforts on community building through fashion shows, musical performances, book reviews, and dances. The items in the Ball State University Women’s Club Records highlight those activities through scrapbooks, photographs, meeting minutes, and committee records.
Beech Grove High School began in 1917 in a one story red brick building at the corner of Tenth and Main streets. The building was razed in 1957 after the high school moved to a new building at 1248 Buffalo Street, where it shared facilities with the junior high school until the present school at 5330 Hornet Avenue was completed in 1966. The yearbooks in this collection were scanned by the Beech Grove Library and span the 1940s to the early 2000s.
Ben Davis High School is named for Benjamin Davis, general superintendent of the Vandalia Railroad. He was instrumental in getting a railroad stop for a small community in Wayne Township. The first school was built on the corner of now High School Road in 1892, housing the grade school and the high school with 64 students and two teachers. That school building was replaced in the early 1900s by a larger one at the corner of what is now Morris Street and High School Road. In 1922, Ben Davis became the first consolidated high school in Indiana.
This collection provides online access to Beneficence: A History of Ball State Teachers College, 1899-1961, an unpublished manuscript completed in 1961 by Charles Van Cleve, Professor of English at Ball State, documenting the history and development of Ball State Teachers College. This typed manuscript served as a frequently-cited source for two subsequent published institutional histories, The Ball State story: From Normal Institute to University and Ball State University: An Interpretive History.
The collection also includes an index to the manuscript, correspondence between Van Cleve and John R. Emens, President of Ball State University from 1945 to 1968, and photographs of Van Cleve.
The Benjamin Harrison Presidential Site is an independently-funded nonprofit museum dedicated to preserving and sharing Harrison's presidential legacy and largely hidden collection of more than 10,000 historical items. The collection is composed of original Harrison family artifacts and accessioned artifacts of national significance. Through the collection, the Presidential Site preserves and interprets personal property, papers, and historical documents relating to Benjamin Harrison, his service to the state of Indiana, and his service to the United States. The collection is cataloged according to standard museum best practices. Unique artifacts relating to Benjamin Harrison span the decades and connect to various other family members, politicians, public figures, and over 20 other U.S. Presidents. The materials range widely, e.g., political and White House memorabilia, letters, documents, historic photos, household goods, clothing, original artwork, etc.
Ben Winans worked as a printer in Brookville, and also mastered the art of photography. He produced approximately 3,000 glass-plate negatives from 1902 to 1916 and fortunately wrote captions and dates for them. Much of what existed in turn-of-the-century Brookville and Franklin County has been lost to "progress" and decline. But the scenes and people of these times have been captured for all time by Winans.
Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church was established in Indianapolis in 1836. As it began to grow it was known as the Indianapolis Station of the African Methodist Episcopal Church. Bethel's church building at 414 West Vermont Street was built in 1869 and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991. The church has been traditionally known for its outreach from hosting the nineteenth-century black state conventions to its social programs including an adult day-care, well-baby clinic, and a credit union during the twentieth century. This collection contains photographs, scrapbooks, and manuscript materials from the church.
The Bill Shelby Muncie Central High School Athletics digital collection includes programs, scoring statistics, rosters, and win-loss records for Muncie Central High School basketball and football teams for 1943-1994. Also included is a program for a professional basketball game between the Fort Wayne Zollner Pistons and the Syracuse Nationals held at Muncie Fieldhouse in 1955.
This is a collection of four Justice of the Peace docket books for Blue River Township, Harrison County, Indiana, that date from 1882 through 1951. The dockets contain entries of court cases that were brought before local justices of the peace by township residents. The cases reflect the daily lives and conflicts of residents throughout the period and include charges of unpaid debts, provocation, assault and battery, bastardy, property conflicts, public intoxication, larceny, profanity, trespassing, and other offenses. The records include names of plaintiffs and defendants, as well as those of witnesses, constables, attorneys. Some family relationships can be gleaned from the entries, and a few cases concern the settling of estates and so can help to narrow down a date of death.
A note about transcription: These records were handwritten and while the majority of the books are easily readable, there are portions that are difficult to read and some that are indecipherable. In these instances, a bracketed question mark [?] indicates a word or phrase that was questionable or totally unreadable. Also, given that spelling and grammar were not always a priority for late 19th century record keepers, there are numerous errors of this type throughout the works. Rather than transcribe the records exactly as written, we have elected to correct those errors in order to ease the readability of the text. Be aware, however, that occasionally the scribes of these records confused the words plaintiff and defendant. These mistakes have not been corrected.
Various cases in the dockets have original documents, such as promissory notes or receipts of payments, attached to the record. These attachments have been scanned and transcribed and are included in the collection. Blank pages were not included.
The Book Arts Bunch (BAB) is an Indianapolis based group of book artists and enthusiasts organized by Jack Cooney in 2004.
This collection contains images and films from the Lebanon Public Library's extensive Boone County holdings.
This collection provides online access to the Bower family papers and photographs. Ranging from 1871 to 2001, this collection documents the lives of the Bower and Dowell families of Fowler and Lafayette, Indiana, and includes photographs, correspondence, genealogical notes, family tree diagrams, scrapbooks, and other materials.
The Bower family can be traced back to Catherine Klein, a Luxembourgish immigrant to the United States. After settling in the US, she married Bernard Wetli, a Swiss immigrant, in 1862, and the couple had eleven children. One of their children, Emma Theresia Wetli, married John Bower on January 25, 1887, and the couple settled in Fowler, Indiana at Prairie View Farm. Together they had fourteen children: Charles, Genevieve, Frank, Susan (Sister Johanella), Emma (Sister Carralilla), Margaret, Bernard, Anthony, Edmund, Wilfred, Conrad, Harold, Loretta (Sister Emmalita), and Gregory.
Gregory Bower, the youngest son of Emma and John Bower, met Betty Dowell after returning to the United States from serving in World War II. Betty was widowed after her husband, Duncan Mendenhall, was killed in combat during the war, and was raising her daughter Marsha as a single mother. Betty and Gregory married on August 23, 1947 and had five children together: Mary, John, Janie, Betsy, and Barbara. They opened Bower Typewriter in Fowler, Indiana, and operated it there for many years before moving the business to Lafayette.
The complete collection of the Bower family papers and photographs is available in the Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
The Bracken Family Collection contains the records of the Bracken Family of Indiana, noted for their philanthropy and service to the Ball State University and Muncie communities. Spanning four generations of family history, the collection includes materials dating to the 1860s when William H. Bracken served as a Captain in the Civil War and spans until the early 2000s upon Frank A. Bracken’s retirement from public service. The collection includes letters, personal papers, photographs, and ephemera highlighting the accomplishments of the family. Print materials from these collections are held in Archives and Special Collections at Ball State University Libraries.
The digitization of this archive and the creation of this digital collection was made possible through a generous grant from the George and Frances Ball Foundation.
The newsletter of the North American Conference on British Studies, the British Studies Intelligencer was published twice annually at the University of Arizona at Tucson. It included information on forthcoming meetings, summaries of regional and national meetings, and additional announcements and news in British studies. This archive covers 1962-2001. This digital collection was collaboratively accomplished with the work of IUPUI University Library and Dr. Jason Kelly, Assistant Professor of British History with the IUPUI Department of History.
The British Studies Monitor was published thrice annually at Bowdoin College from 1970-1981. It included information on forthcoming meetings, summaries of regional and national meetings, and additional announcements and news in British studies. This digital collection was collaboratively accomplished with the work of IUPUI University Library and Dr. Jason Kelly, Assistant Professor of British History with the IUPUI Department of History.
Broad Ripple High School was originally established in 1886 with a two-year high school course of study for students in the little village north of Indianapolis. The first Broad Ripple High School yearbook was published in the spring of 1926. Published annually since then, the book is titled "Riparian" which means "bank of the river", the name chosen by a student contest.
Brock's Birds of Indiana, part of the IUPUI Center for Digital Scholarship's Cultural Heritage Collection, contains a wealth of information of the birds that can be found in Indiana. This information packed resource contains historical notes as well as population and distribution information for bird species occurring in Indiana. One can also find details of when to expect the arrival and departure of Indiana's migrant birds. This is truly a treasure trove of information for nature enthusiasts, bird biologists, or anyone interested in learning more about the birds in Indiana.
Brownsburg Then and Now is a digitized collection dedicated to preserving the past while sharing this information with the public. This is a searchable collection of images, postcards, and documents that is a continual work in progress. We invite users to explore our past and present, learn about the town of Brownsburg and join us in our efforts to identify people, places, and events important to our history.
The Santayana Society is an international and interdisciplinary organization, founded in 1980, to further work on The Santayana Edition specifically and to promote Santayana scholarship generally. George Santayana was Spanish born philosopher, poet, critic, and best-selling novelist.
The Society's publication, Overheard in Seville: Bulletin of the Santayana Society appears annually and is devoted to Santayana scholarship. The bulletin includes scholarly articles, announcements of publications and meetings, and recent updates to the Santayana bibliography which is maintained by Kristine Frost of the Santayana Edition. Angus Kerr-Lawson edits the bulletin. It is printed by Graphic Services, University of Waterloo, and it is published and distributed by the School of Liberal Arts at IUPUI to 450 subscribers.
The Friesner Herbarium Digital Collection contains images of plant specimens, collected throughout Indiana, from the Butler University Friesner Herbarium. This collection includes fern, orchid, and sunflower specimens along with plants in the bean, buttercup, figwort, mint, and mustard families.
Founded in 2011, The Burmese American Community Institute (BACI) is a non-profit organization that provides educational and vocational support to the Burmese community in greater Indianapolis. The collection includes various publications from the BACI such as quarterly newsletters, a community integration guide, and documentaries. Each work focuses upon the Burmese community in Indianapolis, as well as some of the programs that the BACI has implemented in order to serve this community.
The Burris Laboratory School digital collection provides online access to archival materials documenting the history and development of the Burris Laboratory School in Muncie, IN, highlighting the student experience at Burris from the 1930s to the 1980s.
The Burris Laboratory School, a Kindergarten through 12th grade experimental school on the campus of Ball State University, opened in 1929. Named after Benjamin Burris, college president from 1924 to his death in 1927, the institution provides high-quality elementary and secondary education while allowing students of Ball State University to gain practical experience educating pupils.
The Butler University Buildings and Grounds Collection includes photographs and documents of the university's buildings and grounds on the current campus as well as on the two former campus locations.
First published in 1886, The Butler Collegian has served as the student newspaper of Butler University for more than 100 years. Its archives are being made available here. The online archive currently covers 1886-1892 along with some issues from 1893, 1962, and 1963.
The Eliza Blaker Collection includes photographs and speeches relating to the life and work of Eliza Blaker along with historical records of the Teachers College of Indianapolis and the Butler University College of Education. Eliza Blaker established kindergartens in Indiana based on the teachings of Friedrich Froebel. She later started the Teachers College which became affiliated with Butler University in 1929 and is now the College of Education.
The Butler University Irwin Library Images Collection includes photographs and documents related to the Irwin Library at Butler University which was designed by noted architect Minoru Yamasaki. The building was completed in 1963. Images of two earlier campuses of the University are also included.
Butler University’s Jordan College of the Arts Collection currently contains a selection of School of Music programs from performances which took place during the 2018-2019 academic year as well as productions from the Department of Theatre over a 75-year period. We are continuing to add items as time permits.
This collection will eventually contain all of the letters written by Ovid Butler from 1862 to 1866. These letters are bound in a letterbook which is in the Butler University Archives. Letterbooks were used to keep copies of letters written to and from individuals or businesses as a way to keep track of their correspondence. The letters discuss family life, Scot Butler’s service in the Civil War, business dealings, land holdings, taxes and more. The last few pages contain an index of the letter recipients in reverse alphabetical order.
The Hett Art Gallery and Museum at historic Camp Chesterfield in Anderson, IN houses 127 years of historical documents and photographs related to the movement and religion of Spiritualism, as well as primary documents and artifacts dating back over a century to the original formation of the Indiana Association of Spiritualists (IAOS) in its museum archives.
Currently, due to the fragile condition of the archives (including handwritten documents dating back to the late 1880s and photographs—some on tin plates) it is not possible to allow researchers or individuals wide access to the archives for fear of damaging or ruining the stored materials.
This digitization project is important because the entire collection is at serious risk of being lost, which would be a calamity not only for the IAOS and the Hett Art Gallery and Museum, but also for Indiana state history and worldwide Spiritualist history.
This collection will capture the digitization and metadata for photographs, oral histories, hotel logs, paintings and murals.
The Cantigny First Division Oral Histories digital collection includes high definition video oral history interviews with veterans of the U.S. Army's First Infantry Division, commonly known as the 'Big Red One. The goal of the project was to preserve the memories of the soldiers whose military service occurred around the globe since World War II.
The Cardinal Greenway Wildflower Photographs digital collection provides online access to 146 photographs of wildflowers taken by Diane E. Hill along the Cardinal Greenway between 1999 and 2005. The original 35mm photographic slides were produced between 1999 and 2008. Research to identify the wildflowers was conducted by Stanley P. Hodge.
Incorporated in 1993, Cardinal Greenways, Inc. is a private, not-for-profit organization that encompasses the Cardinal Greenway, White River Greenway, Historic Wysor Street Depot, and Cardinal Equestrian Trail. In 1993, Cardinal Greenway, Inc. acquired sixty miles of abandoned railroad as part of a Rails-to-Trails program. The Cardinal Greenway is the longest rail-trail in Indiana and spans 62 miles from Marion through Muncie to Richmond, Indiana.
Note that the “Yatskievych Number” in the Notes field for each wildflower image corresponds to the identification number assigned to the flower in Kay Yatskievych’s reference book Field Guide to Indiana Wildflowers (Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2000).
The Cardinal Recap Publications collection provides online access to annual publications produced by the Ball State University Athletics Communications and Marketing office recapping Ball State University Cardinals intercollegiate athletics. The publications include game outcomes, detailed statistics, and season highlights for all men's and women's varsity athletic teams at Ball State University. The collection includes publications dating from the 1956-1957 academic year to the 2009-2010 academic year.
The Cecil A. Madill Farm Records digital collection provides online access to calendars, correspondence, account books and financial ledgers, farm labor and livestock records, agricultural event programs, and other records documenting the family farm business of Burl, Cecil, and David Madill in Delaware County, Indiana between 1925 and 1987.
The Center for Ray Bradbury Studies is one of the larger single-author archives in the United States, and a hub for scholarship on the work of Ray Bradbury and science fiction. The Center is home to more than 100,000 pages of published and unpublished literary works stored in thirty-one of the author's filing cabinets; forty years of Bradbury's personal and professional correspondence (an additional 10,000 pages); and author's copies of Bradbury books, including extensive foreign language editions, and his working library (a combined 4000 volumes).
The Center for Business and Economic Research (CBER) Collection provides online access to economic policy and forecasting research published by the Center for Business and Economic Research at Ball State University. Containing health care, public finance, regional economics, tourism, transportation, manufacturing, and energy studies pertaining to national, state, regional, and local economies. This collection contains material published from 2008 to 2014 as well as digitized reports and publications dating to 1971, including the Ball State Business Review, The Muncie Business Index, and other series of published reports held in Ball State University Archives & Special Collections.
The Center for Business and Economic Research was founded in 1970 at Ball State University as the Bureau of Business Research.
The Center School digital collection includes copies of the school's newspaper, the Center Chatter from 1930-1963 and personal memorabilia from graduates including announcements, pamphlets, invitations, programs, and photographs ranging from circa 1900-1967.
Center School was established in 1905 and located in Perry Township, Delaware County, Indiana. The school was typical of Indiana's small rural schools in that period. Beginning in the 1900s and continuing through the 1960s, Indiana's rural educational landscape became filled with the State's first consolidated schools. These schools were the bridge between the pre-twentieth century one-room schoolhouses and the modern schools of today. Center School's enrollment, like most rural schools, was low. Its curriculum was limited to the basics of education.
The history of education in Delaware County is intricately tied to Center School. In 1827 the county's first school, a one-room school structure, was built in Perry Township in the southeastern corner of the county. The school was located about three miles northwest of where Center School would be located. By 1905 there were ninety-eight school buildings in Delaware County serving some 5,500 students, and Perry Township had four such schools serving approximately 200 students. One of those schools was located at the crossroads near the geographical center of Perry Township. Shortly after the turn of the century, property directly across from this school was purchased with the intent to construct a new, more modern school building for Perry Township. Although the construction of the school is not believed to have started until 1906, the founding of Center School dates back to 1905.
After its construction, Center School took in and consolidated the outlying one-room schoolhouses. In 1908 the first set of students matriculated from the new school. By 1912, the school saw the first class of students to complete a full twelve years of education at its facility. In 1926, the school was enlarged adding a gymnasium with a stage, an assembly hall, a cafeteria and additional classrooms for high school students. The school, which at that time served all grades from 1st through 12th soon, came to be known as Center High School.
When school consolidations began again in the 1950s, Delaware County, not including Muncie City schools, had eleven high schools. When the consolidations ended in the late 1960s Center School was one of its many victims. At the end of the 1967 school year Center School was permanently closed and its remaining students were bussed to the newer consolidated school sites in the area. Shortly thereafter, the school building was torn down and the property sold.
The Central and East Central Indiana Tract Books digital collection includes records of land sales in Delaware County from 1811-1876. These records document the amount of acreage purchased, who purchased the land, the former residence of the purchaser, and the date the land was sold.
Tract books are arranged by the legal description of the land: by township, range, and section. The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) retains original land records and patents for the state of Indiana.
The Central States Communication Association Records digital collection provides online access to records created by the Central States Communication Association between 1960 and 2014. Records in this digital collection include Executive Committee meeting minutes, membership directories, and other administrative records; conference and convention programs; convention exhibit posters; and video recordings of conference sessions and oral history interviews with past officers.
The Central States Communication Association (CSCA) is a professional, academic organization of primary and secondary school teachers, students, college and university professors, and communication professionals. The organization was founded in 1931 as the Central States Speech Association with the goal of promoting the communication discipline in educational, scholarly, and professional endeavors. In 1989, the organization changed its name from Central States Speech Association to Central States Communication Association. The association's membership includes the states of North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Illinois, Iowa, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Michigan, Indiana, and Ohio. The association hosts an annual convention, publishes a newsletter three times yearly, and publishes the journal Communication Studies on a quarterly basis.
The complete collection of Central States Communication Association records is available in the Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
Cephas M. Huddleston spent most of his life in Henry County. The images in the collection depict the Spiceland Community. The Hoover Block, Spiceland Academy, Spiceland Sanitarium, train depot and Stigleman Manufacturing Company are among the landmarks shown.
The Changing Gears Documentary Film Collection contains digital video recordings captured during the creation of the film Changing Gears: End of an Era, a feature-length documentary about the closing of Muncie's century-old BorgWarner (formerly Warner Gear) automotive parts plant. This digital collection includes oral history interviews with former BorgWarner employees and labor leaders, interviews with main characters from the film, and interviews with historians, community leaders, and other experts about the historical context and legacy of BorgWarner and the lasting impact the closing of the plant and the continued decline of industry has had on Muncie and similar cities throughout the Midwest. Also included in the collection is a complete version of the 2010 documentary film, as well as two follow-up interviews with main characters from the film that were conducted in 2014.
Changing Gears: End of an Era was produced by Ball State University's Center for Middletown Studies in conjunction with the university's Institute for Digital Entertainment and Education.
The Changing Gears: End of an Era documentary film records contain additional documentation and digital files from the project and are available to researchers in Archives and Special Collections at the Ball State University Libraries.
The Chapbooks digital collection of 173 chapbooks includes many items contributed by Elisabeth Ball and formerly held in the Ball State University Libraries Educational Resources Collections, in addition to 50 chapbooks purchased by Special Collections through the Martin and Helen Schwartz Fund.
The subjects covered in the chapbooks range from moral instruction to the ABCs to advertisements for patent medicines and soap. Many have colored paper covers, some are hand sewn, and others contain hand-colored illustrations. The originals are available in Archives and Special Collections.
The Chapin Letters Collection consists of correspondence primarily written to and from Lucius Philander Chapin, Jonathan Edward Chapin, and Alice Ruby Chapin. The majority of these letters were written during the Civil War while Lucius Chapin and his brother Elisha served in the Indiana 4th Cavalry. Lucius and Jonathan and two other brothers attended Wabash College, and a number of letters provide glimpses of college life in the 1850s.
The Indiana State Library has various materials on philanthropy and charitable organizations, starting from the late 19th century to present day and from across the state. This collection contains material about and from those organizations as well as materials about community chests such as the Indianapolis Community Fund and their Red Feather campaigns. Please check back as more materials will be added.
LeSueur (1778-1846) was a French naturalist and explorer who lived in New Harmony from 1825-1837, where he sketched the people, animals, and natural environment.
A collection of photographs from the archives of the Charles C. Brandt Construction Company, founded in 1907.
The Charles E. Bracker Orchid Photographs digital collection features photographs taken by Dr. Charles E. Bracker, professor of botany and plant pathology at Purdue University from 1964 to 1999. His late wife, Anri Bracker, cultivated orchids as a hobby.
Dr. Bracker took nearly 30,000 digital photographs of orchids, a selection of which are featured in this digital collection. Prints of many of the photographs, along with the entire collection of digital images were donated by Dr. Bracker to Archives and Special Collections of the Ball State University Libraries in 2009.
This collection provides online access to records documenting the Charles W. Brown Planetarium at Ball State University, including its facilities and programs, as well as its predecessor, the Ball State University Planetarium in the Cooper Science Complex. Included in the collection are photographs of the construction and opening of the Charles W. Brown Planetarium, recordings of Planetarium programs, and historic flyers and brochures advertising Planetarium programming.
Charles Weever Cushman, amateur photographer and Indiana University alumnus, bequeathed approximately 14,500 Kodachrome color slides to his alma mater. The photographs in this collection bridge a thirty-two year span from 1938 to 1969, during which time he extensively documented the United States as well as other countries.
The Children's Playhouse Theatre digital collection includes advertisements, programs, tickets, sketches and other materials created and collected by Irene Belcher that document the performances and history of the Children's Playhouse Theatre in Muncie, Indiana from 1943-1967.
Irene Belcher operated an educational theatre program for school age children locally for over thirty years. She opened her first children's studio in the 1930s, across from the old City Hall building, on the southwest corner of Jackson and Jefferson streets. From there she moved to the third floor of the Chamber of Commerce building, on the corner of Jefferson and Main Street, where she had the entire top floor. She was also active in children's theatre groups nationally, being one of the original twenty members who formed the National Children's Theatre Conference in 1944. She served several times as advisor for children's theatres throughout the country.
The items in this collection document the operations of the Children's Playhouse Theatre from the recruitment of students and patrons through the performance of classic productions including Aladdin and the Wonderful Lamp, Alice in Wonderland, Cinderella, The Emperor's New Clothes, Heidi, Peter Pan, Sleeping Beauty and many more. Advertisements and flyers display methods used for promoting involvement in the theatre and selling tickets. Sketches and notes created by Irene Belcher document the planning of set and costume designs. Finally, programs record the participants and locations of Children's Playhouse Theatre performances.
The materials in this digital collection are part of the Irene Belcher collection in Archives and Special Collections which includes additional material documenting Irene Belcher's work with the Muncie Civic Theatre and other performing arts and community organizations.
In partnership with the Chris Gonzalez Library & Archives, Indy Pride, and with support from the IUPUI University Library Faculty Digitization Grant, this digital collection provides a unique glimpse into the early, organized GLBT community in a mid-sized, Midwestern city. Presently the collection includes digital versions of, The Screamer from 1966-67 and The Works, later renamed, The New Works News, "Indiana's gay news magazine for gay men and women," from 1982-1989.
A note on collection content. This collection contains material about adult sexuality. This includes images and descriptions of nudity, sexual acts, and other material of a sexually explicit nature that may not be appropriate for some users.
The City of Terre Haute collection includes images of the Mayors and City Court Judges of Terre Haute, as well as City Council Minutes.
During the American Civil War (1861-1865), Indiana Governor Oliver P. Morton's staff recorded thousands of the governor's incoming and outgoing telegrams in small, bound books. The governor and his staff communicated by telegraph with the highest and most prominent government and military leaders in the North, including President Abraham Lincoln, Secretary of War Edwin M. Stanton, United States Senators and Representatives, other Northern state governors, and generals commanding in all the theaters of operations. As perhaps the most influential of the Northern state governors during the Civil War, Morton exerted significant influence over federal policies and military planning. A tireless worker for Union victory, he communicated his ideas, plans, news, and opinions by telegraph wires to other leaders to shape war policy. While most communication was incorporated into the books there were roughly 5000 separate slips that were not. This comprehensive collection of books and slips may be the best documentation of an important Northern governor during the Civil War to survive. The physical Civil War Governor Morton Telegraph books and slips are located at the Indiana State Archives, who collaborated with IUPUI University Library to make this digitization project possible.
The Civil War Home Front Collection consists of original letters from, to and about Indiana soldiers and their family members. The letters contain a significant amount of collective commentary on home front topics of local, regional and national interest.
Collection items illustrate the lives of the soldiers and major events in the war, along with items that show Hoosiers struggling to support the war and maintain their farms, businesses and home state.
This collection includes military correspondence and records, diaries, published memoirs and regimental histories, photographs of soldiers in carte-de-visite and cased image form, broadsides, maps, and three-dimensional artifacts. Much of it documents the presence of Hoosier soldiers in various campaigns and events and provides insight into everyday military activities.
Claire Bennett, FASLA, began Claire Bennett Associates in 1974. It started as a small practice that focused on large, estate residential design and commercial landscape architecture design. Joann Green joined the firm in 1992 and Bennett retired in 1997. The firm became known as CBA and then later changed its name to Landstory.
This digital collection consists of working drawings and prints for landscape projects, primarily in the Indianapolis metropolitan region. A majority of the projects are residential landscape designs. Others include apartment-complex master plans, golf-course design, and public school work. The projects begin in 1978 with the Pate residence landscape plan and conclude in 1997 with the Shoemaker residence. Significant projects in the collection include Stony Creek Golf Course in Noblesville, Indiana, the United Airlines Plaza at the Indianapolis International Airport, St. Luke’s United Methodist Church in Indianapolis, and certain residential landscape designs including the Sato residence, the Byrum-Gates residence, and the Pate residence.
This collection includes materials from the local history collection of the Charlestown Clark County Public Library.
In the late 1970s and early 1980s a librarian at the Jeffersonville Township Public Library in Jeffersonville, Indiana created a series of slide shows about the history of Clark County ranging from a general historical overview to shows focusing specifically on the buildings and industries of the area. The Library digitized these slideshows. These digital images were used by 6th - 8th grade students in Mrs. Gipson's classes at River Valley Middle School in fall 2014 and 5th grade students in Ms. Godsey's library classes at Clarksville Middle School in spring 2015 to learn about visual literacy.
The Clark Wissler Collection consists of the personal and professional correspondence of prominent American anthropologist Dr. Clark David Wissler ranging from circa 1906 to 1947. Notable correspondents include Yale University psychologist Robert Means Yerkes; Laurence Vail Coleman, Director of the American Association of Museums; American sociologist Robert S. Lynd; Wissler’s secretary and curator at the American Museum of Natural History, Bella Weitzner; paleontologist John Campbell Merriam; H.V. Clulow of Oxford University Press; British anthropologist Beatrice Blackwood; and Wissler’s sister, Cora Bond.
Wissler wrote the foreword to the seminal 1929 sociological case study by Robert S. and Helen Merrell Lynd, Middletown: A Study in Modern American Culture, in which he described the Lynds’ study as a “pioneer attempt to deal with a sample American community after the manner of social anthropology.”
The records in this digital collection were selected from Series 2 (Correspondence, 1906-1947) of the Clark Wissler papers (MSS.304) held by the Ball State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections. By default, items in the digital collection are arranged alphabetically by title. When viewing a single item, click the contents of the “Folder” field (e.g. “MSS.304, Box 01, Folder 001”) in the description below the item to view additional items within the same folder of the corresponding paper collection that have been digitized.
See the Clark Wissler papers finding aid for addition information about Wissler and the complete collection held by Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
In collaboration with the Indianapolis Public Library, IUPUI University Library digitized a collection of Local Climate Data dating from 1940 through present. The data is recorded from the Indianapolis International Airport (NOAA) and is now available via the web. Also available are several weather-related newspaper articles ranging from 1936-1971.
In addition to climate data and newspaper articles, IUPUI and Indianapolis Public Library collaborated on the creation of Dynamic Weather Calendar. The calendar enables users to interactively view high and low temperatures, daily precipitation, and monthly snowfall for dates between 1871-1994. Click on the link below to navigate to the calendar.
Dynamic Weather Calendar, 1871-1994
This collection includes postcards from the Colfax Public Library illustrating the businesses and churches from the turn of the century.
The Clinton Public Library digital collection includes images of Clinton and Vermillion County. Subjects include street scenes and commercial establishments, activities of the Hillcrest Community Center from the 1910s through the 1930s, historic buildings and bridges, and the once vital activity of coal mining.
The Coal Town and Railroad Museum at Main and Vine streets in Clinton, Indiana, is owned and operated by Little Italy Festival Town, Inc. (LIFT). Displays include artifacts, information, and well over 100 photographs. It is a local history museum focusing on the coal and railroad industry, immigration, and cultural development from ca. 1850 to ca. 1960.
The museum is housed in the recently renovated 1904 Chicago & Eastern Illinois railroad depot. It opened in 2002 and is open daily only during the Labor Day weekend (The Little Italy Festival). Groups can arrange tours at other times by contacting LIFT. Admission is free; donations are appreciated.
The Columbus Indiana Architectural Archives (www.columbusarchives.org) was created to collect, conserve, preserve, and promote the use of records that document the architecture, engineering, and arts associated with the built environment of Columbus, Indiana and Bartholomew County. The archives' collection includes materials on both Historical and Modernist projects, including many of the 60 plus designs by world famous architects of the last half century that are located in Bartholomew County. The CIAA is a partnership of the Visitors Center, the Bartholomew County Public Library, the Bartholomew County Historical Society, and Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus (IUPUC).
The Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County digital collection provides online access to annual reports, meeting minutes, newsletters, news releases, brochures, correspondence, photographs, and other records documenting the organization's ongoing philanthropic work in the local community between 1984 and 2018.
Almanacs, with their calendars, weather forecasts and astronomical information, were often coveted possessions in early American households. Indeed, one 19th-century historian claimed that almanacs and bibles "were the two books most likely to be found in Christian" homes. Though now lost to history one of the very first books thought to be printed in North America was an almanac published in Boston 1639.
Though now generally associated in the public mind with farming and farmers, they were used by many. Their popularity led to the growth of "special interest" almanacs published by groups like temperance societies, abolitionists, and Christian groups who used them to spread their messages. For this reason such almanacs and others such as medical or comic almanacs were retained in the home long after "their year was over."
Almanacs may be of great use to historians and researchers. Collected within their covers are examples of folkways, historic and scientific information, and wisdom of their times. This collection from Conner Prairie's Archive includes almanacs ranging from 1783 to 1857. It includes a rare second edition of the Farmers Almanac from 1819 and such diverse publications as the Western Comic Almanac, Anti-Slavery Almanac, and Jaynes Medical Almanac.
Clothing is often a little studied area of American history, but what people wore, how it was made and who made it can offer important insights into a nation's social history. Though clothes do not the man make, they can tell you much about the men, women and children who wore them, and about the society in which they lived. Conner Prairie, an Interactive History Park located in Fishers, Indiana, holds a valuable and substantial collection of historic clothing and accessories. Heretofore, the fragile condition of many of the garments has limited their access to the public. Now, thanks to the partnership of IUPUI University Library and Conner Prairie, these objects may be seen and studied the world over.
Conner Prairie preserves these textile legacies of the past for present and future generations of families to enjoy. The collection was founded in the 1940s by Ruth and Eli Lilly.
The Conner Prairie Rural History Project (2001-2003) was an effort to capture the fast disappearing rural landscape and heritage of Hamilton County, Indiana. Funded by the Legacy Fund of Hamilton County, the project conducted over 125 oral histories with farmers, business leaders, and local citizens who shared their memories of the county's rural past. In addition, diaries, letters and photos documenting that heritage were collected and digitized for posterity. A documentary produced in conjunction with project, Harvesting the Past: The Conner Prairie Rural History Project, aired on Indiana PBS stations and received a national Telly Award in 2003.
The preservation and continuation of traditional crafts and their skills are important to American culture. The Conner Prairie craft collection is usually limited to museum guests, scholars, and other specialized researchers. By digitizing the collection and making it widely accessible over the internet, these historic artifacts and the important story they tell will be available to a mass audience, including teachers and students. This collection consists of Conner Prairie traditional crafts featuring pottery, armsmaking, and blacksmithing.
Transferware was an 18th-century English innovation in ceramic decoration in which copper-plate engravings were "transferred" to items via a "tissue." No longer was it necessary to laboriously hand-decorate ceramics like tableware, basins or tiles. This early form of mass production was an immediate success and demand grew over the early nineteenth century. Manufacturers like Spode and Wedgewood found eager markets for their decorative, durable goods, particularly in the United States.
Transferware typically featured scenic views or portraits surrounded by a floral border. Initially limited to single colors, technological advances led to the use of varied hues and the introduction of the wildly popular blues and pinks such wares are known for. Its popularity in the United States caused many English manufacturers to feature American scenes, buildings, or statesmen. There was an additional dimension to the American love of "Staffordshire" goods. As historian Jack Larkin has noted, transferware brought "pictures" to American homes that were often devoid of any other sort of "art" in the early nineteenth century.
As can be seen in this collection, Conner Prairie is fortunate to have a wide selection of transferware, including pieces by Spode.
The Conspectus of History collection provides online access to an 8-volume series of published lectures on historical topics that were given as part of the History Lecture Series at Ball State University from 1974 to 1982.
The collection includes the work of both Ball State and non-Ball State historians. Volumes II through VIII also include a published version of the Sir Norman Angell Memorial Lecture series also given at Ball State University. The volumes were edited by Ball State faculty members Dwight W. Hoover and John T.A. Koumoulides.
Content in this collection is available by volume and by individual lecture.
This collection consists of images of the Corydon area and its citizens from the Frederick Porter Griffin Center's photo collection.
The Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) is an organization formed by the 1975 merger of the American Alumni Council (AAC) and the American College Public Relations Association (ACPRA). Constituents of both groups believed their goal of increasing the professional competence of those individuals involved in all phases of alumni work including, alumni administration, educational fund raising, public relations and publications in order to promote the cause of education could be better achieved as a single entity.
The COVID-19 Pandemic Project digital collection provides access to photographs, journal entries, class projects, and videos that documented this unprecedented time. This collection includes content from the Document your Story: COVID-19 Pandemic Project Archive, Student Coursework, Community Organizations Responses, Ball State University Marketing & Communications, and Ball State University School of Nursing Alumni Stories.
Crispus Attucks was Indianapolis' first segregated high school built for African-Americans in 1927. It was named after Crispus Attucks, a black man who was the first American to die in the Boston Massacre in 1770, a precursor to the American Revolutionary War. In 1986, the school converted from a high school to junior high school. This digital collection captures the history of the high school through its yearbooks (1928-1986), newspapers, and graduation programs.
Special thanks to the Crispus Attucks Museum and its Board of Advisors for permission to digitize their valuable collection of historical documents.
This book is a collection of articles, remembrances, and photographs of life and work at Dam 43, a U. S. Army Corps of Engineers facility on the Ohio River in Taylor Township, Harrison County, Indiana. The book was compiled and edited by Catherine Kelley Summers (1913-2004), a Harrison County native, local historian, and a resident of Dam 43 for many years. Construction of the dam and lock system on the Ohio River began in 1914 and was completed in 1921. The massive project required around the clock operation and numerous employees. Located in a rather isolated area, the site included bunkhouses and individual cottages for workers and their families. The property also had a billiard room, tennis court, and a general store. Catherine Summers’ husband, Otis Summers, worked at the facility, and the couple and their children lived on the base for many years. Dam 43 remained in use until 1972.
In this volume, Summers captures much of the history of the Dam 43 facility and provides a unique glimpse into what life at the dam was like for those who lived and worked there. She provides newspaper articles of the period that describe the dam’s construction and design as well as the overall property and its many features. Summers also incorporates the memories of various residents into the narrative and includes a number of images that reflect life and work at the facility over its 50 plus years of operation.
The Daniel B. Crowder Oral Histories digital collection provides online access to 16 taped interviews from the United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW-CIO) Local 287 members of Muncie, Indiana.
The taped interviews in this collection formed the basis for a dissertation by Daniel B. Crowder entitled Profile in Progress: A History of Local 287, UAW-CIO. Crowder received his Ph.D. in history from Ball State University in 1969. These interviews cover the history of organized labor in Muncie, Indiana, specifically with United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America (UAW-CIO) Local 287 members.
The United Automobile Workers of America, affiliated with the Congress of Industrial Organizations, began their organization in Muncie in 1935. On March 25, 1937, the workers of the Warner Gear Division of Muncie were chartered as Local 287.
This digital collection contains images of Daniel B. Young's design drawings and business and personal photographs.
A professor in Ball State University's landscape architecture program, Daniel B. Young held degrees in both architecture and landscape architecture. After joining the faculty in 1970, he founded his own landscape architecture firm in Muncie, Indiana and worked on multiple municipal and county park redevelopment projects in Delaware, Madison and Grant Counties. He also designed landscapes for homes and small business.
The Daniel W. Hartwig Indiana Courthouse Photographs digital collection consists of over 500 digital photographs documenting county courthouses throughout Indiana. County courthouses form the symbolic center of dozens of Indiana towns, and many are significant architectural landmarks.
This collection consists of the records of the Central Normal College and Canterbury College. Danville, Indiana, was the home of Central Normal College (CNC) from 1878 to 1946. The college was one of the nation's earliest normal schools which specialized in teacher s training. In 1946, the Episcopal Church took over the college and the name was changed to Canterbury College (CC). It became a liberal arts school until it closed in 1951.
The David Owsley Museum of Art Exhibition Catalogs collection provides online access to catalogs dating from 1918 to the 2000s documenting exhibitions at Ball State University's David Owsley Museum of Art, formerly the Ball State University Art Gallery. The collection contains over 150 digitized records, including exhibition catalogs from Ball State's Drawing and Small Sculpture Show.
The David Patashinsky Muncie, Indiana Photographs digital collection includes 50 photographs from David Patashinsky of Muncie, Indiana ranging from 2010 to 2011 documents the city's people, events, architecture, and landscapes.
In 2010, the Center for Middletown Studies commissioned photographer David Patashinsky of Muncie, Indiana to capture photographs on a wide variety of subjects including people, architecture, and landscapes for the center's Documenting Deindustrialization Initiative. Patashinsky was born in Moscow, Russia, later lived in Israel, and for the last twelve years has resided in the United States. He attended art school in Russia where he focused on pottery and graphics. His interests include film and digital photography, and his cameras of choice are Leica and Zeiss Ikon.
The Delaware County Aerial Plat Maps digital collection includes views of the following cities and towns in Indiana: Albany, Daleville, Eaton, Gaston, Muncie, Selma, and Yorktown. Created in the 1970s by the Sidwell Company, the plat maps were used by the Delaware County Auditor's Office to keep track of splits and combines of properties. Using red pencil, the County Auditor marked the division and consolidation of plats, thus maintaining current records on residential & commercial property.
The Delaware County Courthouse digital collection contains architectural drawings and images related to the elegant Beaux-arts style courthouse designed by Indiana architect Brentwood S. Tolan. He and his father, T. J. Tolan, specialized in building courthouses across the Midwest.
The structure was built in 1887 and occupied a substantial block in the heart of downtown Muncie, a city that was thriving due to the discovery of natural gas in the area. The courthouse featured a clock, an impressive dome topped by a gas torch, and three statues entitled Indian, Agriculture and Industry that represented the history of the county. Utilized until Muncie city officials determined in the 1960s that a modern facility was needed, the courthouse was torn down in 1966.
The Delaware County Farmers' Institute and Farm Bureau Records digital collection includes minutes, membership rolls, financial records and programs ranging from 1919-1943 that document the organization and advocacy of agricultural groups in Delaware County, Indiana. The Delaware County Farmers' Institute records include minutes, membership rolls, financial records, and programs that document the membership of the Farmers' Institute and training opportunities offered by the organization from 1922-1943. A ledger with unidentified records related to education is also included. The Delaware County Farm Bureau records include minutes, membership rolls, and financial records documenting the membership, governance, creation of committees, and advocacy efforts of the organization from 1919-1929.
The Delaware County Farmers' Institute was established to improve the lives of Indiana's rural population and provide educational programs and exhibitions for county residents focused on agriculture and rural life. The organization also encouraged cooperative interaction between rural and urban residents in the county. County Farmers' Institutes in the state were supported by the Indiana Farmers' Institute, established in the 1880s, and the United States Department of Agriculture.
The Indiana Farm Bureau was founded on March 25, 1919 as the Indiana Federation of Farmers' Associations. The Delaware County and Center Township branches of that organization began meeting in the same year. These groups were founded to organize farmers and protect agricultural interests at the local, state, and national levels.
This online collection includes digital copies of the entirety of the Delaware County Farmers' Institute and Farm Bureau records in Archives and Special Collections.
The Delaware County Fraternal Orders digital collection includes pamphlets and publications documenting the formation and history of the Free and Accepted Masons, Knights of Pythias, Knights Templar, Odd Fellows, and Red Men orders in Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana from 1846-1931.
The history of fraternal organizations in Delaware County began in the fall of 1842 when a number of Masons met and petitioned the Grand Lodge of the State of Indiana for recognition as Delaware Lodge No. 46. The lodge met in an upper room of the Dr. Samuel Anthony home at 116 S. High St. and Dr. Anthony was appointed first master. A short time later, the Lodge moved its meeting rooms to the West upper room of the Courthouse.
The second oldest lodge in Delaware County was that of the Odd Fellows. On November 9, 1849, nine local men organized Muncie Lodge No. 74 in Anthony's building, on the south side of Main Street, one door east of the southwest corner of the square. Once the group was organized, the members met in Galliher's building, between Walnut and Mulberry and then for about a year in Masonic Hall. Finally, in 1853, a third floor was built on the Rady Building on the north side of Main Street, between Walnut and Mulberry and the lodge moved their meeting place again.
Another popular lodge of the period was the Knights of Pythias, who organized Welcome Lodge No. 37 on August 14, 1873, in the Odd Fellows Hall on Main Street. The principles of the organization were to promote Friendship, Charity, and Benevolence. The first wigwam of the Red Men was instituted August 26, 1873. Meetings were held in the Wysor Grand Opera House hall for about six years and in 1879, the order took up quarters on theeast side of Walnut, just north of Jackson Street. The officers were given names of supposedly Indian origin, such as Sachem, Sagamore, Prophet, and Keeper of Wampum.
This online collection is part of the Fraternal Orders collection in Archives and Special Collections.
The Delaware County Habitat for Humanity digital collection includes 10 scrapbooks ranging from 1986 to 2001. The scrapbooks contain photographs, newspaper clippings, correspondence and publicity materials documenting the history and activity of the organization.
Since its inception in 1976, Delaware County Habitat for Humanity, an independently run community-level affiliate of Habitat for Humanity International, has partnered with local families, helping them achieve home ownership. The organization collaborates with churches and other organizations and relies on the support of local business, volunteers, and city and county government officials to realize its mission of providing decent, affordable shelter to families in need.
The Delaware County Human Relations Council Records digital collection includes correspondence, organizational records, membership records, the constitution and by-laws, and other material documenting the work of the Human Relations Council of Delaware County, Indiana ranging from 1962 to 1984. Additionally, this collection contains records documenting the related work of the Muncie Human Rights Commission. Specific issues documented in this digital collection include responses to concerns of de facto segregation resulting from the construction of Northwest High School (which would open in 1971 as Northside High School), fair housing initiatives, and the formation and governance of both the Human Relations Council of Delaware County and the Muncie Human Rights Commission.
The Human Relations Council of Delaware County was a voluntary community organization with open membership formed in 1963 to advocate for equality in employment, housing, education, and public accommodation regardless of a person’s race, creed, or place of origin. The council coordinated the creation and dissemination of human rights resources, services, and initiatives throughout Delaware County. The mission of the Delaware County Human Relations Council aligned closely with that of the Muncie Human Rights Commission, the official commission appointed by the Muncie mayor to monitor human rights issues within the city of Muncie, Indiana beginning in 1964.
This online collection includes digital copies of the majority of the Human Relations Council of Delaware County, Indiana records in Archives and Special Collections. Additional material from this collection may be viewed in the archives.
The Delaware County Methodist Church Photographs digital collection includes 53 photographs of Methodist churches throughout Muncie and Delaware County and a paper on the history of Methodism in Delaware County.
The Delaware County Poor Relief Records digital collection includes claims, correspondence, and proposals documenting the efforts of local government and cooperating community members to relieve poverty and meet the basic needs (clothing, food, housing, medical treatment, and burials) of Delaware County, Indiana residents from 1851-1888. Claims document the application from a community service provider submitted to local government officials requesting payment for goods and services rendered to aid those in need.
This online collection includes digital copies of the entirety of the Poor Relief records, 1851-1888 in Archives and Special Collections.
The Delaware County Public Schools Directories digital collection includes directories listing the names of teachers and school administrators in Delaware County, Indiana and the schools where they taught and served from 1904-1968.
These directories provide a wealth of information documenting the history of education in Delaware County. Most of the directories in this collection include a description of the grade level, subject specialization, or position of each teacher or administrator listed. Other useful information such as the school location, academic calendar, and number of students enrolled at each school can also be found in many of these directories. This information can be used to track the development of the educational system in Delaware County, changes in enrollment patterns over 60 years, the growth and decline in staffing for particular schools, and the tenure of specific teachers and administrators.
Please note that the directories in this collection include information for county schools located in Salem, Mt. Pleasant, Harrison, Washington, Monroe, Center, Hamilton, Union, Perry, Liberty, Delaware and Niles townships and the towns of Albany and Eaton. Schools within the city limits of Muncie, Indiana and part of Muncie City Schools are excluded from these directories after 1918.
This online collection is part of the Delaware County Public School directories in Archives and Special Collections.
The Delaware County Tuberculosis Association digital collection includes annual and other administrative reports, Articles of Incorporation, by-laws, policies, meeting minutes, organizational histories, certificates, scrapbooks, and photographs documenting the Delaware County Tuberculosis Association’s public health initiatives to provide education, prevent, and treat cases of tuberculosis in Delaware County, Indiana between 1919 and 1991.
Delight Bobilya was born in Fort Wayne, Indiana on September 21, 1923 to Inez and Clarence Bobilya. From 1940-1944, during World War II, Bobilya attended Ball State University. During this time, she kept a detailed diary, chronicling her time as a student. Bobilya was a committed singer, artist, and student. She would also go home each weekend to help out on her family’s farm. Her diary chronicles this as well as her personal relationships and experience with the war.
After graduating from Ball State, Bobilya became a teacher of music and art at the Waynedale, Hillcrest, and Anthony Wayne elementary schools. She eventually married Ralph Wier and went on to have seven children, including Rebecca Wier Lock who transcribed this diary. In 1983, Bobilya was named “Illinois Mother of the Year.” She continued to write throughout her life, much of which was made into a series of books: I Married a Farmer (1974), Diary of a Farmer’s Wife (1976), Delight Wier’s Kitchen (1980), My Heart’s in the Home (1986), and Circle of Love: A Tribute to Farm Women (1990).
This collection is the result of an on-going effort by the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology to digitize the photographs in their files. The images represent two of the special initiatives undertaken by DHPA to preserve the culture and history of Indiana. The Historic Theater Initiative focuses on historic theaters, opera houses, and drive-ins that are rapidly disappearing in local communities. The Indiana cemetery initiative focuses on preserving the historic cemeteries and prehistoric burial areas found in every county.
The Indiana State Parks traces its history to Richard Lieber, who recommended a system of state parks be created as part of the 1816 bicentennial. As part of its centennial celebration, the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Division of State Parks and Reservoirs is digitizing materials from the collections held at each of its locations.
The E.B. and Bertha C. Ball Center Records digital collection consists of annual reports, brochures, flyers, programs, and scrapbooks from the 1970s to the early 1990s. The mission of the E.B. and Bertha C. Ball Center is to provide intellectual opportunities for all persons in the Ball State University and East Central Indiana communities through programs, lectures, classes, seminars, and workshops that are presented in an informal learning environment.
Originally named “Nebosham” and built in 1907, it was the family home of Mr. and Mrs. E.B. and Bertha C. Ball and their children. In 1975 the property was donated by the Ball Brothers to the Ball State University Foundation for use as a continuing education facility. Re-christened as the Minnetrista Center for Nontraditional Adult Studies, it reopened as an academic building in 1977. In 1986 the facility was renamed the E.B. and Bertha C. Ball Center for University and Community Programs, and it is still serving the university and the public.
Initiated by the Knox County Public Library in response to the 275th anniversary of the founding of Vincennes in 1732, Early Vincennes includes digital versions of public records related to the first one hundred years of Vincennes and the early years of American western expansion.
The East Chicago Public Library’s Historical Collection consists of various components that have contributed to the history of East Chicago Indiana. Some of these components were community programs, public services, and industry. All of them have been significant to the city’s history and remain important to the citizens of this community. We have photos and documents from Katherine House (now known as Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Northwest Indiana - East Chicago Club), the Steel Mill, St. Catherine Hospital, the East Chicago Fire Department and the East Chicago Police Department.
The Edith Elizabeth Kirby Family digital collection provides online access to photographs, deeds, correspondence, scrapbooks and other items pertinent to Edith Kirby Barnes and her family in Muncie, Indiana and Colorado, ranging from the 1870s to the 1940s. The collection documents Edith Kirby Barnes's life and family, as well as her travels throughout the United States. It also includes extensive genealogy materials for both Kirby and Barnes family lines.
Edith Kirby Barnes was born January 21, 1875 to Thomas Hickman Kirby and Anna Cassady Kirby. She was the granddaughter of Thomas Kirby, one of the first pioneers of European ancestry to settle in Muncie. She married Robert Denver Barnes, Sr., who was a descendant of early American colonialists, on June 21, 1900. The couple resided in Robert's home state of Colorado for five years before returning to Muncie in 1906. Upon their return, Robert began work in the Kirby-Wood Lumber Company, which was operated by Edith's father Thomas Hickman Kirby. The couple had two children: Anna Cassady Barnes, who died as an infant, and Robert D. Barnes, Jr. Robert D. Barnes, Sr. would eventually become president of Kirby-Wood upon the death of his father-in-law, and Robert D. Barnes Jr., would eventually take on the title as well, running the lumberyard until his retirement in 1976. Robert D. Barnes, Jr., married Louise Faye Howard on August 5, 1929 and had three children: Jane Louise, James Pierce, and Michael George.
Edith spent the rest of her life in Muncie with her family and was active in local organizations, including the Indiana Paul Revere Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR), the local World War II rationing board, and volunteering at the Grace Episcopal Church. She was also interested in genealogy for the Kirby and Barnes families, traveling as far as New England and Colorado to gather genealogical materials. Edith remained active with her family, her clubs, and her hobbies until her death on August 1, 1943 at the age of 68.
The complete Edith Elizabeth Kirby collection is available in the Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
The Educational Heritage Association is a volunteer-based organization focused on collecting, preserving, and promoting education in the Wabash Valley. Its collection includes yearbooks, photographs, trophies and plaques, and other memorabilia from Vigo County schools.
"The system of public education…is, in its fundamental principles, the only system on which we can hope for success, and which will, in the end, prove satisfactory to the people." – William C. Larabee, Superintendent of Public Instruction, first annual report to the General Assembly, 1853.
The Indiana State Library maintains a large collection of publications on education, including annual reports from the Superintendent of Public Instruction (1853 to present), pertaining to the history of education in the Hoosier state. Among these resources are high school and college yearbooks, reports from the Indiana State Teachers' Association, educational publications for teachers, school directories, and periodicals from long-closed institutes from around the state. Relevant unpublished materials from the library's manuscripts collections include papers from students and educators—such as correspondence, report cards, copy books, school assignments, examinations, teaching certificates, oral histories, and photographs—as well as records from educational institutions and organizations.
This digital collection highlights many of these materials concerning education and more additions are expected.
This digital collection represents a portion of the work of architect Edwin A. Gibson, the first African-American architect registered in the state of Indiana. The collection contains papers related to his education at Crispus Attucks High School in Indianapolis, Ind., and the University of Illinois, architectural drawings from his private architecture practice in Indianapolis, awards, and photographs of Gibson from the 1940s to the 1980s.
Edwin Gibson (1925-2011) was a man of many firsts–not only was he the first African-American architect registered in the state of Indiana, but he was also the first African-American architect to hold the position of Indiana's State Architect and the first African-American architect to have his own architectural firm in Indiana. Gibson overcame many obstacles to become successful and was generous in offering advice and helping younger architects achieve similar success.
His long career, which spanned from 1945 to 2002 included work in both the public and private sectors. He started at the venerable A. M. Strauss Associates, Inc., a Fort Wayne architecture firm, where he became a partner and treasurer in the firm. He later moved to Indianapolis to start his own firm. Some of the buildings he designed or renovated were located at Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis, Evansville State Hospital, Central Elementary in Plainfield, Broad Ripple Library, renovations at Central Library in Indianapolis, IUPUI, IU Bloomington, including renovation of Ernie Pyle Hall, Hudnut Plaza and other HUD projects throughout Indiana.
When Gibson closed his private practice in 1987 to work exclusively for Methodist Hospital, most of the drawings in his office were discarded and those in this archival collection are the few examples of his work that remain. Shortly after Gibson's death in 2011, his family gave an additional donation of photographs and papers, including his Master of Science thesis, awards, and certificates. The family also donated Gibson's personal tape measure engraved with his initials, which can be viewed in the digital collection.
The Edwin Shawhan digital collection provides online access to films shot by Edwin Shawhan of Centerville, Indiana between 1935 and 1947. The films include footage of members of the Shawhan family and scenes of Centerville, Richmond, Springwood, and towns in Southern Indiana. They also include footage of steam trains, bridges, construction projects, a girl scout camp, and building fires.
Edwin E. Shawhan was born in 1896 to Silas W. and Louvina A. Wilson Shawhan. As a professional photographer, Shawhan enjoyed documenting the lives of his wife, Hallie D. Myers Shawhan, and their four children. Shawhan passed away on October 8, 1955 at the age of 59.
The Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art was founded by Indianapolis businessman Harrison Eiteljorg. Its mission—to inspire an appreciation and understanding of the art, history and cultures of the American West and the indigenous peoples of North America.
The Elaine Bennett Delaware County Family Name Index Cards digital collection provides online access to an alphabetical index of Delaware County, Indiana family names compiled in the 1970s by Elaine Bennett, an archivist at the National Archives and Records Administration in Washington, D.C.
The index cards include demographic, genealogical, and historical information gathered from Census data, newspaper clippings, and several published histories of Delaware County including Thomas B. Helm’s History of Delaware County, Indiana (1881); John S. Ellis’s Our County: Its History and Early Settlement by Townships (1890); A Portrait and Biographical Record of Delaware and Randolph Counties, Indiana (1894); and G.W.H. Kemper’s A Twentieth Century History of Delaware County, Indiana (1908).
The Eleanor Roosevelt Speech Collection includes an audio recording and accompanying transcript that document Eleanor Roosevelt's speech to a convocation in Assembly Hall at Ball State Teachers College (now Ball State University) in Muncie, Indiana, on May 6, 1959. The title of Mrs. Roosevelt's speech was Is America Facing World Leadership? Mrs. Roosevelt warned those in attendance against complacency and stressed the urgency of understanding other peoples of the world.
Elizabeth J. Glenn was a Professor of Anthropology at Ball State University from 1967 to 1997 whose research focused on Native American populations in the Midwest. Glenn worked closely with the Miami Nation in Indiana, documenting their history and culture as a scholar and working as a tribal consultant in legal affairs pertaining to tribal status recognition. This collection contains over 200 reports, maps, research notes, and writings documenting Glenn’s work in these capacities.
The Elkhart County Historical Society (ECHS) tells the stories of the many people, places, and events that make up the history of Elkhart County.
This collection consists of photographs ranging through the 1900s, with some even going as far back as 1868 from the collection of the Elkhart Public Library. These photographs have been in storage with the Reference department at the Main library, but are now being made available digitally to the public.
The Emens Auditorium Collection provides access to selected programs and event promotional materials including programs, show bills, season ticket brochures, and other printed ephemera from events held in Emens Auditorium on the campus of Ball State University. Included is documentation of the Emens Artist Series and Concert Series as well as the planning and construction of the auditorium.
Born in 1908 in Chicago, Emil H. Rothe was the son of Olympian Emil C. Rothe, a gymnast who participated in four events during the 1904 Olympics. Like his father, Emil H. Rothe developed a passion for gymnastics and physical education, graduating in 1929 from the Normal College of the American Gymnastic Union. During his time at school, Emil H. participated in and taught many sports, including fencing, basketball, and baseball, and often served as a judge for fencing competitions. However, one of his proudest achievements was becoming President of the Alpha chapter of Phi Epsilon Kappa and helping turn it into what he considered the most vital chapter of the organization.
Emil H. was extraordinarily well-spoken and well-written and was responsible for numerous speeches during his time at the school. Some of the transcripts of these speeches can be found within this collection, as well as a scrapbook that he kept detailing his time there, dance cards, graduation announcements, and commencement programs.
What users might find most interesting, however, are the letters he wrote to his father. This correspondence provides an intimate glimpse into Emil H.’s life more than any other part of the collection. And although we do not have any of his father’s responses to these letters, it is clear that the two were quite close, with Emil H. desiring his father’s approval above all else.
In the late 19th century, some innovative educators conceived of the idea of a high school that would combine a traditional curriculum, including subjects such as mathematics, science, and Greek, with courses in manual skills, such as mechanics, drafting, and home nursing. The school, originally known as the Industrial Training School, opened its doors in 1895 and quickly gained national attention as a successful educational experiment. The name of the school changed several times in the early years and finally, in 1916, the school became known as Charles E. Emmerich Manual Training High School in honor of the school's first principal.
Formally opening on September 27, 1880, English's Opera House quickly became Indianapolis' leading theater presenting not only opera but drama, musical comedy, ballet, concerts, minstrel shows, lectures, vaudeville and film. These programs document performances given by actors such as Sarah Bernhardt, the Barrymores, George M. Cohan, Helen Hayes, Katharine Hepburn and Laurence Olivier and include ads for city businesses, previews and reviews of productions, even some jokes and commentary.
This early record book contains the enumeration of school children in Harrison Township, Harrison County, Indiana in the years 1866 through 1879. Arranged chronologically, the book presents the enumerations for each individual school (district). The township identified each school by number, but local citizens often attached their own moniker, which typically reflected the school’s location or the names of local landowners, especially those who donated or sold the land for the schools. Details on each school’s name and general location are provided in the description of each page. Also included in the collection is an 1882 map of Harrison Township with the location of each school identified.
In 1866 Harrison Township recorded 16 schools. By 1877 the number had risen to 20 and included a school for African American children (No. 19). Yearly summaries of enumerations for 1866 through 1870 were recorded on separate pages at the end of the book. For the years 1871 through 1878, yearly totals typically appear at the end of each year’s record. Enumerations for 1879 recorded in this book cover only school districts Nos. 1 through 6.
Enumerations during this period recorded children between the ages of six and twenty-one. For each school, the record provides the name of a parent or guardian, the total number of children he or she has in the school, a breakdown of how many males and females, and the family’s specific residential township and range. Names and ages of the children were not recorded. Notations were made if students transferred either to or from the school, and of the town, school or township associated with the transfer.
“Bus” Stegall was a Richmond, Indiana pilot who was involved in aviation from the 1930s. During World War II he served as a Naval flight instructor, and after the war he continued to study Richmond's aviation history.
The Eugene V. Debs Correspondence Collection contains more than 6,000 letters, typescripts, and manuscripts of nearly 1,700 individuals, including Eugene and his brother, Theodore Debs, written between 1874 and 1977. Marguerite Debs Cooper, the daughter of Theodore Debs, made an initial gift of the correspondence in her possession to Indiana State University in 1967.
The Debs Museum collection contains personal artifacts which belonged to Eugene V. Debs or his family as well as memorabilia related to his role as a pioneer labor leader and Socialist Party candidate for president five times between 1900 and 1920. A collection of campaign buttons from these elections is included.
The Evansville Vanderburgh Public Library first opened on January 1, 1913. To celebrate 100 years of service to the community, this collection uses photographs, annual reports, and other items of note to demonstrate the history of the library and all of the services it has offered over the last 100 years.
This is a collection of Evansville city directories, dating back to the first directory published in 1858. The directories provide historical information about Evansville, as well as addresses & occupations of residents; business listings; detailed trade & manufacturing information; advertisements; and information about schools, churches, & social organizations.
This collection contains historic images of southwestern Indiana from 1880s to present. This collection includes images of the Flood of 1937 and local architecture. Also included are images documenting the African-American community.
Evansville Electronic Books is a collection of historical books and pamphlets about Evansville people and places.
Evansville Images is a collection of postcards; magazine and book illustrations; and photographs of buildings, boats, & people in and around Evansville, Indiana. The oldest images date back to the 1800s.
The Evansville in WWII Digital Collection contains keyword searchable local industry newsletters and thousands of Evansville Shipyard photographs and war bond posters.
Evansville Postcards is a collection of postcard images depicting structures, people, and attractions in and around Evansville.
Evansville Yearbooks is a collection of high school yearbooks from five public high schools in the Evansville Vanderburgh School Corporation. the individual schools: Bosse High School, Central High School, Harrison High School, North High School, or Reitz High School.
The Nappanee Center houses the Evelyn Lehman Culp Heritage Collection, founded at the Nappanee Public Library in 1971. This hidden gem is still maintained by the Library today and tells the story of Nappanee through permanent, rotating and special displays. Main attractions include several "Hoosier" cabinets made in Nappanee, a tribute to the city's six nationally-known cartoonists, an Air Force One display and the historic John Hartman House.
The Everett W. Ferrill Collection consists of scrapbooks and photographs that were created by local labor leader, John M. Wells. The collection contains scrapbooks of the 1955 Delaware County Economic Conference and the 1958-1959 Surplus Food Program. The photographs in the collection document various UAW-CIO Local 287 activities and political events, including John F. Kennedy's visit to Muncie in 1960, Harry Truman's visit on Labor Day 1960, and Birch Bayh's senatorial campaign.
Faces of Science is a STEM outreach collaboration between Ball State University faculty member Dr. John McKillip (Department of Biology), his Fall 2017 Virginia B. Ball Center for Creative Inquiry class, and the University of Detroit Mercy (UDM) undergraduates, who are part of a National Science Foundation funded program called ReBUILDetroit (rebuildetroit.org). These UDM students are actively engaged in various STEM undergraduate research projects, and represent academically underrepresented student groups. This film created by Ball State University students, entitled Faces of Science, features several ReBUILDetroit undergraduates telling their individual stories about how they perceive opportunities in STEM currently, and offer reflections on their role models, advice to younger students on science, society, and the individual. Early portions of this seven-minute short film were done principally by the nine BSU biology students with post-production completion by Blake Conner of Ball State University’s Digital Corps.
Between 2012 and 2013, the FAMILIES TALK Oral History recorded the school memories of 195 past and present students, parents and grandparents with Indianapolis Public Schools (IPS) and charter school experiences. The goal was to explore how school experiences differ between people, places and times. The result is a vivid record of eight decades of urban life, from segregation to busing to school choice and re-segregation.
The Fire Fighter Photograph images are from the collection of Donald A. Weber, a retired professional fire fighter and photographer, and from the personal collections of other fire fighters. These images portray the important work of the Fort Wayne Fire Department over many decades and they provide glimpses of Fort Wayne buildings, streetscapes, and fire-fighting equipment.
This collection provides online access to a selection of digitized records from the First Baptist Church of Muncie ranging from circa 1870 to 2014. The collection contains newsletters; pastor records including biographies and installation programs; photographs of church buildings, pastors, staff, members, groups, and events; and architectural drawings, building specifications, and other construction records for the third church building located at 309 E. Adams Street in downtown Muncie.
The Indiana Historical Society (IHS) and Indiana University/Purdue University at Indianapolis (IUPUI) collaborated to establish this digital project pertaining to Flanner House. The approximately 5,000 digitized objects consist of photographic, manuscript, artifact, and printed images from the IHS and IUPUI Flanner House collections and several items related to Flanner House from various collections at the two repositories. The Indiana Historical Society Flanner House collection can be viewed here.
Flanner House has provided social services to African Americans in Indianapolis since its establishment as a settlement house for a migrant, rural population arriving from the South at the end of the nineteenth century. Flanner House was involved in at least three building projects in Indianapolis: establishment of 181 homes on the westside of Indianapolis; 150 homes on the eastside, near Douglas Park; and the River House Apartments. These online collections provide images of a changing westside neighborhood in Indianapolis over time–from about 1945 through the 1970s.
This collection contains videos and transcripts for oral history interviews with local World War II, Vietnam War, Persian Gulf War, and Iraq War veterans between 2013 and 2018. The interviews were conducted by Chris Reidy of WIPB-TV as part of its Oval of Honor award series sponsored by the Ford Motor Company. Also included are annual Ford Oval of Honor programs about the award recipients for 2013-2015.
This collection contains images of people, places, and organizations in Fort Wayne, Allen County, and northeast Indiana. These images have been given to the library or loaned to the library to scan for this collection.
Precinct by precinct election results for elections held in Allen County, Indiana from 1852 to 1967. The collection is a collaborative effort between the Helmke Library and the Mike Downs Center for Indiana Politics.
The Fort Wayne Area Government Information digital collection contains studies, reports, maps and data related to major topics such as education, economic development, land use and planning, and politics.
Explore publications pertaining to Fort Wayne area history from earliest encounters between European settlers and the Miami Indians to industrialization during the first part of the twentieth century. The documents in this collection cover a broad range of topics, including social and cultural life, political affairs, and economic prosperity and hardship. It contains a rich assortment of maps, illustrations and letters as well as a biographical dictionary with more than 1,000 sketches of prominent figures in Fort Wayne history.
The Forum Literary Journal digital collection consists of full-text issues of the Forum (also known as the Ball State University Forum), a quarterly literary journal published by the Department of English at Ball State University from 1960-1989. The journal accepted a variety of submissions from poetry to non-fiction. Print copies are available in Archives and Special Collections and in the University Libraries' Bound Periodicals Collection.
The Fountain County Community collection contains digital items donated to the project by private individuals in Fountain County.
The Fran E. Schroeder Architectural Records digital collection consists of drawings, photographs, rendering, awards, and correspondence and reference material concerning Schroeder’s architectural career. The drawings are from the office of Fran E. Schroeder and Associates and consist of houses, churches, and schools mostly for sites in Indianapolis and the surrounding areas. Some of the photographs and other reference items were taken of buildings designed by the firms Pierre & Wright and McGuire & Shook, where Schroeder was employed prior to opening his own office. Among the buildings represented are the Milo Stuart Memorial Building at Arsenal Technical High School, the Indiana State Library and Historical Building, and Fendrick's Restaurant at Union Station, Indianapolis.
Fran (Francis) E. Schroeder (1908-1988) was a native of Indianapolis, and attended Butler and Purdue Universities and the Beaux Arts School of Design in New York. From 1929 to 1940 he was employed by Pierre & Wright, Architects, in Indianapolis. During World War II, he was resident architect for the Curtis-Wright Corporation. He joined the McGuire & Shook firm after the war and remained there until 1950, when he founded Fran E. Schroeder and Associates, Architects. Schroeder was a charter member of the Indianapolis chapter of the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI), Vice President in 1961, and President for two terms (1962-1964). Schroeder was active also in the American Institute of Architects, the Indiana Society of Architects serving as Director, 1959-60, and Secretary, 1960-61, the Construction League of Indianapolis, the Marion County Electrical Registration Board, and the Knights of Columbus. He served 14 years as a Director and as Design Chairman of the Indianapolis Christmas Committee.
The Frank H. Wheeler Estate Photographs digital collection contains 39 images of the estate, known as Hawkeye, taken by H. H. Coburn Company soon after the house was built. Also included is a portrait of Douglas Wheeler, the son of Frank and Stella Wheeler.
Now a part of Marian College`s campus, the Wheeler/Williams/Stokeley Estate was originally built in 1912-13 by the architect William L. Price for automotive industrialist Frank H. Wheeler and his family. Wheeler, one of the founders of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and owner of Wheeler-Schebler Carburetor Company, instructed the architect to design a home that was luxurious without being ostentatious, and the result was a stunning Mediterranean-style mansion that included a four-story water tower with apartments, man-made lake with an island, Japanese teahouse, and fruit orchards.
Two lists from Franklin Township, Harrison County, Indiana, provide the name, age, and occupation of over 250 men who resided in Franklin Township and either volunteered for military service or enrolled in the local militia in 1862.
A list of sixty-one men from Franklin Township, Harrison County, Indiana who had volunteered for military service or had been in service thus far during the United States Civil War. The list was compiled in 1862 by Jacob S. Pfrimmer, Deputy Commissioner of Franklin Township appointed for this purpose. The list records the name, age, and occupation of each person, as well as his assigned regiment. In a few instances, information is given regarding an injury or death of a soldier.
A roll of 221 able-bodied, white male citizens over the age of eighteen who resided in Franklin Township, Harrison County, Indiana, in 1862 for the purpose of enrollment in the local militia. The name, age, and occupation of each individual is provided. The majority of the men are farmers; however, shoemakers, carpenters, coopers, blacksmiths, merchants, teachers, and physicians are also represented. Any debilitating physical or mental issues an individual may possess are noted, and if this is cause for exemption. It is also documented when an individual was drafted into service. The enrollment was supervised by Commissioner Jacob S. Pfrimmer, whose signed oath is attached to the final page and dated September 1, 1862.
Photographer and newspaperman Frank Hohenberger spent forty-seven years recording the life, customs, and scenes of the hills of Brown County, Indiana, with side trips and hired assignments in other areas of Indiana, Kentucky, South Carolina, and Mexico. Thousands of images taken from 1904-1948 of landscapes, buildings, and people testify to Hohenberger's belief, recorded in his diary, that "pictures speak the only language all mankind can understand."
The Frederick Putnam Diaries digital collection includes 13 volumes that chronicles the life of early Muncie, Indiana resident Frederick Putnam, dating from May 1846 to January 1900. The diaries contain Putnam's reflections and observations of various events that occurred during his life.
Frederick Putnam was born February 11, 1818, in Charleston, New Hampshire. Much of his early life was spent in poverty. Attracted by the opportunities the West offered to young men, Putnam left New Hampshire in October 1838, eventually settling in Muncie, Indiana. During his time in Muncie, Putnam married, fathered four children, opened his own businesses, and served as the Delaware County Treasurer and Assistant Auditor. Putnam died January 18, 1901, at the age of 82.
The French Revolution Pamphlets digital collection consists of pamphlets produced from 1779 to 1815. Although the French Revolution happened in the decade ranging from 1789 to 1799, this collection of pamphlets documents the time leading up to the revolution through the Napoleonic Wars (1799-1815). Often privately printed due to newspaper censure by the monarchy, the pamphlets were used to disseminate information and ideals concerning nationalism, citizenship, personal freedoms, and social injustice.
The Friends Memorial Church digital collection includes historical documents and photographs that chronicle the history of Friends Memorial Church in Muncie, Indiana. The items in the collection come from the Friends Memorial Church and Ball State University Libraries' Archives and Special Collections.
The Friends built their first meetinghouse in Muncie, Indiana in 1879. The current meeting house, located at Adams and Cherry streets, was built in 1908. Many of the documents in this collection were placed in the cornerstone of the building in 1908 and opened during the church's centennial celebrations in 2008. A scrapbook documenting the history of the church and the centennial celebrations is included in the collection.
The Galyean Family digital collection includes journals, photographs, and a genealogy book documenting the Galyean family of Blountsville, Indiana from 1866 to 1987. Elizabeth Lizzie C. Bainter Galyean's journal includes Civil War era poetry, ledgers, and census records. The collection also includes a register of the deaths of friends of Sylvia Galyean.
The Gear-O-Gram Magazine digital collection includes 172 issues of the magazine published by and for employees of the BorgWarner Corporation located in Muncie, Indiana. Published from 1944 to 1972, the magazines include details of employee activities, announcements of service awards and accolades, and general interest pieces about automobile transmissions.
The BorgWarner Corporation had a long history in Muncie, beginning in 1928, when the auto part manufacturing company merged with three Midwestern auto part makers, one being Warner Gear of Muncie, Indiana. The company expanded quickly and experiencing annual sales of $50 million in 1929 to over $600 million by the late 1950s when Borg-Warner became a leading manufacturer of automatic transmissions. BorgWarner's Muncie manufacturing plant closed its doors in 2009.
This project makes accessible historically significant documents that were the property of Rensselaer resident Robert Huston Milroy who formed and led the volunteer G company of the 9th Regiment of the Indiana Infantry. He later reached the rank of Major General, was known as the "Grey Eagle of the Army," served the Union meritoriously and provided acclaim and notoriety to Jasper County. His papers, letters, photographs, and memorabilia are invaluable in their accounts of the Civil War and his part in that war.
Gene Stratton-Porter was a well-known author and naturalist from Indiana. This collection includes photographs, letters, newspaper accounts, hand-colored postcards, and other memorabilia. This is collaborative project of the Geneva Branch of the Adams Public Library System and the Limberlost State Historic Site, the two-story log cabin that Stratton-Porter and her husband built in Geneva in late 19th century.
The Amelia Earhart papers offer a rare glimpse into the life of America's premier woman aviator. In 1928 she was the first woman to fly across the Atlantic. Earhart was on leave of absence from Purdue when she disappeared during the 1937 attempt to fly around the equator. The online collection includes more than 3,500 scans of photographs, maps, documents, and artifacts relating to Earhart.
The George R. Dale digital collection features correspondence, telegrams, publications, and a scrapbook pertaining to the life of George Dale during his time as the Editor of the Muncie Post-Democrat and the Mayor of Muncie. Most of the collection documents Dale’s ongoing legal battles concerning criminal libel and Prohibition charges, as well as his fight against the Ku Klux Klan.
George Washington High School opened in 1927 in Indianapolis in the Haughville neighborhood..The high school was closed by Indianapolis Public Schools in 1995. The high school's yearbook, originally published as a special edition of the school newspaper, was called the Senior Post through the 1950s, finally becoming simply the Post. This collection of the annuals is not complete but spans the years 1932 through 1988.
George Winter is one of Indiana's best-known artists. Born in 1809 in Portsea, England, by 1837 he was located in Logansport, Indiana, and nearly all of Mr. Winter's remaining life was spent in the Wabash valley. More than 1,200 images and personal manuscripts relating to the Miami and Potawatomi tribes and their forced relocation to Kansas have been preserved and made available to researchers through this web site.
The Gibson County Community WV3 collection contains digital items donated to the project by private individuals in Gibson County.
The Gill Township Collection contains digital items related to the history of the township, which is located in the south-eastern part of Sullivan County, Indiana. Gill Township includes the towns of Merom, Riverton and New Lebanon.
The Gladys J. Miller Architectural Drawings digital collection includes architectural drawings from fifty of Miller's commissions from 1950 to 1979. The structures are primarily located in Terre Haute, with a few located outside Vigo County, Indiana.
One of the earliest registered female architects in Indiana, Gladys J. Miller (1926-1993) worked as a designer and draftsman in Philadelphia and Terre Haute, Indiana, before establishing her own architecture firm in Terre Haute in 1958. Also known professionally as Gladys Good Miller, she was familiarly known as Hap by her friends and colleagues. Her firm specialized in residential architecture, but also built small commercial buildings such as the Dobbs Park Nature Center and the Covered Bridge Girl Scout Council headquarters, both in Terre Haute.
This collection provides online access to Glue, a journal produced and managed by students in the Department of Architecture at Ball State University's College of Architecture and Planning. Issues of the journal in this collection date from 2000 to 2009 and include student designs, drawings, and writings. Print copies of the journal are held in Ball State University Archives & Special Collections and the Architecture Library.
The first 32 years (1881-1913) of the Gospel Trumpet is the ideal research tool for those interested in learning more about the prominent leaders, historical events, or unique beliefs that helped lay the foundation for what is now the Church of God (Anderson, Indiana).
The Winona Lake Postcards Collection consists of several hundred postcards depicting Winona Lake from the early 1900s to the 1970s. Winona Lake was a thriving center of cultural activity where thousands of people spent their summer attending concerts, lectures, sermons and educational classes. Thousands of people were drawn to the chautauquas and to the relaxing atmosphere of Winona Lake. The postcards provide a glimpse of the buildings, cottages, transportation, entertainment and lifestyle of the chautauqua era.
The Winona Railroad Collection includes images and a variety of memorabilia related to the history of the interurban railroad in northern Indiana. The Winona Railroad was developed to transport the thousands of guests who traveled from Chicago and Indianapolis and many other parts of the country to attend the Christian Chautauqua in Winona Lake, IN. It expanded to include towns north and south of Warsaw/Winona Lake serving other needs of people who lived along the line such as transportation to work, shopping and other business needs.
The Grady Franklin digital collection contains the works of photojournalist Grady Franklin from 1979-2009. The collection includes career and freelance work, predominately documenting Western life.
Grady Franklin attended his first Western Film Fair convention in St. Louis, Missouri during 1979. He continued to attend for the next 10 years, except for 1984 when he missed the Raleigh, North Carolina convention.
In addition to the Western Film Fair, he covered other film conventions in Knoxville, Memphis, and Asheville, Tennessee; the Roy Rogers Festival in Portsmouth, Ohio; the Buck Jones Festival in Rochester, New York; and the Tom Mix Festival in DuBois, Pennsylvania. He also covered the Golden Boot ceremonies in Los Angeles, California as well as Cine Indy in Indianapolis.
This collection contains various records, documents, and other items related to the Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) in Harrison County, Indiana. The GAR was a post Civil War era fraternal organization of Union veterans. The GAR began in Indiana in 1866 and reached its membership height in the state around 1890. Several GAR Posts existed in Harrison County. Enrollment faded as veterans passed away, and the GAR dissolved in the mid-1950s.
The Grant County (Indiana) Veterans Oral Histories collection provides online access to digitized audio recordings and transcripts of 64 oral history interviews with U.S. military veterans from Grant County conducted by Marion High School students between 1998 and 2004. The veterans interviewed for this project served in World War II, Korea, Southeast Asia and Vietnam, Persian Gulf, Kuwait, Kosovo, Grenada, Fort Knox, and Desert Storm. Subjects interviewed discuss their experiences and backgrounds and the conditions in which they served.
These images are of the Patrick and Helen Porter Griffin family of Corydon, Indiana, and their descendants, their historic 1817 home, and the well-known dry goods store that the family owned and operated over three generations.
Patrick Griffin (1831-1917) was a successful merchant and co-owner of the local Griffin & McGrain dry goods business. Helen Porter (1844-1940) was the daughter of esteemed Corydon lawyer Judge William A. Porter. Patrick and Helen married in 1871 and raised seven children: Margaret, William Maurice, Mary Jane, Olive, Annis, Helen Elizabeth, and Daniel. The family resided in a large two-story, brick home in downtown Corydon that had been Helen's childhood home. The house had been built in 1817 and in the 1820s had served as the residence and headquarters of Indiana's third governor. It became the home of the Porter family in 1841. Helen and Patrick moved in with her father after her mother's death in 1872, and they eventually inherited the home. The couple resided there until their deaths (1940 and 1917 respectively), and five of their seven children never married and spent the majority of their lives in the home as well. The youngest, Daniel Griffin, was the last to live in the home, and following his death in 1975, the well-preserved house became a state-owned historic site.
Patrick and Helen Griffin and their children founded the mercantile firm of Maurice Griffin & Co. in 1897 and established a dry goods store on Beaver Street along the town's courthouse square. The firm was named after the couple's oldest son, but the company consisted of the entire family. As adults, all of the children clerked in the store with the exception of Helen Elizabeth, who moved to Chicago as a young woman. Olive studied the millinery trade and designed and created fashionable ladies' hats for the store. Mary Jane became a school teacher, and Daniel was a pharmacist, however, both worked in their respective fields for a short time before dedicating their full time and attention to the family business. Griffin's became a well-known and successful dry goods store and served as a landmark business on the square in Corydon. Only one of Patrick and Helen Porter Griffin's children, Maurice, had children of his own. He and his wife, Charlotte Rupp Griffin, had three sons, Henry, William Maurice, Jr. ("Tim"), and Frederick Porter Griffin. The youngest of these, Fred, became the last proprietor of the store. Upon its closing in 1983, Griffin's dry goods store was one of the oldest retail businesses in Corydon and had operated on the square for over 85 years.
The photos in this collection reflect the rich lives and history of the Griffin family, their long-standing reputation as Corydon merchants, and the notable architecture and significance of their historic home.
Marian University is a small academic institution in Indianapolis, Indiana. Though its status as University is still in its infancy, it has much history as a college when it was officially founded in 1937. The archives at Hackelmeier Memorial Library contain within its collection a wealth of information representing the growth of the institution, so it has been a priority of the library to find a way to both preserve and promote that content. One source of such content is a faculty-supervised, student run publication called The Phoenix (spanning the years 1937-1981).
Originally entitled Hamilton County in 1900: Through a Young Person's Lens, this collection includes the photographs of Earl Brooks (1883-1968), who acquired a camera as a young man and took pictures between approximately 1897 and 1904 of friends, teachers, the countryside and events in central Indiana, California, Kentucky and Ohio. Photographs of the Hamilton County Township Schools taken between 1892 and 1909 are also included. At the turn of the century, County School Superintendent Ellis A. Hutchens announced his wish to have a photograph taken of every Hamilton County school and here are 68 of those photographs. Also included is the Inter-State Directory Company's directory of Noblesville and Hamilton County Gazetteer for the years 1907-1908, a countywide residential and business directory. These projects were made possible by a joint project between the Hamilton County Historical Society and the Hamilton East Public Library.
The Hamilton East Public Library collection contains digitized materials that depict and preserve the history of Hamilton County in general and Noblesville, in particular. Our initial collection, the Noblesville Mayor Docket Books, record the early court cases heard by the mayors of Noblesville beginning in 1887 through 1950.
This collection contains a variety of items, documents, and images connected with the Harrison County Agricultural Society. A group of Harrison County residents interested in agricultural pursuits began to meet as early as 1839 and became known as the Harrison County Agricultural Society by 1851. The Society officially organized in January 1860 and elected officers, created a constitution and adopted bylaws. The group subsequently developed a fairgrounds in Corydon, Indiana, and held the first Harrison County Fair September 11-14, 1860. The Harrison County Fair has been held annually on this site since, making it the oldest continuous county fair in Indiana.
This collection features selections from the Frederick Porter Griffin Center's Harrison County Churches photograph collection. Photographs are of a variety of churches that have been built in Harrison County over the years. Construction dates of these buildings range from 1813 to 1974.
This collection of original Harrison County, Indiana election documents covers seventeen years of elections that date between 1833 and 1864 (a gap in the documents occurs from 1843-1855). These documents are official, handwritten, election records from each township in the county. Elections include local, state, and national ballots and range from voting for township constables and justices of the peace to county sheriffs and coroners, to state officers and legislators, governors, congressmen, and senators, as well as presidents and vice-presidents. Typically, there are three documents per township for each election. These are 1) a list of voters, which is a numbered list of the names of those who voted in the election; 2) a tally sheet that contains tally marks next to the names of each candidates; and 3) an official returns statement that lists confirmed results. For several larger elections there is also a "canvas sheet" that provides totals from across the county.
Polling sites were located in principal communities within each township such as Bradford, Buena Vista, Corydon, Elizabeth, Laconia, Lanesville, Mauckport, New Amsterdam, New Salisbury, and Springdale. In less populated areas, such as Blue River, Scott, and Spencer Townships, early elections took place at an individual's home, and later at a schoolhouse or other community building.
The information on these documents is all handwritten. Beginning with the 1856 set of records, printed forms and poll books were used to record the information. However, the information recorded on the forms continued to be written by hand. The collection of records is fairly complete for the years represented, with the exception of the 1864 records, which are rather scattered. Blank pages were not scanned for this project.
The collection is arranged by year, and then by township within each year. For each township, the records appear in chronological order. A concerted effort was made to transcribe these documents accurately and to reflect the text as it was written. Where the text was illegible or unclear it is marked with [?]. When searching for a name, keep in mind that handwriting and literacy varied considerably among individuals during the 19th century, and spelling was often inconsistent. It is recommended to search for a wide range of spellings with emphasis on phonetics. Also, first names were often abbreviated, such as Wm for William, Geo for George, Jas for James, etc.
This project was made possible by a Library Services Technology Act (LSTA) digitization grant awarded by the Indiana State Library and funded by the Institute for Museum and Library Services (IMLS).
Local citizens formed the Harrison County Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company in 1877 for the purpose of insuring one another against loss of property by fire. The corporation was developed on a mutual plan, with no money paid, aside from a nominal membership fee, until a policyholder suffered a loss. At this time each member paid the treasury a sum in proportion to the amount of their insurance in the company. The typical levy was 20 cents per every $100. The group focused solely on farm property and required policyholders to own a minimum of twenty acres. Mortgages could not be more than half of the property's appraised value. Numerous farmers from all over Harrison County showed interest in the company, which had issued over 240 policies by 1882. Founding officers were: J. Q. A. Sieg, Carter L. Little (Littell?), James Matthes, and C. S. Hudson.
Items in the collection include an early ledger of the Harrison County Mutual Fire Insurance Company that contains the corporation's original constitution, bylaws and meeting minutes, as well as lists of policyholders and their property assessments. In many instances, the subscribers' residence is identified by noting their local post office. Small towns and communities from across Harrison County are represented, including several, such as Sinks, Iris, and Convenience, that have since faded from existence. Records in the ledger cover the years 1877 through 1882, and also 1895 and 1896. The list of policyholders for 1896 is organized by surname in an index. For all other years, the names primarily appear in chronological order.
Please note that the years themselves do not appear in the ledger in chronological order, or necessarily together. For example, 1895 and 1896 records appear in the book before those of 1877-1880. Records from 1881 and 1882 can be found in various places within the book. Additionally, some pages of the book are missing, and several of the 1896 records are on pages that were added to the book. Thus, there are some duplications and inconsistencies in page numbers. The book also contains a number of blank pages, and these were not scanned as part of this project.
Also of note, amidst the insurance company's records, are the testimonies of two witnesses in a pension claim of Civil War veteran John H. Cunningham. The testimonies, provided by Josiah H. Littell and Hugh L. Blair, relay a synopsis of Cunningham's experience in Murfreesboro, Tennessee and Mobile, Alabama. Peter Kannapple filed the claim in July 1882. It is unclear why this information was recorded in this ledger, other than Josiah H. Littell was a founding member of the Harrison County Mutual Fire Insurance Company. Perhaps he simply used the company's stationary.
In addition to the ledger, the collection also contains a company policy form and pamphlet as well as a personal receipt for an installment payment. The policy form reveals the types of property covered, and the pamphlet publishes the corporation's constitution and bylaws. The collection also contains an 1896 postcard from the company that notifies a subscriber of a fire that destroyed the home of a fellow policyholder, and informs him what his portion of the cost will be.
This collection of farm related photographs contains a variety of images reflecting farming practices and life in Harrison County, Indiana during the early 20th century. They include images of livestock, crops, and farmers plowing and threshing in their fields. Photos of individual farmsteads, including some aerial photographs, are also part of the collection. The majority of these images date to the 1940s and 50s and are those of Corydon photographer Albert Wallace with many of them appearing in the local newspaper.
This is a collection of photographs of various fires and floods that have occurred in Harrison County, Indiana, primarily in the town of Corydon, that date from the early 1900s to 1975. Images of the great 1937 flood also include photos of Mauckport, New Amsterdam, and New Boston in Harrison County as well as a few images of downtown New Albany, Indiana in Floyd County. The collection also contains several group photos of the Corydon Volunteer Fire Department in the 1930s, 1940s, and 1950s.
This photograph collection contains a wide variety of images that date from the late nineteenth century through the mid-1960s. They feature groups of two or more people, most of whom have been identified. They include candid photos of gatherings and events in Harrison County, Indiana, and many formal portraits of children and families as well as special occasions such as wedding anniversaries. The photographer of many of the images was Albert Wallace (1909-2002), who was a photographer in Corydon, Indiana for over fifty years and contributed numerous photos to the local newspapers.
This photograph collection contains a wide variety of images that date from the late nineteenth to the mid-twentieth century and feature groups of two or more people, most of whom have been identified. The images are primarily formal portraits or posed groups in a specific setting. They feature several prominent early families of Corydon and Harrison County, including the Slemmons, Stockslager, Keller, Kintner and Lemmon families.
This register is one of the earliest original library documents of Harrison County, Indiana. It records the names of citizens who borrowed books, the titles of the works loaned out, and the dates of the loan and return. It begins in late 1839 and continues with entries through the late 1860s and into the mid-1870s. During this period residents subscribed to the library for a certain length of time, or by paying a small amount with each loan. The names of many local residents appear frequently throughout the register and include several females. The list of works loaned to them range from books on travel, science, and nature to history and politics and popular novels of the period and provides a unique insight into the interests of several early Harrison County citizens.
The primary item in this collection is a register of persons taken into the Harrison County Jail in Corydon, Indiana from January 1912 through December 1940. In most cases, the record includes individual prisoner names, sex, age, race residence, birthplace, dates admitted and released, and any sentences or fees incurred. It also provides why the person is being confined, how many days he or she was held, and the cost of board. The authority responsible for the person's admittance and release is also listed. This is often a local Justice of the Peace, whose name is usually given, or the authority is a decision by the Circuit Court, a judge, or, occasionally, the State Police.
Charges against the individuals range from minor infractions such as public intoxication or disturbing the peace, to much more serious crimes such as rape and murder. The register covers the Prohibition years, and during this period there are many entries associated with the illegal manufacture, transport, or possession of alcohol. Not all individuals taken in were accused of a crime. Some were held briefly for investigation, suspicion, or protection. Insanity is often listed as a reason for confinement, and these persons were typically transferred to a state mental facility. At times, orphaned children were held temporarily.
The sentences of convicted prisoners varied according to the associated crime. For minor offenses, individuals typically stayed in the county jail, or, if they had the means, could be released on bond. More criminal activity typically resulted in a sentence at a state-run facility such as the Indiana State Prison in Michigan City, Indiana, the Indiana State Reformatory in Pendleton, or the Indiana State Farm in Putnamville. The latter of these was a minimum security work prison established in 1915. Correctional institutions for adolescents included the Indiana Boys School in Plainfield and the Indiana Girls School in Indianapolis. Additionally, adolescents could be sent to White’s Manual Labor Institute in Wabash County, Indiana. Individuals perceived as having mental disabilities were often sent to Madison State Hospital in Madison, Indiana (established 1910), or in some cases to the Indiana School for Feeble Minded Youth in the Fort Wayne area, which despite its name also housed adults. It was later renamed the Fort Wayne State Hospital.
The remaining items in the collection include a 1940 Indiana State Police traffic bulletin, a postcard notifying the Harrison County Sheriff of a stolen vehicle, a document detailing state reimbursements for prisoners’ meals, and an announcement for a sheriffs’ conference. There is also an image of Asa Harbaugh, who served as Harrison County Sheriff from 1934 to 1938.
A wealth of information about early nineteenth century Harrison County residents can be gleaned from this Harrison County, Indiana probate book, which dates from 1829 through 1847. The book records the name of the deceased, whether the individual died intestate or had a will, and identifies the names of executors and administrators, individuals charged with managing and settling the deceased's estate. (The tasks of executors and administrators are the same, they differ only in how they arrive at their position. Executors are named by the deceased in his or her will. If the deceased does not leave a will, the Court then appoints an administrator.) Individuals in either of these positions were sometimes attorneys, but were often family members, trusted friends, or even neighbors.
This record book also identifies guardians of the deceased's surviving minor children. Guardians were chosen to oversee the care and finances of the children and were not necessarily family members. Having a guardian appointed does not mean that the children did not have a surviving parent. Women of the period had very limited legal standing, so widows and mothers were often bypassed as male guardians were appointed to control the finances of younger heirs. Widows' names are mentioned occasionally in this record, but are often absent. However, the book does list the names of the children for whom a guardian has been appointed. This can be quite helpful for anyone trying to establish a genealogical connection. Keep in mind that not all siblings necessarily were assigned to the same guardian, especially if the deceased had many children. Also, do not be confused by the use of the term "infant," which was used to describe minor children of any age and should not be interpreted as "baby."
Administrators, executors and guardians were required to sign oaths, letters, and/or bonds that held them accountable for the duties entrusted to them. This record book notes the amount of the bonds required and the person or persons who served as financial security. Bonds in this period ranged widely from around one hundred dollars up to several thousand dollars. The amount of the bond typically is reflective of the size and worth of the deceased's estate, and thus can be a clue to the lifestyle and status of the deceased. Additional information in this record book includes information on legal suits involving estate settlement and the parties involved. The sale and division of property is a common issue noted.
This record book is a register of commissions granted to individuals to hold public county government offices in Harrison County, Indiana. The register includes the years 1834 through 1853 and lists the names of individuals selected, the office for which they will be responsible, the dates of commission and qualifying, and when the term of office will expire. Amounts of bonds and names of the individuals securing the bonds are provided. Also, notes are made regarding resignations and the filling of vacancies. The majority of the commissions listed are for constables and justices of the peace in the county's various townships. Other offices recorded are sheriff, coroner, county clerk, recorder, auditor, treasurer, and district attorney. Various judges and notary publics are also listed.
The Harrison County School Collection consists of documents and images related to public schools in the county throughout their history. It reflects the evolution of education in Harrison County from the emergence of numerous rural one-room schoolhouses in the nineteenth century through the development of secondary schools and the rise of the modern high school system. Includes commencement programs and photographs.
This collection contains local government records of Harrison Township, Harrison County, Indiana. Harrison Township is centrally located in the county and contains the town of Corydon, the county seat.
Harry A. Davis, Jr. (1914-2006), born in Hillsboro, Indiana, matriculated at Herron in 1933 and earned a B.F.A. in 1938. That year he won the Prix de Rome in painting, allowing him to study and paint in Europe and North Africa 1938-1940. He was artist-in-residence at Beloit College 1941-1942, and then enlisted in the U.S. Army and served as a combat artist in Italy during World War Two. After the war he joined the faculty of Herron. He married Herron alumna Lois Peterson in 1948. He retired from the faculty in 1983.
This is a diary kept by Harry C. Ripperdan, a farmer in Washington Township, Harrison County, Indiana, during the early 1910s. Ripperdan wrote his entries on the unused pages of an old court docket book and recorded the events of his life and the surrounding community on a daily basis. This volume begins in November 1910 and continues through October 1915. Ripperdan never fails to make an entry for each day during this five-year period, and his writings provide a rare snapshot of life in this rural Harrison County community during the early 20th century.
Harry Clay Ripperdan lived in the Valley City area of Washington Township near the small town of New Amsterdam. Born in 1878, he married Ella Sonner, also a native of the area, in 1905. Together they farmed, raised a family, and lived among a rich network of family and friends. Ripperdan's diary covers details of their life and work on the farm, as well as community social events and gatherings, and the joys, laughter, and heartaches of daily living. Neighbors, friends, and relatives feature prominently throughout the diary. Surnames mentioned frequently include Dooley, Watson, Miller, Trotter, Windell, Fowler, Thompson, Shireman, Hays, Mauck, Hardsaw, and Reed. These names appear often as those who work alongside Ripperdan as he describes working in his fields, harvesting his crops, and caring for his animals. He recounts trips to Corydon to take grain to local mills, buy supplies, or attend the county fair. Ripperdan also records births, marriages, and deaths of local residents, and notes times when people move in or out of the local area, or when others visit.
Events such as taffy pulls, school reunions, church suppers, and ice cream socials appear as important social gatherings and include many members of the community. Likewise, were occasions that combined work and social time such as hog butchering or making molasses and apple butter. Hunting and fishing were common group or individual activities that also provided enjoyment as well as food for the table. Dogs played an important role in hunting and are mentioned frequently. Croquet and baseball are the more predominant leisure entertainments that Ripperdan describes. Baseball especially appears as a favorite pastime with games occurring nearly every weekend in all kinds of weather. Ripperdan notes the teams who played, which include a team of African American players from Brandenburg, Kentucky, and provides the final scores of the games.
Ripperdan typically ends each daily entry with a comment on the weather, which played a crucial role in his farming livelihood and often determined his daily activities. Rain, snow, sleet, frost, wind, and temperature ranges are noted and specific details are given as to amounts and time of day they occurred. Severe storms and floods and any damage they caused are mentioned. Ripperdan reserved the last few pages of the book for accounting purposes. On these pages he tracks important transactions, sales, trades, and expenses of his farm.
Harry C. Ripperdan died in 1925 at the age of forty-seven. Undoubtedly, he kept this diary for his own reflection and benefit, and likely never imagined its use or benefit beyond his own interests. However, its rich detail and wealth of information about farm life and the Washington Township area serve as a gift to present and future generations that allows us, for a moment, to step back in time.
In the fall of 1953, Wood High School opened in the refurbished school buildings vacated when Emmerich Manual High School moved to its new site on the south side of Indianapolis. Wood was designed as a new vocational training high school with its primary focus on academics and the specific goal of providing secondary-level vocational education to its students. The school closed in 1978. Wood was named for Harry E. Wood, a graduate of Manual High School, who became a renowned artist and craftsman as well as an educator and administrator at Manual.
Images and personal papers of Harvey Grounds relating to coal mining in Sullivan County, Indiana.
The Health Care in Harrison County Collection is a collection of photographs of people and events associated with health care in Harrison County, Indiana. The collection contains photos of some of the physicians and dentists who practiced in the county during the early 20th century. The collection also contains images of health related events such as immunization clinics at local schools and blood drives. There are also a few photographs connected with the opening of Harrison County Hospital in 1950.
Heartland Film is a nonprofit arts organization founded in 1991 with the mission to inspire filmmakers and audiences through the transformative power of film. In this collection you can explore 25 years of Heartland Film from Film Festival Guidebooks to annual reports.
Helen Gougar was a national figure in the late nineteenth century, lecturing across the country on temperance and suffrage and she practiced law in the state of Indiana. She sued the Tippecanoe County election board for its refusal to allow her to vote in the 1894 election. Gougar went on to argue her own case before the Indiana Supreme Court. This collection contains the court argument in that lawsuit.
The Hendricks County Historical Museum collection is a searchable collection of images, postcards, and documents dedicated to preserving the history and culture of Hendricks County, Indiana. We invite users to explore these items and join us in our efforts to identify people, places, and events important to our past. This digital collection and its images constitute only a fraction of the physical collection available at the Hendricks County Museum, and it will continue to grow as more images are added.
This collection consists of glass plates and photographs related to Carthage, Rush County, Indiana and the Herbert O. Henley family and their friends and neighbors. Also included are images of buildings, farms, mills, stores, bridges, the Main Street of Carthage, and the train depot.
Herman List was a cook at the National Surgical Institute in Indianapolis in the late 1890s. Photography was his hobby, and he took pictures of staff and patients at the Institute as well as pictures of his family at home.
The Herron Library's notable Fine Press / Book Arts collection of works created by distinguished book artists across the globe, such as Ron King, Julie Chen, Rebecca Goodale, Bea Nettles, as well as many other acclaimed artists plays a valuable role to influence the Herron School of Art and Design book arts students' creative work during their academic career. The students' creative journey into the book arts comes full circle for the students with their Book Arts Capstone Exhibition Experience exhibit held at the Herron Art Library during the their final semester.
The Herron Library's notable Fine Press / Book Arts collection of works created by distinguished book artists across the globe, such as Ron King, Julie Chen, Rebecca Goodale, Bea Nettles, as well as many other acclaimed artists plays a valuable role to influence the Herron School of Art and Design book arts students' creative work during their academic career. The students' creative journey into the book arts comes full circle for the students with their Book Arts Capstone Exhibition Experience exhibit held at the Herron Art Library during the their final semester.
This collection holds images of graduate student work at the IUPUI Herron School of Art and Design, Indianapolis, IN.
This collection holds newsletters from the IUPUI Herron School of Art and Design, Indianapolis, IN.
University of Notre Dame Hesburgh Library holdings related to early missionary activities within Indiana and the Midwest. Funded by a Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA) grant. This collection of monographs brings to light the settling of Indiana when Indiana was the western frontier, migration patterns in Indiana, and the history of settlements. These works provide evidence of the multi-cultural influence in early Indiana, of French from Canada, via riverways of Kentucky, Detroit, and French and Geman from the East (Ohio, Pennsylvania).
This is a collection of Justice of the Peace docket books for Heth Township, Harrison County, Indiana, that date from 1887 through the early twentieth century. The dockets contain entries of court cases that were brought before local justices of the peace by township residents. The cases reflect the daily lives and conflicts of residents throughout the period and include charges of unpaid debts, provocation, assault and battery, bastardy, property conflicts, public intoxication, profanity, trespassing, and other offenses. The records include names of plaintiffs and defendants, as well as those of witnesses, constables, and attorneys. Some family relationships can be gleaned from the entries.
A. Some pages in the docket books are missing. Also, indexes are not complete. There are several cases that appear in the dockets and are not recorded in the index. Likewise, there are some entries recorded in the index that are not found on the specified page nor do they appear elsewhere in the book. It is best to search for a surname using the search box.
B. These documents have not been fully transcribed. However, names of all individuals as well as the date of the case and the charges involved have been transcribed for each case and page so researchers can search the record for specific individuals or crimes.
The Highland-Kessler Civic League (HKCL) is a volunteer neighborhood association that provides a forum for residents to discuss and act on community issues, plan and conduct community programs, and keep residents informed on matters of interest to the community. The digital collection spans nearly 40 years, and includes the League's newsletters, board minutes, board rosters and event notices.
This online collection features a number of these noteworthy and remarkable items from the Rare Books and Manuscripts Division of the Indiana State Library, such as a letter from Helen Keller, ancient Sumerian and Babylonian cuneiform tablets (circa 2800-544 B.C.E.), and a piece of ivy taken from President Abraham Lincoln's casket.
Collection of historical aerial photographs from around Indiana. Browsable by county.
The Historical Whitley County collection is a joint effort of the Peabody Public Library and the Whitley County Historical Museum . These collections will be continually expanded and updated. Within this collection you may also link to oral histories of Whitley County, Veterans' History Project interviews, cemetery listings, First Families of Whitley County Indiana, the Library's Obituary Database , Whitley County Military Database, Whitley County Historical Society Bulletin Index and many photographs and documents concerning the Library and Whitley County. We hope that you will visit often.
This collection consists of measured drawings of Indiana historic sites and structures, many of them in the format prescribed by the U.S. National Park Service for the Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER). Survey teams organized and sponsored by HABS and HAER prepared the earliest drawings in the collection: twenty-eight sets dating between 1934 and 1970. Most of the drawings, however, date from 1970 to 2000, and were made by undergraduate architecture students at Ball State University as part of a required course where students learned American architectural styles, architectural terminology, and how to visually document historic structures. Buildings and bridges were meticulously measured, documented, and drawn according to scale. Many drawings often include historical analysis and a site plan. The students followed HABS standards, but the class was not officially affiliated with the national program.
The Historic Children's Books digital collection includes monographs published during the 19th and 20th centuries for youth. The books feature songs, rhymes, games, fairy tales, histories, and morality tales for children.
The resources in this collection are historical atlases of various Indiana counties including Hamilton, Henry, Madison and Putnam. These books not only provide maps of Hoosier areas dating from 1875 to 1901, but also provide rich historical details of the central Indiana region. Within this collection there are narrative histories, biographical information about Indiana pioneers, detailed illustrations of people and places, statistical tables, and much more. Historians and hobbyists alike should find this collection both information rich and entertaining.
This project was made possible by collaboration with The Indiana State Library, Indianapolis Public Library, and Connor Prairie.
Maps are often beautiful illustrations of our history, the human-environmental interaction, and natural features of our state and its communities. Maps record settlement patterns, political boundaries, transportation routes, and land ownership. Maps contain invaluable information for historians, genealogists, and citizens.
The resources in this collection are historical maps of Indiana, its counties and cities, from the collections at Indiana University. Efforts were made to represent various areas of our state, but selection was based on G. K. Hall and Co.'s Checklist of Printed Maps of the Middle West to 1900 Volume 3 covering the state of Indiana. The Checklist was a cooperative project involving several institutions. Its purpose was to identify and catalog cartographic materials published prior to 1900. The collection attempts to not duplicate other digital projects, such as the Library of Congress' American Memory Project or the David Rumsey Map Collection projects. Additional maps will be added to the collection as we develop partnerships with libraries around the state.
The collection was digitized by IUPUI University Library according to the standards recommended by the Indiana Digital Library Summit, with funds provided through the Indiana State Library's LSTA mini-grant program for development of the Indiana Digital Library. Most of the maps were made available for digitization from Map Collections at Indiana University Bloomington.
The Plat Books of Indiana Counties are historic guides to the communities of Indiana, showing townships, roads and section numbers. These geographic resources were originally created by Sidwell Studio and W. W. Hixson & Co. between approximately 1925 and 1941. The original books are owned by, and scanned in collaboration with, the Indiana State Library through a grant from the Library Fund of Indianapolis Foundation, an affiliate of the Central Indiana Community Foundation. If you have questions regarding the content of this collection please contact the Indiana State Library at 317-232-3675.
Known Dating Issues
Only approximate dates are available as the publisher neglected to date the publication. Approximate dates have been surmised by Indiana State Library staff members, considering other dated maps and atlases from the time period.
This collection contains photographs and video documentaries produced as part of an immersive learning project involving Ball State University students in partnership with various Muncie community organizations and led by Department of Telecommunications faculty member Chris Flook. The project was dedicated to documenting Muncie’s historic buildings and neighborhoods and to serving as a research and educational resource for those interested in the architectural history of the city of Muncie. Among over 400 photographs, the collection has five documentaries providing information about the history of Beech Grove Cemetery, the historic Riverside and Westwood Neighborhoods, the Minnetrista Cultural Center & the historic Ball Family homes, and about one of the few remaining houses in Muncie designed and built by trade students. There are also two longer documentaries about property rehabilitation and historic preservation efforts in the Old West End Historic District and Muncie’s other historic districts. The collection also includes photographs from the Midwest Restoration Festival hosted in 2012 to generate interest in restoring historic homes in Muncie.
These images consist primarily of photographs donated to the library from various sources, including private collections and the Fort Wayne newspapers. Although there are photographs from all over Indiana, most have a Fort Wayne or Allen County emphasis. There are some photos from the 1880s and 1890s, but most date from the early 1900s to the 1970s.
The Historic Textbooks collection provides online access to over 200 digitized historic textbooks originally published in the 19th and early 20th century. The collection provides access to English-language textbooks published in the United States and England and includes readers, songbooks, and textbooks on the subjects of history, grammar, spelling, arithmetic, geography, and other sciences. The textbooks' target audiences range from elementary school students to high school students.
The History Center Digital Collections offers unparalleled access to many of the thousands of photos, documents, maps, manuscripts, and other valuable historical materials owned by the History Center in Fort Wayne, Indiana. The digital collections, selected to augment and reinforce History Center educational programs, are being developed through a partnership between the Helmke Library at Indiana University-Purdue University Fort Wayne and the History Center.
The Indiana University School of Medicine (IUSM) was founded in 1903, and its first students were enrolled on the Bloomington campus.
Following the union of all medical schools in the state with Indiana University in 1908, the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, in 1909, mandated that Indiana University assume the responsibility for medical education in the state. Initially, students had the opportunity of taking the first two years of their medical school work at either Bloomington or Indianapolis. In 1912 all students entered through the Bloomington program and moved to Indianapolis for their second-, third-, and fourth-year courses. This remained in effect until 1958, when the work of the Bloomington division was transferred to Indianapolis.
The Indiana University Medical Center (IUMC) campus covers some 85 acres within one mile of the center of Indianapolis. The IUMC campus is part of the larger campus created by Indiana University and Purdue University at Indianapolis (IUPUI), which offers IU and Purdue undergraduate and graduate degree programs.
Hoosier History Live is a weekly radio show on Indiana history developed by Nelson Price and Molly Head and is independently produced along with a consortium of Central Indiana journalists, historians, event planners, marketers, and web and audio artists/technicians.
This collection contains resources related to LGBT Hoosiers and their contributions in the areas of civil rights, community organizations, and daily life.
This collection contains digitized newspaper titles from across Indiana and accessible through the online resource, Hoosier State Chronicles.
This collection is part of the John Martin Smith collection, digitized by the Eckhart Public Library, Willenar Genealogy Center, Auburn, Indiana.
The Hovey Letters Collection consists of nearly 400 letters written between 1822 and 1876 that document the life of Edmund O. Hovey as student, Presbyterian minister, and educator. They also provide accounts of events in the early history of Wabash College, pioneer life in frontier Indiana, Presbyterian thought and missionary activity, the personal concerns of early 19th century Americans, and the Hovey family history.
The Hovey Scrapbook is a collection of ephemera related to the earliest decades of Wabash College. It was assembled by Edmund O. Hovey, a founder and the first professor of sciences at Wabash, and consists of letters, memoranda, annual catalogues, programs of College events, and newspaper clippings covering the period from 1832 to 1876.
This collection is a partnership between the Kokomo-Howard County Public Library and The Howard County Historical Society. Howard County has a rich history of community military involvement in the Civil War. Regiments were raised, patriotism was high and the community rallied around the boys. Several prominent members of the community stepped up to raise the requested number of enlistments. Records show that in the 16-35 age range, Howard County led the state in percentage of recruits to the general population. These officers and enlisted men left proof of their experiences in the form of enlistment records, pension records, muster rolls, letters, etc.
This collection was created in part with funding from a grant from the Indiana State Library made possible by the Library Services and Technology Act and administered by the Institute for Museum and Library Services.
This collection is the result of a collaborative project with the Greentown Historical Society to digitize local newspapers in Howard County, Indiana. Included here are 25 issues of the Greentown Gem dating from 1898 to 1935 and 242 issues of the Greentown Grapevine dating from 1995 to 2007.
This collection of digitized materials currently comprises historical photographs of the city and county of Huntington, Indiana. It is continually being expanded, and consists of materials in the Indiana Room at the Huntington City-Township Public Library. In addition to the other historic photographs, there is a collection of photographs by William Hubbell of the cinty of Huntington and Huntington county that were commissioned by the Huntington City-Township Public Library in 1911.
The Illuminated Manuscripts digital collection provides online access to 15 leaves from several liturgical manuscripts ranging from the 12th to the 15th century.
Illuminated manuscripts are hand-written, original works of art on parchment or vellum. They include the incorporation of gold and silver leaf gilding, as well as a very rich palette of colors, including ultramarine and vermilion. Most illuminated manuscripts are liturgical and were created in monasteries during the Middle Ages. The illuminated manuscript pages within this digital collection come from several texts including the Book of Hours, the Koran, choir books, and Latin bibles. These leaves are a prime example of fine craftsmanship and artistic brilliance.
The Sidney and Rosalyn Wiener Collection is housed at the Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art in Indianapolis, Indiana. It was donated by the Wiener family and partially exhibited in 2007, under the title "Illustrators of the Golden West." The collection consists of ninety-one paintings and drawings by nineteen important western illustrators plus 968 books, Western pulp fiction magazines, and catalogs, published between 1890 and 1998, in which their illustrations were reproduced. The book collection consists mostly of Western American novels, published between 1890 and 1987, with some classic novels as well. As Sid Wiener said, "Our collection is all about the West of the Imagination." The book collection is non-circulating but available for researchers at the Museum upon appointment. Inquiries about the collection of original drawings and paintings can be directed to: [email protected].
Please note: Inclusion in this digitized sample does not in any way guarantee that any of the works are not subject to copyright laws. Any use beyond this virtual exhibition is at your own risk.
The Indiana Album is a collection of digital images about Indiana scanned from individual collections from throughout the country. Indiana Album is a non-profit organization created to help preserve and make accessible images not in cultural heritage organizations.
The Indiana Apostolic Trumpet collection provides free online access to over 250 digitized issues of the Indiana Apostolic Trumpet published in Warsaw, Indiana by the Indiana District of the United Pentecostal Church International. The collection includes digitized archival editions of the publication ranging in date from 1972 to 2012.
The publications include articles and information regarding church events, church teachings, and the church's congregation. A collection of archival print editions of the Indiana Apostolic Trumpet is also available at Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
This online collection of Indiana Architectural Drawings represents a diverse selection of original architectural drawings and landscape plans of sites and structures throughout Indiana. Each set of drawings was individually donated, often by home or building owners, unlike our practitioner collections that were typically given when an architect closed their office and donated their entire office of drawings.
The numerous collections contained within this broad selection typically consist of small, one project sets of plans and reflect the work of many different architects and landscape architects. In some cases, such as the Daniel Burnham train depot in Richmond or the Eliel Saarinen and Dan Kiley college campus in Fort Wayne, the architects and landscape architects were nationally recognized and brought to Indiana for specific jobs.
Our Indiana Architecture X 3D initiative brings historic architecture to life using contemporary 3D model and print technology that you can download to your computer or print on a 3D printer. It enables anyone to research and discover designs from long-lost buildings that once graced Indiana environs.
The project launches with the Wysor Grand Opera House built by Henry W. Matson for Jacob H. Wysor in 1891. This Romanesque Revival opera house typified the exuberance and style of Muncie’s gas-boom era. Converted to a movie theater in the early 20th century, the building remained a theater until it was razed in 1967. Until now, photographs and the architect’s original drawings were the only methods researchers had to explore the ornate façade or intricate ironwork of the interior. Using the original ink on linen drawings, we have modeled significant details and the entire building using cutting-edge 3D modeling software and printed them on Ball State University’s 3D printer.
Two different file types are available for download. To print the object on a 3D printer, download the 3D print-ready file which will open in Rhino. An object file is also available for those who want to look at the file in Photoshop.
The Indiana Archives and Records Administration assists State and local governments in the cost-effective, efficient and secure management of governmental records, by providing services throughout the life cycle of records, including creation, use, records inventory and scheduling, storage, and disposition.
This collection contains documentation from exhibitions of artists who lived and/or exhibited in Indiana. The collection includes exhibition checklists, exhibition catalogs, and other related exhibition ephemera held by the Herron Art Library, the Indiana University Fine Arts Library, the Indiana State Library, The Indiana Historical Society, the Indianapolis Museum of Art, and the Frick. The Herron Library is grateful to these institutions who made this collection possible through loan of their materials. The exhibition venues include John Herron Art Institute, The Art Association of Indianapolis, the Hoosier Salon, and the T.C. Steele Home. This online collection is a very useful place for finding information on artists, artists' works, and artists' exhibitions held in Indianapolis, 1907-1908 and forward.
The Indiana ArtsDesk Radio Archive digital collection includes broadcasts from Indiana ArtsDesk, a weekly program dedicated to fostering awareness, appreciation, and participation in the arts in East Central Indiana and throughout the Indiana Public Radio listening area.
Indiana Authors and Their Books is an LSTA–funded project based on the digitization and encoding of the 3–volume reference work, Indiana Authors and Their Books, published by Wabash College in 1949, 1974, and 1981. The encyclopedia covers nearly two hundred years of Indiana's literary history (1816–1980), and contains approximately 7,000 author entries. Each of the author entries, in turn, contains a bibliography collectively referencing close to 21,000 citations.
The Indiana Historical State Agency Documents is a special collection of historical state agency publications. For the purposes of this collection, our definition of "state agency" includes departments, boards, bureaus, commissions, councils, and committees that carry out various functions of the Executive Branch of Indiana state government.
This collection documents the limestone industry of Monroe County, Indiana. The core collection, from the Monroe County History Center, includes various photographs, letters, newspaper clippings, business records and other ephemera relating to the Matthews Brothers Stone Company, a limestone quarry which operated out of Ellettsville, Indiana from 1862 to 1978.
This collection from the Indiana State Archives contains documents relating to Indiana's early settlement before statehood. Included are official documents relating to military and court records.
The Indiana Bridge Company digital collection contains records of the Indiana Bridge Company including drawings, photographs, and documents from 1886 to 1981. Headquartered in Muncie, Indiana, the Indiana Bridge Company built thousands of steel structures throughout the state and around the country. The earliest contracts were for bridges, trestles and bridge abutments, but the company soon expanded to other types of engineering structures and provided structural steel for buildings. The drawings in this collection are stock plans, engineering tables, patterns and standards for bridges and other steel structures. Also included are photographs of construction projects, facilities, and employees, as well as agreements between the company and the United Steelworkers of America Local Union No. 3124.
The Granville C. Thompson Photographs of Bridge Construction Projects in Indiana documents 41 bridge projects within Indiana that occurred during the first half of the 20th Century. Thompson was an Indiana State Highway Commission draftsman and engineer involved with each project.
The Indiana Code contains the codified statutes of Indiana. This project aims to digitize all extant volumes of the Indiana Code for open access use. It is a joint effort of Indiana University’s two law libraries: the Ruth Lilly Law Library of the Robert H. McKinney School of Law in Indianapolis, where the project began, and the Jerome Hall Law Library of the Michael S. Maurer School of Law in Bloomington, along with IUPUI’s Center for Digital Scholarship. The project’s current focus is on digitizing all titles (Title 1 through Title 36) from 1971 to present. The collection will continue to grow as more material is scanned and added.
This collection includes documentary editions of prominent citizens of Indiana, including the early governors, published by the Indiana Historical Commission. Includes the papers of John Tipton, William Henry Harrison, and early accounts of life in Indiana.
Indiana Entertainment Foundation is an Indiana 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that preserves, archives, researches, promotes and displays important artifacts and narratives featuring Hoosiers' work in music, film, broadcasting and related fields. Its mission is also to honor those individuals and businesses who were involved.
On April 9, 1907 the Governor of Indiana signed into law a bill passed by the state legislature that provided for the involuntary sterilization of "confirmed criminals, idiots, imbeciles and rapists." Although it was eventually found to be unconstitutional, this law is widely regarded as the first eugenics sterilization legislation passed in the world. In 1927, a revised law was implemented and before it was repealed in 1974, over 2,300 of the State's most vulnerable citizens were involuntarily sterilized. In addition, Indiana established a state-funded Committee on Mental Defectives that carried out eugenic family studies in over twenty counties and was home to an active "better babies" movement that encouraged scientific motherhood and infant hygiene as routes to human improvement.
Documents on the history of eugenics in Indiana have been digitized and made available for subsequent scholarship through this digital collection.
The Indiana Farmer was a monthly publication detailing news and events about and for Indiana's farming community. The Farmer gives a rare view of rural Hoosier life from 1851 to 1917. It includes the mechanization of Hoosier agriculture, the founding of Purdue University and the first Indiana State Fair.
This collection provides background information and educational resources for students and teachers interested in using the FSA photographs in Indiana. The Farm Security Administration was a New Deal agency established in 1937. It originally started as the Resettlement Administration in 1935 and later became the Office of War Information. The photographs cover a timeline from 1935 to 1945. Its goal was to rescue the chronic rural poor and farmers during the Great Depression of the 1930s. The FSA had four main tasks: resettlement, rehabilitation, technical assistance, and land utilization.
This collection contains the published records of the Indiana General Assembly from 1817 to 1900. Included are the Brevier Legislative Reports, the Documentary Journals, the Senate Journals, and the House Journals. These publications document the debates and proceedings of both houses of the legislative branch, messages from the Governor, and reports from the various state agencies.
This collection traces the development of regulated high school athletics in the state of Indiana. Included in this collection are the Indiana High School Athletic Association Yearbooks, Handbooks and Report of the Board of Control from its beginning in 1904 to present-day. These publications contain state tournament results in various sports, school participation records, images of student athletes and athletic fields, minutes from Board mettings and reports on rule violations and conflict mediation. These images are made available with the permission of the Indiana High School Athletic Association, Inc.
This collection contains published volumes on Indiana history in general and individual county histories published before 1922. These histories provide insight into the early history of the state and biographical information about early residents.
This collection contains published volumes on Indiana history in general and individual county histories published before 1922. These histories provide insight into the early history of the state and biographical information about early residents.
Since the founding of Indiana Landmarks in 1960, photographic images have played a key role in the organization's promotion of historic preservation. Nothing provides more oohs and ahhs or inspiration than a set of dramatic before-and-after images. These images have formed the basis for educational programs and illustrated the foundation's magazine, the Indiana Preservationist, for decades.
A Library Services Technology Grant allowed IUPUI to begin digitization of Indiana Landmarks' slide collection, now making it available to the public. The collection contains images from the early 1960s through present day and captures historic architecture throughout the state. Educators will find the collection useful in documenting architectural styles and Indiana history. Old house enthusiasts will find ideas for paint colors, restoration techniques, and inspiration.
The visual image collection of Indiana Landmarks is only one component of the organization's library and information center. For more information on the library, click here.
Indiana Landmarks, the largest statewide preservation group in the U.S., saves, restores, and protects places of architectural and historical significance. From its ten offices, Indiana Landmarks leads and assists others in rescuing endangered landmarks and preserving buildings and districts. Indiana Landmarks is a private, not-for-profit organization. For more information, call Indiana Landmarks, 317-639-4534/800-450-4534 or visit www.indianalandmarks.org.
The Indiana Historic Atlases digital collection features 18 historic atlases and 404 individual maps of Indiana dating from 1874-1921, including Delaware County, Parke County, and St. Joseph County. Included are the complete atlases and the individual maps from each Atlas. These maps are a valuable resource for those interested in the growth of Indiana and individual counties in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
The atlases are from the GIS Research and Map Collection (GRMC). To see the record for each item in the University Libraries' online catalog, click on the 'Link to Library Catalog Record.'
Every year since 1978 Indiana Landmarks has surveyed from two to four counties, looking for architecturally and historically significant structures and districts. Indiana Landmarks undertakes this federally mandated program through matching grants from Indiana's Division of Historic Preservation and Archaeology (DHPA). To date, Indiana Landmarks has surveyed 72 of Indiana's 92 counties.
The Indiana History Bulletin is a publication of the Indiana Historical Commission reporting on activities that promote state and local history.
The Indiana Jewish Historical Society collection includes digitized collections from the Indianapolis Jewish Community Center, Temple Beth El in Munster, Indiana, The Jewish Federation of Northwest Indiana, The United Hebrew Congregation of Terre Haute, Indiana, and Temple Israel in West Lafayette, Indiana. The Collection also contains a glimpse into Jewish family life in places such as East Chicago, Whiting, Hammond, Muncie, and Gary, Indiana, in the 20th Century.
This index contains citations for Indiana buildings listed in American Architect & Building News from 1876-1897. It was compiled by volunteers of Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana (now Indiana Landmarks) circa 1983.
This collection contains images of the Indianapolis Central Canal held at Indiana Landmarks and the IUPUI University Library Special Collections and Archives.
Roll McLaughlin served as a leader in the national historic preservation movement and helped establish Indiana Landmarks (then called Historic Landmarks Foundation of Indiana) in the late 1950s.
In 1953, Roll found his architectural career home at James & Associates. He served on the board of the Historic American Building Survey, led a national historic preservation committee of the American Institute of Architects, and assisted the National Trust for Historic Preservation as a board trustee and advisor.
Roll and his wife Linda worked with Eli Lilly to restore and furnish the Morris-Butler House in Indianapolis which became the first headquarters of Indiana Landmarks. He remained committed to the organization chairing the board, designing and managing restoration projects, consulting on endangered sites, giving talks across the state, and creating and maintaining valuable relationships. Roll passed away in 2017 leaving a brilliant legacy and a valuable collection documenting the historic preservation movement in Indiana. His son Mac donated his father's image and book library to Indiana Landmarks. This collection demonstrates Roll's work preserving Indiana's historic architecture.
Wilbur Peat served as director of the John Herron Art Museum in Indianapolis from 1929-1965. During that time he authored Indiana Houses of the Nineteenth Century, a seminal work on residential architectural styles. Indiana Landmarks holds much of Peat's architectural collection.
A previously unknown collection of over 25,000 black and white architectural photographs were discovered in a dilapidated house owned by the Indiana Limestone Company in Bedford, Indiana. These images of residences, churches, universities, museums, businesses, and public and municipal buildings, many of which were designed by prominent architects, document the use of Indiana limestone throughout the United States from the late 1800s to mid-1900s. Remarkably holistic in scope, these photographs and their accompanying metadata can be studied across major disciplines such as American history, architectural history, history of technology, urban studies, history of photography, historic preservation, labor history, and the history of geology. The Indiana Geological Survey, the custodian of the Indiana Limestone Photograph Collection, in partnership with the Indiana University Libraries has been cataloging, digitizing, archiving, and publishing online a growing subset of the photographs thanks to funding provided by Indiana University's Office of the Vice Provost for Research and an LSTA grant awarded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and administered by the Indiana State Library.
University Library collaborated with the Indiana Medical History Museum to make this scrapbook, which Dr. William Niles Wishard was heavily involved in the creation of, available in digital format. This treasure, like many of the artifacts on display at the Indiana Medical History Museum, is a window into the history of medicine in Indiana and an introduction to some of the past prominent figures in the Indianapolis Medical Society.
This collection consists of Muster, pay and receipt rolls of Indiana territory volunteers or militia of the period of the War of 1812. They are in the form of four oversized bound volumes of photostats made by Leet Brothers Co. in 1926 from information in the U.S. Adjutant General's Office. According to the following note, "The U.S. Adjutant general states that these records do not include the names of soldiers of the regular army of the U.S. and member of the U.S. Rangers who enlisted from Indiana territory. The names listed...include Justices of the Peace, administrators, administratrices, clerk of court, witnesses, widows, attorneys, substitutes, etc."
The Indiana Natural Resources Maps digital collection depict natural gas, coal, petroleum deposits as well as the locations of stone quarries, pipelines, and wells from the 1880s to the early 1900s.
The natural gas geological maps mark the beginning of active drilling and production of natural gas in the Trenton Gas Field in northeast Indiana and were produced by the Indiana Department of Geology and Natural Resources. These maps were produced to accompany the Annual Report of the State Supervisor of Natural Gas, which are available in the General Collection of University Libraries.
The Indiana Outdoors videos collection provides online access to episodes of the WIPB-TV television show Indiana Outdoors, created and produced as a partnership between Ball State University and the Indiana Department of Natural Resources. The show highlights outdoor life in Indiana, documenting areas of interest including state parks and recreational facilities, Indiana wildlife and ecology, historic sites, and outdoor festivals. Episodes of Indiana Outdoors included in this collection date from 2001 to 2007. The show was produced by Nancy Carlson and Samuel Clemmons of Ball State University and the principle hosts were broadcaster Jill Ditmire and Don Van Meter, Professor of Natural Resources at Ball State University.
This collection of sixteen images depicting Indiana's pioneer era was compiled by the Educator-Journal Company in celebration of Indiana's centennial anniversary in 1916. The images, which are primarily drawings with a few photos, highlight important people and places that helped shape Indiana's early history, such as Jonathan Jennings, Frances Wright, and early state capitol buildings in Corydon and Indianapolis. The company sent the prints to teachers throughout the state to use as educational materials to prepare for "an historical and educational celebration of the Indiana Centennial." Included with the images was a page of "sketches," brief summaries or captions, with information about each picture.
"The Activities of the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce" provides an intriguing glimpse of the city during the period of time between the two world wars. Although the primary focus of the newsletter was local business, the interests of the Chamber extended far beyond the business community. These pages include numerous photographs of Indianapolis landmarks, places, and people.
The Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra (ICO) made its debut on November 18, 1984 as Musicians of the Cloister at Trinity Episcopal Church in Indianapolis. In 1987 the name was changed to the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra. Comprised of 34 professional musicians, the ICO annually presents a subscription concert series using two formats: Masterworks and Pops. It also offers a full range of educational programs for ages pre-kindergarten through adult in a variety of formats.
The Indianapolis Children's Choir is built on the belief that all children have incredible potential—for artistry and many other achievements. Over the past 30 years, generations of young people in the ICC have attained lofty artistic and personal goals. In this collection, you can explore the fun and hard work—and the incredible musical achievements—shared by children in the ICC from its launch in 1986 until today.
These books tell a great deal about our past by including the names and information about residents as well as businesses in Indianapolis through the years, including the addresses and occupations of householders and complete business directories. This collection consists of 14 Indianapolis city directories ranging from 1858-1980.
The Indianapolis Department of Parks and Recreation Landscape Architectural Drawings Collection chronicles the development of the extensive park and boulevard system in Indiana’s largest metropolitan area from the 19th century to the mid-20th century. The collection gives an unparalleled look into the creation of both major destination parks and small neighborhood parks, as well as the tree-lined boulevards that transverse the city thoroughfares.
The Indianapolis Department of Parks and Recreation collection contains 3 damage assessment rolls; 1, 400 landscape, engineering, and architectural drawings and presentation boards; and 2,345 aperture cards for over 200 Indianapolis parks, parkways, golf courses, bridges, boulevards, playgrounds, amphitheaters, stadiums, greenhouses, and other public facilities managed by the Indianapolis Department of Parks and Recreation from 1898 to 1988. The majority of the collection dates from 1900-1920.
The earliest records in the collection are the damage assessment rolls, which are ledger records for land purchases the City of Indianapolis made from individuals and corporations to create the parks and increase the size of roadways to create parkway dividers and other amenities. The bulk of the collection consists of drawings. Typically, these are ink on drafting cloth—what is typically referred to as linen—and can vary from very small 10 x 10 inch detail drawings to large, expansive landscape drawings that are 36 x 120 inches, or larger. There are also blueprints and some of the later drawings are ink on Mylar, but the collection mostly consists of drawings on drafting cloth. These drawings are extraordinary examples of civic landscape plans of the time period. They often include detailed programmatic information about the land prior to purchase that has largely been lost to history.
This project is part of the Indiana Memory Digital Library and is made possible by a grant from the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act, administered by the Indiana State Library. It was funded by a Library Services and Technology Act grant to the Ball State University Libraries for 2016-2017.
Opened in 1996, the Indianapolis Firefighters Museum's mission is to celebrate the history of the Fire Service in central Indiana and the Fire Departments' contributions to the community.
Flanner House, a social service agency, was founded in 1898. It was the first agency in Indianapolis devoted solely to meeting the social service needs of African-Americans and is nationally recognized for developing groundbreaking programs that foster a spirit of self-reliance. The collection provides insight into this historic organization and its important role in shaping the social and economic landscape of Indianapolis.
The Indianapolis Foundation was created in 1916 by the resolution of three financial institutions, the Fletcher Trust Company, Indiana Trust Company, and Union Trust Company. It was officially introduced as one of the first community foundations in the United States in the January 5, 1916, edition of the Indianapolis Star. According to the resolution, income from the Indianapolis Foundation would "be dispersed by said companies on the written order of a board of trustees for such charitable uses as well in its judgment promote the welfare of persons now or hereafter residing in Indianapolis, Indiana." The foundation began making grants in 1924 and today continues to give to Indianapolis organizations to help improve the quality of life in the city.
The Indiana German Freethinker Society of Indianapolis, generally recognized as the origin of Indianapolis freethought, was formed in 1870. This group, led by such urban professionals as Clemens Vonnegut, Hermann Lieber, Karl Beyschlag, and Philip Rappaport, sought to instill progressive and modern ideas in their children and their community. They instituted lectures, a "Sunday School," and social programs, and they challenged conventional wisdom through their advocacy of women's rights, health insurance, and vocational education. Through its 20-year existence, it membership never exceeded 80. The group faded in the 1880s from lack of volunteer effort and funding, and it disbanded in 1890. This collection includes the society's original meeting minutes in German as well as an English translation.
In 2011, the Indianapolis Historic Preservation Commission granted the IUPUI Herron Art Library permission to digitize their image collection of historically significant areas and structures of Marion County, Indiana. This collection, the Indianapolis Historic Preservation Commission Collection, contains information and images of Indianapolis properties located within these designated historic districts. Searching through this collection the user will enjoy connections to many of the IUPUI University Library's digital image collections such as the Turners, the Recorder, the City Directories, and the Indiana Artists Collection.
This collection includes a variety of Indianapolis photographs and texts dating from late 19th to mid 20th centuries. Example resources include: Indianapolis Power & Light Co. Distribution System Photograph collection, monographs on the history of Indiana such as, The Hoosiers published in 1916, several issues of the Free Soil Banner, and various published and unpublished city of Indianapolis scrapbooks.
The Indianapolis Imam Warith Deen Muhammad Community collection documents the life of an African American Muslim community that has been part of Indianapolis since the 1950s. Established as "Muhammad's Mosque" on Indiana Avenue, the community was first aligned with the teachings of Nation of Islam leader Elijah Muhammad and then after 1975, with Elijah Muhammad's son and heir, Warith Deen Muhammad, better known as W. Deen Mohammed. Now called the Nur Allah (Light of God) Islamic Center, this congregation has become known in central Indiana for its commitment to civic engagement and interfaith activities. The collection documents its members' involvement in public life while also shedding light on the congregation's religious activities.
Special thanks for work on the collection go to Imam Michael Saahir and Judge David Shaheed. The digitization was made possible by the financial support of IUPUI Millennium Chair of the Liberal Arts Edward Curtis.
The Indianapolis Maennerchor (men's choir), established in 1854 by German immigrants, is one of the oldest continuously active singing societies in the United States. The Maennerchor was an important organization in the early cultural life of Indianapolis, sponsoring musical events of national importance and bringing prominent singers and musicians to the city.
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway boasts an enormous photographic collection documenting over 100 years of automobile racing.
The Indianapolis Neighborhood Resource Center's Digital Collection highlights the impact of INRC and the IMAGINE grants on the Indianapolis community. The goal of the IMAGINE grant program is to support citizen engagement and the implementation of neighborhood-led improvements.
Since 1975, Indianapolis Opera has delivered the passion, excitement and art of opera throughout Indiana with compelling educational, cultural and community activities. This collection consists of programs, flyers and invitations for performances and events spanning the more than forty years of the Indianapolis Opera's history and includes material related to educational programming such as the Indianapolis Opera Ensemble. In addition, over 750 photographs can be found from the opera's most acclaimed performances.
The Indianapolis Peace and Justice Center began in 1982, when several small groups formed a unique coalition to facilitate peace and justice endeavors in Indianapolis. This collection is comprised of its organizational journal from 1983, 1993-2014.
The objective of the Indianapolis Public Library African American History Committee is to present the diverse accomplishments and heritage of African Americans to the general public. The AAHC was created in 1978 by Elizabeth Levy, and was sponsored by Celia (Cathy) Gibson. Early signature events included film festivals and "An Afternoon with …" featuring famous authors, actors, and historians. Inside you will find information on past events, lectures, and exhibits by viewing posters, programs, news items, and compilations of African American authors and illustrators.
This collection consists of several large-scale color maps from the late 19th and early to mid-20th centuries, depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of Indianapolis, Indiana. These maps were originally produced for insurance underwriters, who used them to determine risks and establish premiums.
Founded in 2006, the Indianapolis School of Ballet provides world-class dance training with the goal of preparing Indianapolis students for placement in elite university dance programs and professional companies across the nation. This collection includes programs, flyers, posters and advertisements from iconic performances over the last decade. In addition, there are drawings used for The Nutcracker set designs as well as a video featuring selections from Coppelia.
In October 1918, a group of business leaders, scientists, engineers, and other professionals banded together to provide a forum for interdisciplinary exchange of technical knowledge. They chose the name The Scientech Club.
Sister Cities International, created at a 1956 White House Summit initiated by President Eisenhower, is an organization founded on the principle of citizen diplomacy. Indianapolis Sister Cities International carries this legacy as a champion for peace and prosperity by promoting the program's goal of fostering bonds between people from different communities around the world. The Indianapolis Sister Cities program history is rich and includes accomplishments in education, business, and government, as well as culture and the arts.
In 1893 members of the Indianapolis German-American community living on the south side of Indianapolis broke away from the Indianapolis Socialer Turnverein to form the Indianapolis South Side Turners. This organization stressed physical fitness and the preservation of German culture and was a social and cultural center for German-Americans in the southern part of the city.
The Indianapolis Symphonic Choir was founded in 1937 to perform the great choral-orchestral masterworks. Unlike many peer symphonic choruses throughout the United States, this chorus was established as a separate non-profit arts organization. The collection contains audio files, photographs, programs, correspondence and newsletters.
Since 1971, Indiana Landmarks' member magazine Indiana Preservationist has provided information about historic Hoosier places, architectural styles, preservation issues, threats to landmarks and efforts to save and preserve our state's heritage. Members of Indiana Landmarks receive the bi-monthly magazine as a benefit of membership. The collection contains the full text of articles from 1971 to recent years.
This collection is part of a larger project to digitize the public health materials created by the Indiana State Department of Health. Included here are 110 issues of the Monthly Bulletin from 1899 to 1920.
As one of the nation's premier humanitarian organizations, the American Red Cross is dedicated to helping people in need throughout the United States and, in association with other Red Cross networks, throughout the world. We depend on the many generous contributions of time, blood, and money from the American public to support our lifesaving services and programs.
This spirit of translating people's care and concern into action continues today as a new generation of volunteers, financial supporters and community partners, dedicate themselves to the humanitarian work of the American Red Cross in Indiana. It is important that we preserve and digitize images from Indiana's collection over our rich 100-year history as we celebrate the past, enhance our community and prepare for the future.
The Indiana Repertory Theatre collection includes photographs, playbills, advertisements, and other materials related from its 45-year history.
Rich in heritage and always striving to meet the challenges of the 21st Century, The Indiana School for the Deaf has developed into one of the leading deaf schools in the nation. 204 volumes with 18,000 pages of publications include school newsletters, senior numbers and yearbooks. Titles include: The Silent Hoosier (1887-1934), Hooserian (1923), The Hoosier (1935-1996), Orange and Black (1921-1938), and Yearbooks (1938-1982).
The Indiana Historical State Agency Documents is a special collection of historical state agency publications. For the purposes of this collection, our definition of "state agency" includes departments, boards, bureaus, commissions, councils, and committees that carry out various functions of the Executive Branch of Indiana state government.
The Indiana State Fairgrounds & Event Center annually hosts more than 400 meetings, shows, sports and agricultural events, including its signature event, the Indiana State Fair. Laid out over 250 acres, the Indiana State Fairgrounds & Event Center is home to more than 1,000,000 square feet of event space and offers the most flexible event venues in the state of Indiana. The year-round management of the Fairgrounds is overseen by the Indiana State Fair Commission which is a quasigovernmental agency that was established in 1992, with the mission to preserve and enhance the Indiana State Fairgrounds and the annual Indiana State Fair for the benefit of all citizens of Indiana. Additional information is available at https://www.indianastatefair.com.
This collection comprises a variety of broadsides, posters, flyers, meeting notices, and similar, single-sheet printed items from the Indiana State Library Rare Books and Manuscripts Division.
This Indiana State Library Genealogy Collection contains materials of genealogical significance to both family historians and genealogy enthusiasts. This collection is comprised of complied genealogies, family bible pages, family trees, funeral memorial cards and the Indiana Mortality Census data. Additionally, we are constantly working to enhance our collection by soliciting genealogical items from the public to be digitized with our scan-a-thon program.
This online collection comprises documents, photographs, pamphlets, scrapbooks, and other materials from the Small Collections of the Indiana State Library Rare Books and Manuscripts Division..
This collection of county maps reveal Indiana's network of roads in each county in the first half of the twentieth century. The Indiana Highway Survey maps were created from a 1936 survey and reveal information about the roads on one map and the built landscape, including dwellings, churches, schools, and cemeteries, on a second map. The United States Post Office maps show the rural delivery routes in each county around 1910.
This collection comprises many oral histories from the Indiana State Library Rare Books and Manuscripts Division, which were recorded during an extensive oral history project with hundreds of Hoosiers from around the state during the 1970s and 1980s.
Images from the Photograph Collection of the Indiana State Library Rare Books and Manuscripts Division depicting historical people, places, and events in Indiana from the 19th to the 21st century
The Indiana State Library has a large collection of trade catalogs from Indiana businesses. This collection has started with bicycle catalogues from the 1890s. Additional catalogs will be added as time permits.
The University Archives collection consists of photographs depicting the rich history of the university. These photos include homecoming, athletics, student organizations, students, faculty, special events, and architecture. We are currently expanding our collection to include yearbooks, publications, documents, and other historical materials.
Oral history interviews and other audio from the Indiana State University Bayh College of Education
Indiana State University Communications & Marketing will provide the Wabash Valley Visions and Voices project with a collection of photographs depicting all aspects of campus life. Along with images of campus, the collection will include photographs of sporting events, student activities, experiential learning and traditional events such as commencement, reunion day, and founder's day. We also will be adding historical images from our office database including the construction of Hulman Center and other classic scenes of the campus.
The Indiana State University Community collection contains digital items about the history and culture of Indiana State University donated to the project by ISU students, faculty, and staff.
The Indiana State University Folklore Archives is the largest accessible university-based folklore repository in the Midwest, and scholars from ISU and other universities—including Indiana University, Penn State University, the University of Georgia, and the University of Wisconsin—have used it for research on books and articles, as well as for sustaining a personal interest in Indiana's folk culture.
Established in 1967 by Ronald Baker, professor emeritus of English and former chairperson of the Department of English, the ISU Folklore Archives contains thousands of examples of folklore, such as local legends, folk beliefs, customs, jokes, riddles, and campus ghost stories. Most of the material was collected by ISU students, and much of it is very high quality.
The English Department is working with the Department of History and the Cunningham Memorial Library to make the printed and visual materials housed in the ISU Folklore Archives accessible to patrons anytime, anywhere in the world. The Archives staff acquired a professional-quality scanner through a generous contribution from the Research Center for Local History and Culture, funded by the Lilly Foundation and administered by the Department of History. Training, support, and a website large enough to house the scanned materials are being provided through Wabash Valley Visions and Voices: A Digital Memory Project, sponsored by the Cunningham Memorial Library. The Archives Assistant is a Department of English intern, and the Department of English has hired four undergraduate students as Scanning Project Technicians through the ISU work-study program.
The Indiana State University Library includes Works Project Administration photographs, Indiana Federal Writers' Project/Program materials, the Eugene V. Debs collection, the Chauncey Rose papers, and a collection of photographs of Indiana's covered bridges.
The digital collection of Indiana Territory Court Orders is a collaborative effort between the University Library, the Indiana State Archives, and the Historical Society for the United States District Court for the Southern District of Indiana. This collection contains digital images of three order books: 2 original volumes created between 1800 and 1816 and a late nineteenth-century transcription for the first 114 pages of Order Book 1 (which were heavily damaged). We used Order Book 2 in its entirety. The two order books are a combined 578 pages in length. Created by the Clerk of the Court of Indiana Territory, Henry Hurst, the order books document the court's actions in chronological order by court term from March 1801 to December 1816. This collection also contains the Chancery Court orders of 57 pages, recently found. The Indiana Territorial Legislature created the Chancery Court in 1805. Chancery Court judges, called chancellors, solved conflicting claims when common law and statute law offered no solutions. The Chancery Court operated between 1805 and 1814; however, the extant records only cover August 1807 to September 1811. The Indiana State Archives holds the original Indiana Territory Order Books, transcribed order books, and Chancery Orders.
The Indiana State Library's collection comprises numerous publications from various clubs and professional organization intended for professionals and hobbyists who work or are interested in a specific business, industry, hobby, or topic. Among these publications are the Indiana Construction Recorder for the construction industry, the Indiana State Beekeepers Association newsletter, and The "Y's" Man from the African-American men's branch of the YMCA. More content will be added in the future.
The Indiana Woman was a weekly magazine published by Earl E. Stafford, owner of The Indiana Illustrating Company. Stafford had established his company and began printing the magazine in 1895. It was discontinued in 1899 and replaced by The Illustrated Indiana Weekly.
In 2016 then Indiana World Organization of China Painters President Ellen Wilson-Pruitt had an idea to propose a china painting project to Washington, DC. The Indiana painters already had established a relationship with Second Lady Karen Pence. The artists had done 2 other public projects previously. They painted a 30 place setting and 30 serving piece set for the Indiana Governor’s mansion with Indiana Wildflowers during the O’Bannon administration. Mrs. Pence loved the china so much when she was Indiana First Lady she approached the painters again about painting 150 presentation bowls with the Indiana state flower the peony for her First Ladies Charitable Foundation.
When Mrs. Pence became Second Lady, Ellen contacted her and offered their artistic talents to the nation. The Second Lady is herself an artist and the role of art therapy in the recovery of hospital patients is a cause dear to her heart. Mrs. Pence readily accepted the offer and the Vice Presidential Plate Project began. Thirty-nine artists painted 100 reception dessert plates with the 50 state flowers. These plates will remain in the permanent china collection and are the property of The Vice President’s Residential Foundation. The Foundation maintains all the collections and furnishings of the Vice President Residence. The artists were juried in by the public by voting on a china painting exhibit at the 2017 Indiana State Fair. Each artist painted 2 identical plates (with a few artists painting more than one set). The plates being used are companion pattern plates to the current Vice Presidential service made by Lenox. This service was ordered during the Biden administration. Lenox produced a special decal for the back of these flower plates to commemorate the project. Wilson-Pruitt gathered the flower images and sized them to fit the plates. The artists drew the states out of a hat so no one was assigned a particular state. Each state was just as important as the next.
In March a public preview was held in Indiana to view the plates before going to Washington. This preview was attended by well over 200 people. The artists were invited to a special reception held in their honor at the Vice President’s Residence on April 23,2018.One of the artists volunteered to transport the plates to DC. A few artists traveled independently but the majority of the artists and guests boarded a charter coach to make the 12 hour trip to the nation’s capital. The artists were treated to a wonderful celebration of their efforts by Mrs. Pence and her staff complete with meeting the Vice President. The plates will be used at receptions at the residence and be viewed by visiting dignitaries from all over the world.
Over the course of the project there was media coverage from TV, radio and various newspapers. Many of the artists were featured in articles in their local newspapers. The project also received official press releases from The White House as well as being mentioned in USA Today and The Washington Post. The youngest artist participating is 13 and the oldest is 90 years old. This illustrates that china painting is an art form that can be shared from generation to generation. The project required many months of work and organization but it was well worth it. It is wonderful to allow our artists to have the opportunity to have a piece of their work in such a prominent venue. These plates will remain forever as part of our nation’s collections and we hope to give testament to the art of china painting and creation of an art of permanence and the memory this project provided the artists will last for the rest of their lives.
The Industrial Trust and Savings Bank digital collection provides online access to annual reports (1950-1990), newsletters and brochures (1949, 1970-1992), photographs (1949-1974), and scrapbooks (1952-1979) documenting the business and social activities of the Industrial Trust and Savings Bank in Muncie, Indiana between 1925 and 1987.
Industrial Trust and Savings Bank was started as an industrial loan firm in 1927 under the name Muncie Industrial Company. In 1948, the Muncie Industrial Company was granted a state bank charter by the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions and in 1949 became known as Industrial Trust and Savings Bank. In 1986, Industrial Trust and Savings Bank was acquired by Summcorp, a multi-bank holding company based in Fort Wayne, Indiana.
Inland Steel Company, founded in 1893 in Chicago, arrived first in northwest Indiana, establishing its Indiana Harbor Works in 1901 in East Chicago, Indiana. This selection of images from the Inland Steel Company Photograph Collection provides insight about the local steel industry.
Oral history interviews are a major component of the Institute for Latino Studies' effort to document and preserve Latino history. These interviews offer scholars and students "first person" narratives of American culture and society. More than 100 interviews have been recorded with Latino leaders, writers, poets, artists, scholars, and Notre Dame Alumni, with a particular emphasis on the Midwestern United States.
The International Historic Maps digital collection includes a wide assortment of maps from around the world—cities, countries, and former countries—dating back to the late nineteenth century and early twentieth century available from the Ball State University Libraries' GIS Research and Map Collection. This eclectic collection includes a 1911 map of Cuba published by the War Department and an 1867 map of the Ottoman Empire.
The International Violin Competition of Indianapolis is a quadrennial violin competition founded in 1982 under the artistic guidance of Indiana University Jacobs School of Music Distinguished Professor Josef Gingold, one of the United States' most influential violin teachers. This collection comprises programs, photographs, and other promotional material from all nine previous competitions, as well as other sponsored concerts and events. It also includes valuable correspondence and other memorabilia from the collection of Josef Gingold.
Items from the collection of Invisible Indianapolis examine history and material culture in a series of seemingly "invisible" Indianapolis neighborhoods. It focuses on places that initially may seem counter-intuitive to our ideas about what constitutes "historical" sites; that is, in many reaches of the city, the material remains of community heritage are fragmentary or entirely effaced, and in some places only a handful of elders preserve local memories. Invisible Indianapolis underscores the stories of American life in a breadth of seemingly commonplace places transformed by factors including real estate "redlining," racial and religious discrimination, postwar highway construction, and gentrification.
The Indiana Online Users Group (IOLUG) Archives provides online access to the organization's newsletter, IOLUG News, from 1982 to 2012 as well as the organization's bylaws, constitution, and standing rules. Founded in 1982, IOLUG is an organization established for the purpose of furthering the use of online systems, databases, computers and telecommunication systems in libraries.
IOLUG's objectives are to provide a mechanism for communication with database producers, search services, telecommunication networks and other producers of electronic information products and services; to cooperate with other appropriate organizations; to publish items such as newsletters and other documents useful to its membership and others; and to provide continuing education opportunities on electronic information access topics.
Editions of IOLUG News often contain information about and schedules for IOLUG events and activities; important announcements for group members; reports from the group's board, committees, and president; and articles, reports, and commentary about projects and professional issues.
The Irish People was a weekly newspaper from 1972-2004 which served as the "Voice of Irish Republicanism in America." Published by volunteers who supported an Irish Republican political analysis, the paper provided weekly reports and analysis of events in Ireland related to the struggle against British rule. It also served as a contemporary weekly record and organizer of Irish-American political activity in the United States during a crucial epoch. Those who wish to study historic events in Ireland and how such events were seen and influenced by Americans will find it an indispensable resource.
Irvington is a historic neighborhood on the east side of Indianapolis, bounded by 10th Street, Arlington Avenue, Brookville Road, and Emerson Avenue. From its inception, Irvington, named for the author Washington Irving, was planned to be a community of culture and refinement. Created from the land holdings of Jacob B. Julian, Sylvester Johnson, and Dr. Levi Ritter, the town was incorporated in 1873, and became part of Indianapolis in 1902. These oral histories were conducted primarily in the 1970s and 1980s. These histories create a snapshot of how everyday life was lived and enjoyed in this distinctive Indianapolis neighborhood.
Irvington, the classic suburb of Indianapolis, was known for its clubs. In 1926, at the suggestion of Mrs. Elijah Jordan, these clubs came together to form the Irvington Union of Clubs in order to work as one voice on projects that would benefit the Irvington community. This collection includes minutes, scrapbooks, photographs, letters and documents from the 1930s to the 1980s and traces the activities of the many clubs comprising the Irvington Union of Clubs: Irvington Monday Club, Irvington Tuesday Club, Irvington Fortnightly Club, Irvington Catholic Woman's Study Club, Irvington Chautauqua Club, Irvington Coterie Club, Irvington Home Study Club, Irvington Mothers' Study Club, Irvington Quest Club, Irvington Shakespeare Coterie Club, and the Irvington Social Study Club.
This collection of digital images visually represents IUPUI's history and development as a teaching facility, an academic institution, a continually transforming campus, and a group of ever growing students, faculty, and staff.
IUPUI University Library and the Fischler Society sponsor an annual award to one Herron School of Art and Design student for the design, construction, installation, and removal of artwork for the IUPUI University Library Atrium. Under the guidance of sculpture faculty, the student selected for this annual award is responsible for creating and installing their piece built to scale, reaching from the second to the fourth floor levels of the atrium.
The Indiana University School of Medicine (IUSM) was founded in 1903, and its first students were enrolled on the Bloomington campus.
Following the union of all medical schools in the state with Indiana University in 1908, the General Assembly of the State of Indiana, in 1909, mandated that Indiana University assume the responsibility for medical education in the state. Initially, students had the opportunity of taking the first two years of their medical school work at either Bloomington or Indianapolis. In 1912 all students entered through the Bloomington program and moved to Indianapolis for their second-, third-, and fourth-year courses. This remained in effect until 1958, when the work of the Bloomington division was transferred to Indianapolis.
The Indiana University Medical Center (IUMC) campus covers some 85 acres within one mile of the center of Indianapolis. The IUMC campus is part of the larger campus created by Indiana University and Purdue University at Indianapolis (IUPUI), which offers IU and Purdue undergraduate and graduate degree programs.
This collection contains yearbooks for the Indiana University School of Medicine from 1968-2008.
The J-Ideas Videos collection provides online access to digital video assets produced by J-Ideas, an initiative developed by the Ball State University Department of Journalism, designed to develop and encourage excellence in high school journalism through on-site activities, tailored programs, distance learning and digital activities and scholarship with an emphasis on First Amendment scholarship.
The project, developed in the mid-2000s and directed by then-Ball State journalism professor Warren Watson, was designed to foster First Amendment and civic awareness in public and private schools, and to bring teachers, students, principals and professional editors together to develop young talent for the journalism profession.
The J. D. and Elisabeth Williams Slide Collection contains a wide variety of images that document life in Harrison County during the 1960s. J. D. Williams (1910-1987) was a prominent Corydon attorney and politician, and Elisabeth Williams (1922-2010) was a longstanding leader of Tri Kappa and served on the local library board. The couple created numerous slides ranging from images of parades, festivals, and events, to scenes of floods, snow, and riverboats. The majority of images are of the Corydon area, but the collection also includes some images of Leavenworth and Crawford County, where J.D. Williams grew up. There are also several images of The Belle of Louisville steamboat as well as scenes along the Ohio River from aboard the vessel. The Williamses captured images of Veterans Day and 4th of July celebrations on the square in Corydon, and the rides and crowds at the town's Pancake Festivals in 1962 and 1968. They also covered the substantial parade of the Centennial Harrison County Fair in 1959, a momentous event that drew a crowd of 20,000 to Corydon. The Williamses shot these images from the vantage point of their home on Elliott Avenue, which happened to be on the parade route. Another noteworthy parade they photographed, this time from Capitol Avenue, was the Indiana Sesquicentennial Parade in Corydon in 1966.
Also documented in the collection are two events associated with the 100th anniversary of Morgan's Raid, the July 1863 movement of Confederate General John Hunt Morgan and his troops into northern territory, which led to the Battle of Corydon. In July 1963, Corydon citizens commemorated the anniversary with a large gathering at the Harrison County Fairground where spectators watched Civil War reenactors perform drills and fire weapons. A day-long event was also held in Brandenburg, Kentucky, and included a special excursion of the Belle of Louisville from the city to the small river town. Over 1,000 people, many in period costume, traveled down the Ohio River on the Belle. The Williamses captured numerous images from both of these events and they are included in this collection.
Also in the collection are images of the Belle of Louisville and the Delta Queen along the Louisville shoreline at the annual steamboat race of the 1963 Kentucky Derby Festival. Views of area bridges, including the recently completed Sherman Minton, and the JFK Memorial Bridge still under construction, are represented in the collection. Additional images in the Williams Collection are scenes of area floods and heavy snowfalls, and many streetscapes of downtown Corydon. These images often document former businesses as well as buildings and houses that are no longer extant.
The individuals, locations, and events of some images have not been identified. Anyone with such information is encouraged to contact the Frederick Porter Griffin Center at [email protected].
The J. Paul Mitchell Papers digital collection provides full-text searchable access to a selection of archival records from the papers of Ball State University Professor Emeritus of Urban Planning J. Paul Mitchell. Dr. Mitchell served as the Director of the Urban and Regional Studies Program at Ball State University from 1970 until the dissolution of the program in 1981. The Urban and Regional Studies Program merged that year with the College of Architecture's Department of Urban and Regional Planning. Dr. Mitchell was given joint appointment in this new department as well as in the history department.
Dr. Mitchell was also a co-author of A History of Negroes in Muncie, a text that Dr. Mitchell wrote with community leader Hurley Goodall, published in 1976. The booklet was conceived from the period 1971-1975. Over thirty interviews, as well as census information, church matters, and community outreach were used to create this work. Dr. Mitchell was also the author of another book, Race Riots in Black and White.
The digital collection primarily includes records dating from the 1960s to the 1980s. Topics documented include Muncie neighborhood and community development, East Central Indiana regional planning, the history of African Americans in Muncie, the Muncie Human Rights Commission, and Middletown Studies scholarship.
This is a Justice of the Peace docket book for Jackson Township, Harrison County, Indiana, that dates from November 1898 through October 1920. The dockets contain entries of court cases that were brought before local justices of the peace by township residents. The cases reflect the daily lives and conflicts of residents throughout the period and include charges of unpaid debts, provocation, assault and battery, bastardy, property conflicts, public intoxication, profanity, and other offenses. The records include names of plaintiffs and defendants, as well as those of witnesses, constables, and attorneys. Some family relationships can be gleaned from the entries. Some of the surnames that appear are: Davis, Stevens, Hoehn, Krausgrill, Miller, Mosier, Dawson, Allen, Melton, Emily, Byrne, Lone, Voyles. Men who served as justices of the peace for Jackson Township and recorded cases in this record book were: John E. Wright, George G. Krausgrill, William A. Thomas, Lewis P. Wagner, William B. Boston, James R. Ellis, and Levi Blunk.
A. Some pages in the docket books are missing. Also, indexes are not complete and may not be correct. It is best to search for a surname using the search box.
B. These documents have not been fully transcribed. However, names of all individuals as well as the date of the case and the charges involved have been transcribed for each case and page so researchers can search the record for specific individuals or crimes.
In 1950, James Ostler, a Frankfort mailman and amateur photographer, began taking photographs for the Farmers Bank. One of the bank's former presidents conceived the idea in order to show the images in a rotating display for bank patrons. Ostler was given free reign as to what photographs he took, so the collection encompasses everything from school events, club meetings, school games, political affairs, businesses, and organizations.
Photographs show Riley, his family, friends and events in his life. Correspondence between family members gives information about their everyday lives. Letters between Riley and friends, such as artist T.C. Steele and author Bill Nye, are included. Holiday postcards from 1911 reveal the poet's popularity throughout the country.
This digital collection celebrates the works of James Whitcomb Riley. Livin' the life of Riley provides access to manuscripts, personal letters, photographs, early edition books, and artifacts that represent the Hoosier Poet.
On Friday, June 7, 1912, James Whitcomb Riley finished his last recording session for the Victor Talking Machine Company. Out of around twenty recordings made during five days of readings, only four of the discs were ever issued by Victor. This collection consists of seventeen unpublished recordings of the Hoosier Poet reading his work. There are dialect selections, sad poems, happy poems, stories, tales, and a funny little speech, The Soldier's Story, that Riley must have told many times.
This online collection contains architectural and business records from the Vincennes, Indiana, architectural office founded by John B. Bayard and continued by Rudolph W. Schucker and Jay C. Bixby, from 1910-1965. Included are architectural working drawings by the firm for 15 projects in southwestern Indiana, and additional projects represented by specifications, photographs, newspaper clippings, contracts, and bills for architectural services. The collection also contains drawings for two houses in Nevada, Iowa, designed by Bixby early in his career, scrapbook material, and plans by the Hirons & Mellor architectural firm from New York, New York, for the George Rogers Clark Memorial in Vincennes, Indiana.
The History of the Library Collection chronicles the 200 year history of the Jefferson County Public Library from its inception in 1818 to 2021. Included in the collection are first hand accounts given in newspaper articles; some of our oldest surviving catalogues and accession records; scrapbooks containing ephemera; photographs of the addition in the 1960s; and board of trustees meeting minutes for one-hundred and seven years.
The Jeffersonville Township Public Library History Collection includes materials relating to the 1937 Ohio River Flood and other aspects of Jeffersonville Township, Clark County, Indiana, history. The core of this collection consists of interviews with survivors of the 1937 Flood, created in the mid 1980s with a grant from Indiana Humanities. The creator, former Jeffersonville Township Public Library reference librarian Steven Day, arranged for the interviews, and along with historian Carl Kramer, used snippets from the interviews in a documentary film and accompanying book, both titled Mud, Sweat, & Tears. Before their inclusion on Indiana Memory, the taped interviews have never before been available to the public in their entirety.
The materials were digitized with a Library Services and Technology Act grant from the U.S. Institute for Museum and Library Services, administered by the Indiana State Library.
The Jerry Joschko Photographs digital collection includes the works of photojournalist Jerry Joschko from the Muncie Star during the 1970s. Jerry's photographs captured life, art and news in Muncie and surrounding areas. This collection contains over 200 photographs documenting local sporting events, special community events, people, buildings, and notable visits from Vice President Gerald R. Ford, Bob Hope, and Larry Conrad. This collection also features photographs of John J. Pruis, former president of Ball State University from 1968-1978 and Robert Hargreaves, former director of the Ball State University School of Music from 1945-1981.
As a well-known photographer in Muncie, Indiana, Jerry Joschko's dedication to photography landed him a job at the Muncie Star during the 1970s where capturing life, art, and news was not only his career, but his passion. Joschko's Muncie Star photographs were donated to Archives and Special Collections by his wife Eileen Joschko. Many of these captivating images may be remembered by those who grew up in Muncie during the 1970s.
Joschko began his career as a photography assistant in LaPorte, Indiana and went on to work for several major studios. According to his wife, Eileen, Jerry was drafted into the U.S. Army, and liked to point out that he 'fought the Cold War' during his two years at Fort Ord, California, located near Monterey Bay and Carmel, home of Ansel Adams. He often recalled meeting the iconic photographer and treasured the afternoon spent discussing landscape photography and the early introduction of photography as art.
In December 1969, Joschko was hired by Muncie Newspapers, Inc. His photographs dominated the news, sports and feature pages with photographs depicting horse racing, ballet, historic fires, landscapes, portraiture, and general events and activities in and around the Muncie area.
Joschko passed away on May 30, 2006 of leukemia. Joschko's legacy lives on through his photography and what Eileen, their family and friends describe as his mark on the world.
This collection consists of 1600 letters written to Jesse G. Dorsey by over three hundred military personnel and their families during World War II. Dorsey, Director of Recreation & Welfare for the Louisville Cement Company and editor of the Speedometer (employee newsletter), acted as host to military personnel who were stationed nearby. He began a letter exchange program to send service members news from home during the war. The letters are from all over the world and reflect the soldier's views.
In 1915 Jessie Groves arrived in Indianapolis at the age of 21 to take a position as the Night Supervisor at Long Hospital on the campus of the fledgling Indiana University School of Medicine. She spent the rest of her nursing career at the IU Medical Center, retiring in the 1950s as the Operating Room Supervisor for both Long and Riley Hospitals. These candid photographs, most originally pasted in an album, were taken by Jessie over the course of her four decades at the Medical Center.
The Johannes and Jean Richert Architectural Drawings online collection contains scans of 55 sheets of architectural sketches drawn from 1852-1857. The drawings contain designs for small buildings, building details, and descriptive geometry exercises. The drawings appear to be student work, created in Germany, but little else is known about the work.
The John A. Curry Architectural Works collection includes over 4,000 images of architectural drawings done by John A. Curry and Associates, an active firm in Terre Haute from 1956 until the early 1980s. It was formerly known as Weber & Curry. The drawings include businesses, churches, parks, organizations, residences, and schools. The collection includes 262 unique architectural projects done by the firm.
The John and William Golliver WWI Postcards digital collection features 44 postcards collected and sent home by William Happy Golliver during his service in World War I. Several of the postcards were sent to William's brother John Golliver, both during and after the war. The images on the postcards range from 1914-1919; span multiple countries including the United States, France, and Germany; and depict both calm and violent scenes of WWI Europe, American military training, and American patriotism.
John Howard Yoder (1927-1997) was a Mennonite theologian and ethicist perhaps best known for his defense of pacifism. He taught at the Goshen Biblical Seminary, Associated Mennonite Biblical Seminary and Notre Dame University and was the author of The Politics of Jesus. Collections contains his unpublished writings, photographs, and scholarly documents pertaining to his career.
On the far eastside of Indianapolis, John Marshall High School was one of three IPS high schools built in response to the rapid growth of Indianapolis suburbs in the 1950s and 60s. The school opened in September 1968 and saw its enrollment more than double in the first ten years.
The John Nelson Bell digital collection includes account books, daybooks, and medical treatment notes ranging from 1887-1922 that document the medical training and practice of John Nelson Bell in New Burlington, Indiana.
John Nelson Bell was born in Morgantown, Virginia on April 21, 1858 to Henry and Louise (Swisher) Bell. He began teaching school at age sixteen and supplemented his education by taking classes at a normal school. He entered Starling Medical College in Columbus, Ohio in 1884 and left for the Medical College of Ohio two years later. As he neared the end of his studies, Bell learned that Samuel Jump, the practicing physician in Perry Township, Delaware County, Indiana, had received a presidential appointment as the Selma postmaster and would be moving to Liberty Township. After graduating from the Medical College of Ohio in the spring of 1888, Dr. Bell came to Delaware County to fill that vacancy in Perry Township and began his practice in New Burlington. He would continue to practice medicine in the Delaware County community of New Burlington for forty years.
The account books in this digital collection document John Nelson Bell's financial dealings including payment methods of patients and the cost of medical supplies. His daybooks document the schedule of a small town doctor as well as more detailed information such as patient names, general reasons for visits, and charges for services. His medical school and treatment notes document the training of medical doctors and common medical treatments at the turn of the century for a wide variety of maladies including burns, colic, hay fever, laryngitis, tetanus, and typhoid fever.
This online collection includes digital copies of the entirety of the John Nelson Bell papers in Archives and Special Collections.
The John R. Emens Papers digital collection provides online access to selections from the papers of John R. Emens, president of Ball State Teachers College/University from 1945 to 1968.
The John Rouse Collection provides online access to a collection of op-ed articles on the subjects of Muncie, Indiana, and national politics written for The Muncie Star (and later, The Star Press) by Ball State University Professor of Political Science John Rouse. Articles in the collection date from 1985 to 2000.
The collection includes digitized video recordings of episodes of the Public Affairs Roundtable television program broadcast on WIPB-TV in Muncie, IN dating from 1985 to 1990. The program, for which Rouse served as producer-commentator, featured discussions regarding political, social, and economic issues with Muncie area experts and community leaders.
John Rouse joined the Ball State University Department of Political Science faculty in 1976 and teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in public administration, American government and politics, and organizational theory. Additional materials from the John Rouse archival collection are available in Archives & Special Collections.
The online collection of Johnson & Miller Architectural Records consists of 123 projects spanning the long history of the architectural firm and its subsequent firms from the 1910s to the 1980s. Over the years, Johnson & Miller and its successor firms were responsible for designing numerous schools, university buildings, government offices, religious buildings, recreation facilities, hospitals, and businesses in Terre Haute, Indiana, and the surrounding area.
MacMillan Mac Houston Johnson, who had studied at DePauw University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, originally opened his practice in Brazil, Indiana, in 1910. He was joined the following year by Warren D. Miller after his graduation from the architecture program at the University of Pennsylvania, and the firm then changed its name to Johnson & Miller. The partners established a second office in Terre Haute's Ball Building on Ohio Street a year later and maintained both offices until 1915. At that time they closed the Brazil branch and moved the Terre Haute branch to 105 S. Seventh Street.
Warren's brother, Ewing H. Miller, also studied architecture at the University of Pennsylvania and joined the firm in 1919 after completing military service. The firm was then known as Johnson, Miller and Miller.
Numerous fluctuations of the firm's principals were to follow in quick succession due to the untimely deaths of Mac Johnson and Ewing Miller a few months apart in 1923 and the additions of other architects. It became Johnson, Miller, Miller & Yeager (1924-29), Miller & Yeager (1930-45), Miller, Yeager & Vrydaugh (1946), Miller & Vrydaugh (1947-54), and then Miller, Vrydaugh & Miller when Ewing H. Miller's son, Ewing H. Miller II, joined the firm after also studying architecture at the University of Pennsylvania.
When Allison Al Vrydaugh left the firm the name became Miller, Miller & Associates (1962-65) until Warren Miller's retirement which resulted in the name Ewing Miller Associates (1966-70). Ewing Miller later started Archonics Corporation, which had offices in Fort Wayne, Terre Haute, and Indianapolis.
John Tipton (1786-1839) was a militia officer, politician, Indian agent and land speculator. He was an officer in the Indiana Militia, serving at the Battle of Tippecanoe and in engagements against the Indiana during the War of 1812. As Indian agent, he oversaw the removal of the Potawatomi Indians from Indiana in 1838. He also served as a U.S. Senator from 1831 to 1839.
The Joseph M. Fisher World War II Collection consists of a scrapbook compiled by Fisher's mother, Vanchie Fisher, about her son's experience in the Army. The scrapbook is made up primarily of letters from Fisher to his parents written from December 1942 until October 1945. Other materials included in the collection are mementos sent home by Fisher that were not fastened to the scrapbook, inserts from envelopes containing allotment checks and newspaper clippings.
This online collection represents architectural drawings, sketches, industrial design drawings, and holiday cards from the career and travels of Juliet Peddle, the first female architect licensed to practice in the state of Indiana. Born in Terre Haute, Indiana, Peddle (1899-1979) graduated with a degree in architecture from the University of Michigan in 1922 and started her career working at prominent architecture firms in Chicago.
During her time in Chicago, Peddle and seven other women architects founded a professional organization dedicated to promoting and celebrating the work of women architects. Known as the Women’s Architectural Club of Chicago, the organization held exhibitions at their firms, produced publications, and exhibited at the first Women’s World’s Fair in Chicago in 1927. Juliet also traveled extensively through Europe, producing numerous sketches of historical buildings, canals, and other old world architecture that captured her interest.
The Great Depression affected many architects and it was during this time that Peddle left Chicago and moved home to Terre Haute, where she would work until her death in 1979. She was known for her modern designs and her skillful drawings, as well as her interest in historic preservation.
Junior Achievement uses hands-on experiences to help young people understand the economics of life. In partnership with business and educators, Junior Achievement brings the real world to students, opening their minds to their potential. This collection comprises photographs and other materials from 1930-2009.
Karl K. Knecht was the editorial cartoonist for the Evansville Courier for 54 years and his work covered many historically significant events. This collection documents his original editorial cartoon artwork.
Before becoming an Assistant Professor of Journalism at Ball State, Kenneth Heinen spent 35 years as a photojournalist. In 1968, he captured the story of the Poor People's Campaign in a series of captivating photographs featured within this digital collection.
After photographing the riots and violence that followed the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. in 1968, Heinen, who was working as a photojournalist at the Washington Star, volunteered for a long-term assignment to cover the Poor People's Campaign.
Organized in November 1967 by Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), the Poor People's Campaign was part of the second phase of the Civil Rights Movement. The campaign's purpose was to address issues of economic justice, including fair minimum wage and unemployment insurance, education for the poor, and housing. Ten thousand individuals planned to descend upon southern and northern states, as well as Washington, D.C., to spread their nonviolent message. Dr. King hoped this event would pressure the federal government into enacting anti-poverty legislation totaling $30 billion.
After Dr. King's assassination in April 1968, SCLC decided to continue the campaign in King's honor. On May 12, the first wave of demonstrators, spearheaded by King's Wife, Coretta Scott King, began what would become weeks of protest in Washington, DC.
On May 13, a wagon train of mule-drawn carts picked up people from numerous states, beginning in Mississippi, to join the other protestors in Washington. According to Heinen, The contrast between the wobbly mule-drawn wagons and the continual rushing traffic presented wonderfully graphic images.
During that same time, a temporary settlement of shacks and tents, known as Resurrection City, was built on the National Mall in Washington by the protestors. By June, Resurrection City was forced to close and the anti-poverty legislation had not passed.
Heinen says of that experience, I heard bullhorns blaring harsh words from the leadership, but I saw desperation mixed with determination in the eyes of the people riding in those wagons. I sensed the fear blended with the hope they were feeling. These were just plain folks who had swallowed their pride while gathering enough courage to show the nation their rage. They had arrived in Washington unsure of what to expect, but had come fully committed to their quest for economic justice.
The powerful and striking photographs that Heinen took during this period illustrate and illuminate this important event in American history and the people who lived it.
The Keystone View Company was founded in 1892 by Benneville Lloyd Singley (d. 1938) in Meadville, PA. Singley was a former Underwood & Underwood salesman and an amateur photographer.
The 488 slides include images from the Americas, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Australia. They depict scenes from agricultural, industrial, commercial, urban, rural, transportation, nature, historical and daily life situation. Images date from the 1890s through the early twentieth century.
This online collection represents architectural drawings, photographs, and manuscripts created by architects Cuno Kibele (1866-1927) and Carl W. Garrard (1889-1981) who worked in Muncie, Indiana, and the surrounding area from 1895 to 1975. Their firm, known as Kibele & Garrard, built many of Muncie’s finest residential, commercial, academic, and civic buildings, and the collection reflects their wide range of commissions. The Kibele & Garrard firm was responsible for the bulk of the collection, although Kibele practiced on his own prior to the partnership and Garrard continued the practice after Kibele’s death. A few projects in the collection, most notably the Wysor Grand Opera House by Henry W. Matson in 1891, were drawn by other firms and likely given to Kibele & Garrard at a later date.
The Kirkpatrick Memorial Conference and Workshops on Aging digital collection provides access to conference proceedings and programs from the Kirkpatrick Memorial Conference and Workshops on Aging at Ball State University with materials dating from 1955 to 2004. The conference and workshop sessions present the scholarship of nationally prominent figures in the field of gerontology, examining social, biological, psychological, and economic aspects of aging.
The conference and workshop series was first organized in 1955 by Nila Kirkpatrick Covalt and is funded by the estate of her parents, prominent Muncie residents J. Walter and Arrena I. Kirkpatrick, for whom the series is named. Initially, workshops were held jointly at Ball State and the Indiana University Medical Center, but by 1959, Ball State became the sole location for the event.
The Kirkpatrick Lecture Series is currently hosted by the John and Janice Fisher Institute for Wellness and Gerontology at Ball State University. Materials digitized for this collection are held at both the Ball State University Archives & Special Collections and the Fisher Institute.
This digital collection includes both programs from annual events as well as conference proceedings from years during which they were published. Proceedings in this collection are available both by year and by individual published lecture.
The Archives of Kiwanis International contains photographs and slides documenting the activities of its members. Currently a small portion of the images is available for searching and viewing online. If you do not find an image that you are seeking, please Ask-An-Archivist and we will search the images not yet available online.
The Knox County Community collection contains digital items donated to the project by private individuals in Knox County.
The Knox County Public Library's collection consists of images of Vincennes and Knox County that are part of the library's Historical Collection at the McGrady-Brockman House.
The Kris T. Frederick Photographs collection provides online access to a collection of digitized photographs from Ball State University alumnus Kris T. Frederick. The photographs date from 1967 to 1972 and document Ball State University student life, the Delaware County and Randolph County communities, and other Central Indiana locations and people.
Originally from Madison, Indiana, Frederick received his Bachelors of Science in Art from Ball State University in 1971. During his time as a student and shortly after, he worked with Ball State University Photographic Services as a photographer, photographing campus life and theatrical productions. For several years after graduation, he worked as an elementary school art teacher in neighboring Randolph County at Farmland and Parker Elementary Schools. Later he took a job with the Marion Chronicle Tribune as a news photographer.
Additional digital photographs from this collection are available in the Ball State University Archives & Special Collections reading room.
The first Ku Klux Klan emerged after the Civil War as a southern terrorist organization led by former Confederates aimed at opposing Reconstruction and suppressing African Americans with intimidation and violence. The Klan that re-emerged in the 1920s invoked imagery of the first Klan to instill terror in its enemies, mainly Catholics and immigrants but also Jews and African Americans. This second Klan was a nationwide, mainstream organization composed of average white Protestants born in the United States. The Klan wrapped its nationalist, xenophobic, white supremacist message in patriotic language and symbolism. Indiana Grand Dragon, David Curtis "D. C." Stephenson, was influential in politics and grew wealthy by exploiting his influence. The Klan's power peaked in 1924 with the election of a sympathetic candidate, Edward Jackson, as Governor of Indiana.
The Klan's popularity was diminished with the conviction of Stephenson for the rape and murder of Madge Oberholtzer. However, the organization disbanded in large part because they achieved their nativist goals with the passage of the 1924 immigration act.
As a fringe terrorist group, the national organization was revived again during the Civil Rights era in the 1960s. The Klan grew increasingly violent toward African Americans and was responsible for bombings, shootings and harassment to anyone who supported Civil Rights. By the 1970s, much of the Klan's membership dissipated as support waned and infighting caused members to join similar ideological groups elsewhere.
This collection includes materials concerning the Ku Klux Klan organization, its members and activities, particularly from the 1920s, or "second revival," when the organization's presence was strongest in Indiana.
In 1940, Lawrence established one high school named Lawrence Central High School. Through the next three decades, the school and community continued to grow, seeing a 20-room wing added to the school in 1960, a brand-new cafeteria in 1961, and an entirely new school building in 1963, which sits at the current Lawrence Central location on East 56th Street.
Since 1873, The Indianapolis Public Library has served the people of the city, both growing and changing to fit their needs, making it "a live thing in the whole town." This digital collection of materials from the Library's archives continues the work Mr. Downey, Associate Director and author of a history of the Indianapolis Public Library.
The Leonard Archibald Haines Collection digital collection includes combat records, personal correspondence, flight logs, Royal Air Force decorations, and photographs documenting Haines’ experiences as a pilot in the no. 19 Squadron of the Royal Air Force ranging from 1920 to 1941. Haines and the squadron participated in the Battle of Britain in 1940. The flight log book and combat reports provide accounts of flight training and combat experience during the Battle of Britain and other campaigns in World War II.
This online collection consists of drawings, sketches, presentation drawings, photographs, and reproductions of drawings made by Indianapolis architect Leslie F. Ayres from 1926 to 1945. The earliest drawings and sketches depict his student work at Princeton University, possibly his work at the prestigious architectural firm Pierre & Wright, and scenes around Indianapolis that caught his interest. The Indianapolis scenes include a wide range of subjects that include power plants, high schools, monuments, clubs, civic structures, and religious buildings. During a visit to the Chicago World’s Fair in 1933 he sketched scenes from the Belgian Village.
Ayres was well known among Indiana architectural circles for his highly refined and exquisite renderings. Even after he embarked on his own architectural practice he continued to receive rendering commissions from his former employers, Pierre & Wright, as well as from other prominent firms such as Rubush & Hunter, A. M. Strauss, and Robert Frost Daggett. His beautiful and atmospheric renderings, which were often made in watercolor and colored pencil, lent an air of sophistication to any project and were used to sell the client on the architect’s design. He was so successful that in 1948 the magazine National Architect described him as just about the only professional renderer in Indiana.
His professional drawings from the 1930s and 1940s depict residences, apartment buildings, and churches that it is yet known whether they were ever built or where they stand. One realized project represented by seven black-and-white photographs in the collection is the Wilkinson House in Muncie, Indiana. This Art Moderne masterpiece has been widely celebrated as one of the best examples of this style of residential architecture in Indiana.
This collection consists of manuscripts, transcriptions, and translations from the Archives of the Sisters of Providence of Saint Mary-of-the-Woods, Indiana. These letters and journals, written by Saint Mother Theodore Guerin from 1840 to 1856, tell the story of the establishment of the congregation of the Sisters of Providence in Indiana. They provide valuable insights into the history of education, religion, agriculture, and travel in nineteenth-century Indiana. The materials were digitized with a Library Services and Technology Act grant made possible by the Institute for Museum and Library Services and administered by the Indiana State Library.
Photographs from The Lincoln Financial Foundation Collection research collection, an incomparable repository and resource for information on the life and legacy of Abraham Lincoln.
Established in 1966 by members of the Lions Club in Clinton, Indiana, the Little Italy Festival Town, Inc. (LIFT) not only sponsors the Little Italy Festival on Labor Day weekend, but manages several historic buildings and properties. Among these are la Piccola Casa, the Mercato, and the Wine Garden featured n this collection. Individual properties are represented by images of both the exterior and interior of the buildings, as well as artifacts residing within the rooms.
The Lloyd Masing automobile racing photographs digital collection includes 46 black-and-white prints of automobile race crashes at Winchester Speedway (Winchester, IN), Dayton Speedway (Dayton, OH), and Eldora Speedway (Rossburg, OH) between 1960 and 1975. The photographs were taken by Muncie, Indiana native Lloyd F. Masing of Racing Action Photos.
The Lost Creek Grove Restoration and Preservation Foundation, Inc. maintains six and one half acres in eastern Vigo County, Indiana, as a gathering place and old-fashion recreational area for the Lost Creek Community. The descendents of the Lost Creek Settlement, of which "the Grove" came to be the heart and center, can trace their history to the founding families that migrated to the area from North Carolina and Virginia in the early 1800s. While the organization's interests lie in continuing to provide a venue for family reunions, clubs, receptions etc., it also focuses on uniting generations by recording and preserving the history of the community and genealogy of its families. The Grove may be viewed as a vehicle to ensure that this rich heritage is passed on to the young people who will lead our families and communities. This digital collection contains photographs portraying the people, activities and organizations of the Lost Creek Community.
The Lost Creek Township collection contains digital items primarily from the collections of Jim Webster of Terre Haute, Indiana. The township is located in the east-central portion of Vigo County, Indiana and includes the town of Seelyville.
The Lotz Family Papers digital collection provides online access to correspondence (with typescripts), postcards, genealogy research notes, essays, commencement programs, and other materials from the Lotz family of Jay and Delaware County, Indiana from 1860 to 2008.
The Lotz family was one of the first families to settle in the Jay County and Delaware County area. The family can be traced to Abraham and Nancy (Carpenter) Lotz, whose son, Jacob, married Keturah Winters in Portland, Indiana. Jacob and Keturah had five children: Florence, Dumont, Minnie, Myrtle, and Markie. Dumont pursued a successful career in education, serving on the faculty at Indiana University and Royerton High School, and as the principal of DeSoto High School. He married Nannie (Bloss) in 1894 and had four children: Helen, Margaret, Dorothy, and John. John served in many public offices in Delaware County including Hamilton Township Trustee, Delaware County Assessor, and Bailiff of Delaware County Superior Court 4.
The complete collection of the Lotz family papers is available in the Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
The Louis E. Ingelhart collection includes correspondence, manuscripts, such as essay, lectures and speeches, newspaper clippings, programs and banquet invitations, and photographs. The correspondence files include letters to and from colleagues and friends, as well as his letters to the editor submitted to various publications.
In 1956, Louis E. Ingelhart began teaching at Ball State Teachers College. Receiving his A.A. degree from Mesa State College in Grand Junction, Colorado in 1940, he later graduated from Colorado Northern University where he received his B.A. in Literature and Languages. After serving in the Army during World War II, Ingelhart resumed his studies and received his M.A. from Colorado Northern University in 1947. He earned his PhD at the University of Missouri, School of Journalism, in 1953. From 1973-1979 he was appointed chairman of the Department of Journalism and was an active promoter of the First Amendment's freedom of the press. After retiring in 1983, Ingelhart was named Professor Emeritus of Journalism as well as Director Emeritus of Student Publications at Ball State University. Louis Ingelhart passed away January 7, 2007.
Louise Rooksby Ashton was a life-long resident of Harrison County, Indiana, born in Boone Township in 1912 and living primarily in Laconia for most of her 103-year long life. This is a book of recipes that Louise collected as a young wife and mother during the 1930s. She married John Milton Ashton in 1930, and together they raised four children, farmed, and operated a general store in Laconia. This collection of recipes largely consists of desserts with many cake, pie, candy and cookie recipes. A few recipes for pickles, condiments, and spreads also appear in the book. The pages are well worn and stained as a testament to their many years of use. Entries include sugarless, eggless, and milkless versions of traditional recipes, thus reflecting the harsh economic times of the period. Also typical of the era, the recipes often are simply a list of ingredients with little or no instructions and include vague details such as use "butter the size of a walnut," or bake in a "hot oven" (no specific temperature). Some pages are deteriorated or missing, so some recipes might not be complete.
The Lucile Lawrence digital collection provides access to published and unpublished sheet music collected by prolific harpist Lucile Lawrence, some of which includes Lawrence's hand-written marginalia. Most of the arrangements are for harp, but some compositions also include parts for violin, cello, piano, etc. It also includes biographies and programs from Lawrence's performances.
Marion Carlton Smith (1905-1984) was an Indianapolis architect known for his residential designs, both modest and extraordinary. He graduated from Broad Ripple High School Smith in 1924 and never received a formal education in architecture; however, he gained practical knowledge in construction and carpentry from working with his father during summer breaks.
After high school he went to work at the Henry L. Simons Company, which was known for their exclusive residential building designs. Smith later worked for Edward James Associates before starting his own firm.
This online collection contains examples of 241 different projects dating from 1932 to 1969. The drawings are mostly designs for private residences in Indianapolis; however there are some examples of commercial additions and remodeling jobs. Other drawing sets are for vacation cottages, a fraternity house, stadium, recreation center, Union Chapel Cemetery, and the Indianapolis Mirror Company. Most of the work is by Smith but a few projects are by architects Rollin Shuttleworth and Charles D. Ward.
Otho Winger was president of Manchester College from 1911-1941. His interest in Native American history began when he was a young boy living in Grant County, near the last Indian reservation in Indiana. It was there that he first heard the stories of Little Turtle and Frances Slocum from their descendants. From 1895 to 1898, he taught at an Indian school near Jalapa, where he continued to make friends with and learn the history of the local tribe. Over thirty years later, Winger published a series of pamphlets, two books, and a pageant script that capture a valuable part of Native American history in northeast Indiana.
Established in 1948, the Peace Studies Institute and Program for Conflict Resolution at Manchester College pioneered the first undergraduate Peace Studies program in the United States. This collection contains the Bulletin published by the Institute.
The Mapleton-Fall Creek neighborhood in Indianapolis is bounded on the north by 38th Street; on the southeast by Fall Creek Parkway North Drive and on the west by Meridian Street.
Margaret Gisolo just wanted to play baseball. Little did she realize that playing baseball on the Blanford Cubs American Legion team would lead to a national controversy over a girl playing on a boys' team. Despite that, she was allowed to play and the Cubs won the Indiana American Legion championship in 1928. Margaret kept going. She played on girls' traveling baseball teams, earning money for college and graduating from ISU in 1935. She became the Terre Haute Girl Scouts first full-time executive director. In World War II, she wanted to serve her country and joined the WAVES, becoming a lieutenant commander. Driven by a passion for movement and dance, she turned her attention to modern dance. Moving to Arizona State University in 1954, Margaret developed modern dance from a couple of classes in the P.E. department into a full-fledged department of its own, with programs offering bachelor's and master's degrees. Not content to sit around after retirement in 1980, she played competitive tennis in tournaments around the country in the seniors division. When she retired from active competition in 2000 at age 86, she was ranked first in doubles and second in singles nationally.
Marie Daugherty Webster was a quilt designer, businesswoman, and the author of the first American book about quilting Quilts, Their Story, and How to Make Them, originally published in 1915. The collection contains quilt patterns and templates along with personal memorabilia.
The Marsh and Ryan Family Collection provides online access to photographs and correspondence with accompanying typed transcripts documenting the prominent J. W. Ryan and J. R. Marsh families within Muncie, Indiana from circa 1849-1980, predominately 1890-1920.
The Mary Ann Hooten Peace Movement Oral Histories digital collection includes 8 audio files with accompanying transcripts that document the peace movement at Ball State University during the late 1960s and into the 1970s.
Mary Ann Hooten conducted 8 interviews during the Spring of 1981 in regard to the peace movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. These interviews chronicle student and campus life as well as reactions from the local community during the movement.
The Mary Beeman collection provides access to photographs, memorabilia, and the collected recipe cards of Mary Beeman, a pioneer in the field of Home Economics education who served as the head of the Department of Home Economics at Ball State Teachers College from 1929 until her retirement in 1951. During her tenure, she was instrumental in creating a dietetics program and securing federal funds under the Smith Hughes Act for training vocational personnel as well as general home economics teachers. Upon her retirement in 1951, Beeman received a Fulbright Award to teach home economics at Silliman University in the Philippines and later spent a year with the Beirut College for Women in Lebanon where she helped to equip their Home Economics program with food and clothing laboratories.
The Mary Beeman Historic Costumes collection includes photographs of select pieces of women's clothing ranging from the 1950s to the 1990s from Ball State University's Beeman Historic Costume Collection. Included in the digital collection are images of dresses, coats, jackets, and suits.
The physical Beeman Historic Costume Collection contains over 4,000 pieces of men's and women's apparel dating back to the 18th century. The collection began in the 1930s when the Frank C. Ball family presented Mary Beeman, head of what was then known as the Department of Home Economics, with a steamer trunk filled with items of apparel.
The Digital Media Repository also includes the Mary Beeman Collection which provides access to photographs, memorabilia, and the collected recipe cards of Mary Beeman at Ball State Teachers College from 1929 until her retirement in 1951.
The May Wright Sewall Papers are a collection of documents comprised of approximately 500 letters written to May Wright Sewall dated between 1879 and 1919, and three guest books with remarks and signatures from 197 guests of the Sewall house. The correspondents include people important to the history of Indiana and those involved in national and international politics, social movements, and the arts in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
This collection contains historic photographs of Crawford County, Indiana. This collection includes images from the multiple floods that have occurred in the county, as well as historic photographs of buildings that are no longer standing. This collection was created by the Crawford County Public Library with funding from a grant from the Indiana State Library made possible by the Library Services and Technology Act and administered by the Institute for Museum and Library Services.
Founded in 1965, the Meridian-Kessler Neighborhood Association has served its 15,000 plus residents for half a century. Its boundaries extend from 38th Street on the south to Kessler Blvd. on the north, from Meridian Street on the west to the Monon Trail on the east. Meridian-Kessler is a community of residents younger to older, homes from multi-unit to mansions and everything in between, local businesses larger and smaller, established and emerging, schools public and private, and a variety of faith based institutions. In this digital collection of past MKNA newsletters provide information about positions and debates on land use, zoning, infrastructure, traffic and public safety, beautification, business, education, expansions and innovations, faith based partnerships and focus and the MKNA grant program.
The Meridian Services, Inc. Records digital collection consists of digitized annual reports and photographs from Meridian Services Inc. (formerly known as Comprehensive Mental Health Services), a regional, private, not-for-profit behavioral healthcare system serving Muncie and East Central Indiana. This digital collection is part of the Meridian Services, Inc. Records donated to Archives and Special Collections. This online collection will continue to grow as more items are digitized.
The Arts and Architecture collection contains original documents, photographs, renderings, and prints which depict the area's illustrious artistic and architectural achievements, in both past and contemporary settings. This collection includes items related to theaters, artists, commercial and residential architecture.
Studebaker, Oliver, Wilson Bros., South Bend Lathe... this collection houses information about the companies, large and small, that contributed to making the South Bend area a center of manufacturing and a business hub for over 150 years.
This collection brings together primary historical sources illuminating progress towards full civil rights for all the people of this diverse community, with a special emphasis on the history and development of the African American community.
The Education collection consists of dedication programs, photographs, school bulletins, newsletters and more from city and county schools in the area.
St. Joseph County Public Library's High School Yearbook collection
Historic Newspapers includes The Reformer, a newspaper produced by the South Bend African-American community, and WWII era issues of the South Bend Mirror. 1920s issues of the River Park Free Press will be coming soon.
This collection is from the Civil Rights Heritage Center at the Indiana University South Bend Archives contains materials relating to the experience of people in and around South Bend, Indiana , who describe their sexual and/or gender identity as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, or queer, as well as people who consider themselves allies to the LGBTQ rights cause.
The Local History Collection contains books, pamphlets, and other printed materials that represent the history and culture of our community prior to 1925. Information includes details and images of individuals, businesses, buildings, government, schools, churches, and social organizations.
This collection contains St. Joseph County Public Library's archival holdings related to local theatre, music, and dance organizations. These include programs, photos, advertisements, and other ephemera representing over 150 years of performing arts in our area.
A collection of vintage photographic and colorized postcards which depict the many iterations of the area's parks, streets, and buildings.
South Bend resident Schuyler Colfax was the 17th Vice-President of the United States under Ulysses S. Grant. He owned and edited the St. Joe Valley Register, a local newspaper, and held multiple public offices prior to becoming Vice-President. His speeches were widely published and sought-after nationwide, and he provided leadership throughout the Civil War period.
The St. Joseph County Maps & Atlases collection contains historic plats, street maps, and other maps made prior to 1940. These may include information on landowners and the locations of their property, the location of dwellings, infrastructure such as railroads and natural features such as rivers, lakes, and terrain.
The Middletown Digital Oral History digital collection consists of audio and accompanying transcriptions for oral history interviews conducted with African American, Jewish and Catholic communities of Muncie, Indiana. In addition to the value of these "personal narratives" illuminating lives of Indiana citizens, the oral history collections selected for this digital collection provide research material on populations that were neglected in the seminal studies published by sociologists Robert and Helen Lynd in the 1920s using Muncie as Middletown, a representative American community.
This photograph collection is of individuals and groups of people associated with the military. The majority of the photos date from the Civil War era through the Korean War, with the greatest number reflecting the World War II era. A few photos are from the early 1960s, and there is one 1975 photo of WW I veterans. The collection is arranged into categories of photos of individuals and those of groups of two or more people. Photos of individuals are largely portrait shots taken while the person was in service. There are also some candid photos. A large number of the group photographs are groups of men who are about to leave for entry into the service. During WW II and the Korean War, these photos were often taken inside or in front of the county courthouse, where the men met to be checked in by the Selective Service board before departing. During WW I, the groups often had a more formal photograph taken in front of the first State Capitol building. These photos, both group and individual, generally appeared in the local paper. Research has resulted in most of the people being identified; however, there are some that remain unknown. Anyone with identification information on individals in the photographs is encouraged to contact the Frederick Porter Griffin Center at [email protected]. Please also contact the Griffin Center if you would like to donate similar photographs to add to the collection.
These are but a few of the many Harrison County citizens who have served in the military at various times during our history. We are forever grateful for their service.
This collection of images features just a few of the many mills that once dotted the landscape of Harrison County, Indiana. By the early twentieth century, there were around 50 mills located in Harrison County. The vast majority of these historic buildings are no longer standing.
Mills have played an important role in the history of Harrison County. Mills were often one of the first things settlers built, and communities often developed around them. Throughout the nineteenth century, numerous grist, flour, and saw mills appeared along the banks of creeks and streams across the county. Not only did these enterprises provide necessary products and services that helped to establish the developing communities, they also played a significant role in the social and economic development of the area. While some mills changed hands frequently, milling also was often a family business, and it was not uncommon for a mill property to continue in the same family for generations. Some of the families associated with mills in Harrison County are: McCarty, Mauck, Rothrock, Leffler, Hickman, Zabel, Dyer, Lopp, Pfrimmer, Bickel, Kochert, Boone, Uesseler, Pitman, Rice, Kannapel, and Keisler.
This collection helps us examine what Bloomington and Monroe County were like before, during, and after the Civil War. With only one surviving issue of the local newspaper from that era and many personal narratives either lost or scattered, this collection brings together an assortment of original materials that remain.
This collection consists of a large number of images collected by Lois Ternet, long-time editor of the Monroeville News. Dating from the 1870s, the photographs serve as a documentary record of the people, buildings, and farms of the town of Monroeville and Monroe Township, located in the southeastern corner of Allen County.
Montgomery County in the Civil War features the diary that Henry Campbell, a Crawfordsville boy who joined the 18th Indiana Artillery, kept from 1862 to 1865. Firsthand accounts of life in camp, battles at Chickamauga, and Chattanooga. Notable are the descriptions of the use of the repeating rifle.
The Mapleton-Fall Creek neighborhood in Indianapolis is bounded on the north by 38th Street, on the southeast by Fall Creek Parkway North Drive, and on the west by Meridian Street.
The Charles Morris collection includes the American philosophy component of Morris' working library and his correspondence with a wide range of American and European intellectuals documenting his significant role in the development of American philosophy and the history of science before and after the Second World War. This collection is of pivotal importance for the study of the history of the Unified Science Movement and the related cross-fertilization of American pragmatism with European positive thought. There is also important correspondence between Morris and the Italian philosopher, Furruccio Rossi-Landi.
This collection contains a sample of images and booklets pertaining to the history of Morrisson-Reeves Library.
The Muncie and Delaware County Film and Videos digital collection consists of digitized historical films and videos in various formats ranging from circa 1913 to 1990. In an effort to provide documentation of important events in and around the Delaware County, Indiana area, this rare footage is now available online. Additional films and videos will be added to this collection in the future.
This collection of digitized films includes footage in both black and white and color. Included are films of a tour of Camp Chesterfield in the early 1970s; the Delaware County Council Boy Scout Fair at the Delaware County fairgrounds in 1965; the Westinghouse plant groundbreaking on November 5, 1959; a Delaware County, Indiana fireman demonstration that included fire departments from the cities of Albany, Eaton, Union, Blountsville, Muncie, and Salem; the Delco Remy UAW strike involving the Anderson, Indiana plant and the Muncie, Indiana community over improved health and safety conditions for workers during the 1970s; and the 1913 flood in Indiana that reached various counties along the White River, including Delaware County, Indiana.
Also included are films that were conducted by WLBC-TV, as a part of a segment titled, Week in Review. The station was created in 1953 by Don Burton. It carried all three major networks, primarily CBS, until the early 1960s when it became a primary NBC affiliate. WLBC-TV Channel 49 was sold in 1971 to a local non-profit group, who changed the station`s callsign to the current WIPB-TV. The station was eventually acquired by Ball State University on October 31, 1971 and remains to be its present licensee.
The Muncie and Delaware County Historic Maps and Atlases digital collection features historic maps of Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana dating from 1826 to 1903. Included are maps of individual towns, the twelve Delaware County townships, and An Atlas of Delaware County published in 1887. The towns included are Muncie, Daleville, Yorktown, Eaton and Albany. These maps are a valuable resource for those interested in the growth of these towns and Delaware County during the nineteenth century.
The Muncie and Delaware County Historic Photographs digital collection includes images ranging from the late 19th century to the 21st century.
The Muncie and Delaware County Local History Photograph Album digital collection includes a photograph album ranging from the late 19th century to the early 20th century.
The photograph album included within this collection is a leather bound album featuring prominent individuals from Muncie and surrounding areas. This digital collection will continue to grow and include several albums from the Stoeckel Archives of Local History photograph collection.
The Muncie Art Students’ League Records digital collection provides online access to constitutions, bylaws, and other administrative records; annual reports; art show programs; meeting minutes; memoranda and correspondence; photographs; scrapbooks; and a video recording created by the Muncie Art Students’ League between 1892 and 2013.
The Muncie Art Students’ League was founded in 1892 by local kindergarten teacher Carolyn McCulloch Brady and twelve other Muncie women. Brady was one of several students who had studied art under the prominent Indiana painter J. Ottis Adams. Forty-three women attended the first meeting and elected Brady as the organization's first president. According to its constitution, the purpose of the League was the study of the various branches of art; the bringing together of various art interests of the community, in order to promote a spirit of art interest and appreciation.
The Muncie Board of Education Junior High School Monographs digital collection provides online access to a series of monographs about manufacturers, utility companies, and local life in Muncie, Indiana in the late 1930s. The monographs were published between 1938 and 1939 by the Muncie Board of Education for use in local junior high schools.
At the beginning of the 1936-1937 school year, a plan was developed by the Board of Education to create a series of monographs on various aspects of local life in Muncie, Indiana through which junior high school students could interpret their community. Committees were appointed by the Board of Education to write the monographs under the direction of the Superintendent of Schools and the Director of Research. Teachers, high school students, and officials from the various businesses represented in the monograph series were involved in the project and additional historical information was contributed by the Federal Writers' Project of the United States Work Progress Administration.
The Muncie Central High School Athletics Films digital collection includes films donated by the Muncie Central High School Alumni Association documenting portions of Muncie Central Bearcats basketball and football seasons from approximately 1950-1974. Other Muncie and Delaware County teams featured in the collection include the Burris Owls, Muncie Northside Titans, Muncie Southside Rebels, Royerton Redbirds, and Muncie and Delaware County junior high school teams. A limited number of additional films documenting historic Muncie buildings, Ball Brothers factory operations, and other community events are also included.
The Muncie Chevrolet Plant Architectural Drawings digital collection consists of 104 architectural drawings for buildings erected as part of the T.W. Warner Company, later Chevrolet Motor Company of Muncie, Indiana, between 1918 and 1920.
Building drawings include extensions to the T.W. Warner Co. Machine Shop (1919), extensions to the T.W. Warner Co. Plant #2 (1920), T.W. Warner Co. Machine Shop (1918), Chevrolet Motor Co. Heating Plant (1919), Chevrolet Motor Co. Chassis Small Parts Plant (1919), and Chevrolet Motor Co. Sub-station (1920). They were digitized from the original drawings donated to Archives and Special Collections.
The Muncie Chevrolet Plant Photographs collection includes images from Chevrolet-Muncie in Muncie, Indiana ranging from circa 1950 to 1980 regarding the plant's construction, expansion, machinery, transmission production, company events, and employees.
The Muncie, Indiana Chevrolet Plant began manufacturing manual transmissions for passenger cars and trucks in 1935. In 1940, the employees of Chevrolet-Muncie became a union and formed Local 499 affiliated with the Congress of Industrial Organizations (CIO). During the 1950s and 1960s, the company witnessed a rapid expansion and growth of operations at the plant. Several large additions and new facilities were erected to house the plant's growing product lines.
As the United States auto industry felt the effects of foreign competition and labor struggles during the late 1970s and 1980s, Chevrolet-Muncie began a long process of layoffs and facility closings. As a result of these struggles, Chevrolet-Muncie's ownership changed several times throughout the late 20th century. In 1984, the plant became part of Detroit Diesel Allison, and two years later, a part of Hydra-Matic. In 1990, General Motors combined Muncie transmission operation with Chrysler Corporation's New Process Gear creating New Venture Gear, Inc. The partnership later dissolved and the company once known as Chevrolet-Muncie closed its doors on March 31, 2006.
The Muncie City Council Ledgers digital collection provides online access to meeting minutes, financial registers, reports, etc. of the Muncie city council between 1870 and 1935. Subjects of the ledgers include petitions, fines, affidavits, budget reports, election results, and general city business. Also included in this collection are financial registers (1906-1916) and a Mayor's docket (1904-1905).
The Muncie City Directories digital collection provides online access to 13 full-text searchable volumes of city and rural route directories ranging from 1876 to 1922. A collection of Muncie, Indiana city directories from 1923 to present can be found in Archives and Special Collections in the Ball State University Libraries.
City directories in the United States began in the mid to late 1700s. Often overlooked, these directories are a very useful tool in finding specific information on individuals, businesses, and county and city government.
Individual city directories in this collection are subdivided into four categories: an alphabetical listing, a street listing, a numerical telephone listing, and a classified buyers' guide. The alphabetical listing features individuals who lived in Muncie, Indiana. The street listing features streets where people and businesses were located. The numerical telephone listing functions exactly as our present day telephone directory. The classified buyers' guide lists all types of businesses as well as professions, clubs, societies, associations, hospitals, cemeteries, labor organizations, libraries, parks, playgrounds, and schools. This category acts as the only complete business classification guide in Muncie, Indiana for these dates. Also included within city directories are advertisements for businesses. These advertisements can be found within the beginning of the city directory as well as throughout the alphabetical listing and classified buyers' guide.
The Muncie City Improvement Resolutions digital collection includes city ordinances, resolutions, and other records from the City Clerk's office in Muncie, Indiana ranging from 1891-1922 regarding street, alley, sidewalk, and sewer improvements in the city and surrounding areas.
The collection will be of interest to researchers examining the history of a wide variety of local government and city planning topics including the development of Muncie's infrastructure in specific locations, community support for and opposition against proposed infrastructure changes, and trends in city infrastructure development at the turn of the Twentieth Century. Maps documenting the names of property owners and the location of their property impacted by infrastructure development will be of particular interest to researchers trying to identify property ownership in specific areas of Muncie.
The Muncie Civic Theatre digital collection includes programs and scrapbooks documenting the performances and history of the Muncie Civic Theatre from its inception in 1931 through 2011.
The Muncie Community Schools digital collection includes personnel directories; annual reports; budget reports; and school calendars, newsletters, commencement programs, and other publications documenting staffing, educational programs, and activities in the Muncie Community Schools between 1874 and 1995. Included in the publications is a comprehensive plan for the reorganization of school corporations in Delaware County, Indiana between 1959 and 1961. Muncie Community Schools is an urban school district located in Delaware County in East Central Indiana.
During late 2016 and 2017, researchers from the Center for Middletown Studies interviewed 26 leaders of Muncie-area faith communities to learn more about how they have responded to recent economic and social changes. These interviews, assembled here, focused on the current membership and financial condition of each congregation, the challenges it faced, the extent of its service activities, and the ways in which it engaged with the wider community. Participants also reflected on benefits and limitations of religiously-based civic activity.
The Muncie High School Consolidation Oral History Project digital collection consists of videos and transcripts for twenty-five oral history interviews focusing on the consolidation of Muncie Southside High School and Muncie Central High School. In the fall of 2013, the Muncie Community Schools Board of Trustees decided to combine the two schools and implemented that change in August 2014. At that time, Muncie Central became the district’s sole public high school. The collection includes interviews with school board members, community leaders, and members of the community at large. They highlight perceptions of the process that led to the consolidation and the initial impact of this change. Significantly, the interviews help contextualize this change within the broader scope of Muncie’s economic and social history. This collection captures an important event in local history and creates a resource for scholars studying economic and social change in the nation’s Middletown.
The Muncie High School Consolidation Oral History Project was directed and supported by Ball State University’s Center for Middletown Studies and funded by The Community Foundation of Muncie & Delaware County. C. Warren Vander Hill and Rich Usdowski conducted the interviews between September 2014 and June 2015.
The project also facilitated the collection of archival materials related to the consolidation and the history of Muncie Community Schools. The Muncie Community Schools High School Consolidation Records are available to researchers in the Ball State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections.
The Muncie Souvenir Booklets digital collection consists of promotional literature about the city of Muncie, Indiana ranging from the 1897 to 1924. These souvenir booklets were produced by a variety of organizations, including the Dynamo Club, Muncie Commercial Club, Commercial Publishing Company, Muncie Natural Gas Land Improvement Company, and the Central Indiana Gas Company. The pamphlets were created to promote the city as well as attract investors and industry to the area. The booklets include images of churches, schools, parks, businesses, banks, and homes.
The creation of this digital collection was part of a library student residency in the Ball State University Libraries in collaboration with the Indiana University School of Library and Information Science (Indianapolis) funded by the Institute of Museum and Library Services' Career Transitions Executive Leadership Program.
The Muncie Human Rights Commission digital collection includes correspondence, reports, and other records from the Human Rights Commission in Muncie, Indiana ranging from 1964-1988 regarding appointments to the commission and the commission's initiatives. The Muncie Human Rights Commission was created by a 1964 ordinance for the purpose of studying the problems of discrimination in the city and advocating for equality in education, employment, youth recreation, and housing regardless of race, color, creed, or nationality. The commission of 15 citizens appointed by mayor works towards those goals by sponsoring community programs and education on civil rights, advising City of Muncie departments and officials, and investigating discrimination complaints.
The Muncie LGBTQ+ History Project is an ongoing effort to document and preserve the history of sexual minorities (including, but not limited to: lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans, and queer folks) in Muncie and Delaware County. The collection includes oral history interviews as well as donated archival materials.
If you have a story you would like to share, we would love to hear it and add it to the archive. Please contact Prof. Emily Suzanne Johnson (esjohnson[email protected]) for more information, or visit the project's website.
The Muncie Matinee Musicale digital collection includes performance programs and season programs from the Muncie Matinee Musicale club in Muncie, Indiana ranging from 1893 to 2002.
The Muncie Matinee Musicale club was founded on January 12, 1889. It was organized by the supervisor of music for the Muncie city schools, Miss Nannie C. Love, who served as the club's president for the first nineteen years. The club was composed of senior, student, and junior departments, each having its own officers and each later being affiliated with the National Federation of Music Clubs.
This online collection includes digital copies of the majority of the programs and yearbooks (season programs) contained in Series 2 and 5 of the Muncie Matinee Musicale records and photographs in Archives and Special Collections. Additional material from the print collection may be viewed in the archives.
The Muncie Personalities Pen Drawings collection contains fifty pen drawings depicting business and professional leaders of Muncie, Indiana and vicinity, which appeared daily in The Muncie Morning Star between January and March 1936. They were drawn by Col. Jack Moranz, an internationally known portrait and cartoon artist. Alongside each portrait is a personal profile of the featured personality, including details such as hobbies, family life, childhood, ambitions, and business involvement.
Articles used by permission of The Star Press archives.
The Muncie Post-Democrat Newspaper digital collection consists of issues of the historic anti-Ku Klux Klan newspaper published by George Dale from 1921 until his death in 1936, and continued as a local newspaper after his death until the 1950s.
The Muncie Public Library Historic Documents digital collection includes ledgers and circulation books between 1891 and 1902 documenting the What Middletown Read digital collection as well as correspondence from Muncie's first librarian, Hattie Patterson, ranging from 1874-1881.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Muncie, Indiana Collection consists of 200 maps depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of the city from 1883 through 1911. The maps were produced by the Sanborn Map Company to assist fire insurance agents in determining the degree of hazard and establish premiums for particular properties. Today these maps are used by researchers in a variety of fields, including history, urban planning, historic preservation, and genealogy.
The Muncie Times Newspaper digital collection consists of volumes of the newspaper published by owner and publisher Bea Moten-Foster since 1991. This bi-weekly publication serves the African American communities of Muncie, Richmond, Marion, NewCastle and Anderson, Indiana.
The Murray Jewelers digital collection includes three accounting ledgers from 1924-1934 and one instructional manual on inspection, disassembly, assembly, maintenance, and repair of pocket watches, wrist watches, stop watches, and message center watches.
The Muslims in Muncie Oral Histories and Documentary Film collection contains twenty-two life history interviews with Muslims in Muncie, Indiana, and the hour-long documentary, Muslims in Muncie, recipient of the 2019 Award for Oral History in a Non-Print Format from the Oral History Association.
The interviewees are from a dozen nations of origin and are diverse in race, ethnicity, sect, gender, age, and profession. The interviews, recorded between February 20 and March 29, 2018, address early life experiences and education; cultural and religious influences; immigration and conversion to Islam; religious practices, community, and leadership; life in Muncie amidst national and international currents; and personal stories of being Muslim in America. Spanning from the 1960s to 2018, the film highlights personal and communal opportunities, challenges, and contributions in establishing an Islamic Center and creating a home as American Muslims in Muncie—the city known as “Middletown” in the studies by Robert and Helen Lynd. From a small group of families and students in the late 1960s, the Muslim community grew to thirty resident families and well over five hundred Ball State University students by the early twenty-first century.
Students in the immersive learning seminar “Muslims in Muncie,” funded through the Virginia B. Ball Center for Creative Inquiry, conducted this project with Muncie’s multiethnic Muslim community in 2018. Dr. Elizabeth Agnew, Associate Professor of Religious Studies at Ball State University, directed the project in partnership with the Islamic Center of Muncie and Ball State University’s Center for Middletown Studies.
The Archives of the National FFA Organization contains photographs and slides documenting the activities of its members. The collection is arranged into two categories: magazine photographs and subject photographs as far back at 1916. Currently a small portion of the images are available for searching and viewing online. If you do not find an image that you are seeking, please Ask-An-Archivist and we will search the images not yet available online.
The Native American Museum WV3 collection consists of digital images of artifacts housed at the museum.
Digitized card files of necrology records maintained by the Culver-Union Township Public Library. Each card lists a person who is deceased from the local vicinity and includes birth, death, and miscellaneous information.
"The Neighborhood of Saturdays" is a collaborative research project undertaken by the Department of Anthropology at IUPUI along with a number of community-based organizations, including the Concord Neighborhood Center, Etz Chaim Sephardic Congregation, South Calvary Missionary Baptist Church, the Southside Picnic Committee and the Babe Denny Neighborhood Organization. Through oral history interviews and archival research, students are reconstructing a portrait of this unique Indianapolis neighborhood, located on the near Southside, that was once home to a range of immigrant groups as well as to significant populations of African-Americans and Appalachians.
This collection is a photographic documentary of scenes and places from the perspective of Neil E. Matthew, a professor of the Herron School of Art at IUPUI. His photography, as described by its creator, is "the painter as photographic tourist." It is straight representational photography of the landscape and buildings seen during his travels.
Visual images (photographs and postcards) from the collections of the New Albany Floyd County Public Library and the Floyd County Historical Society that document the history of the area. Images depict businesses, local architecture, river life, local celebrations, and the history of the local schools and churches.
This collection consists of postcards, photographs and lithographs from the visual images collection at the Newburgh Chandler Public Library collection and document everyday life in Warrick County, Indiana.
New Harmony – The Golden Papers comes from the Golden Family Collection, 1795-1996. The original collection, located at the Working Men's Institute in New Harmony, Indiana, was digitized with LSTA grant funds by Indiana University in 2010 and are housed on the Archives Online at Indiana University. Metadata created from the Working Men's Institute's Finding Aid, along with additional research done by Stephanie Riley.
The Newport Chemical Depot (NECD) is a government owned-contractor operated facility, operated by the Mason and Hanger Corporation, a subsidiary of Day and and Zimmermann, since 1986. It is operated under the command of the U. S. Army Chemical Materials Agency (CMA). Originally authorized Nov.14, 1941, as the Wabash River Ordnance Works (WROW), NECD's mission has significantly changed over time: from the production of RDX, heavy water, VX and TNT, to storage of the VX stockpile, and eventually the neutralization of chemical agent VX. In addition to those missions, NECD's mission also encompasses environmental compliance and stewardship and maintaining plant facilities.
The NewsLink Indiana Videos digital collection consists of short news briefs created by NewsLink Indiana, an innovation of Ball State University and the iCommunication Initiative. Presented here are news stories from 2005. NewsLink Indiana is a news service for East Central Indiana. NewsLink staff can be found covering Grant, Blackford, Jay, Randolph, Wayne, Henry, Madison and Delaware counties.
The No Bar & Grill and Bob Chaos Records collection is comprised of: electronic records consisting of flyers and advertisements for, press clippings about, and photos of performances at, the No Bar and Grill (1985-1988), an all-ages nightclub with no bar and no grill located in the Village, just off the Ball State University campus in Muncie, IN; electronic records consisting of flyers and advertising for, press clippings about, and photos of Repeat Performance (1981-1995?), a used record store located adjacent to the No Bar & Grill; and electronic records consisting of music files and photos of cover artwork and inserts of cassette releases from the Bob Chaos Records label (1984-1988), a local Muncie record label, run out of the Repeat Performance store.
The Norene Hawk Diaries digital collection chronicles the life of a Muncie, Indiana woman at the turn of the century.
According to 1910 census data, Norene was the daughter of George and Mary Hawk, and was born in 1878. She resided at 1020 E. Main Street. The three diaries that comprise the digital collection include accounts of Hawk's work in a real estate business located on the Willard Block as well as her job as a stenographer for W. L. Little, providing insight into working women's experiences in the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
The historic artifacts digitally reproduced in this collection are solely owned and controlled by the Muncie Public Library, and not by Ball State University. Inquiries about usage, reprint permissions, etc. should be directed to the Muncie Public Library - Local History & Genealogy @ Carnegie Library (301 East Jackson Street, Muncie, Indiana 47305 - (765) 747-8208).
The Indiana University School of Physical Education opened in 1866 as a private school for the instruction of gymnastic teachers and is the oldest continuously operated school of physical education in the country. The school's faculty and graduates have played a major role in the introduction of physical education into the public school curriculum and in the development of physical education as a discipline. The school, first known as the Turnlehrerseminar (Gymnastic Teachers' Seminary) and then as the Normal College of the American Gymnastic Union, was started by the American Turners, an athletic, cultural, and social organization founded by German immigrants in 1850. The school originally trained instructors for the athletic programs run by Turner societies, but by the late nineteenth century many of the school's graduates were teaching in public schools as school systems began adding physical education to their curriculum. The Normal College, which moved to Indianapolis in 1907, merged with Indiana University in 1941.
Known as "Indiana's oldest LGBT Collection," the Northeast Indiana Diversity Library (NIDL) served as an archive of LGBTQ+ history, heritage and culture of the Fort Wayne and regional area.
Located on West 34th Street, Northwest High School is one of three IPS high schools built in response to rapid suburbanization of Indianapolis in the 1950s and 60s. The school opened in September 1963. The sophomore and junior classes transferred to Northwest from other area high schools, mainly George Washington.
The Northwest Territory Collection consists of papers relating to the exploration, settlement and administration of the Northwest Territory. The bulk of the papers are from the period 1780 through 1801 and relate to the U.S. Army in the West; the campaigns of generals Josiah Harmar, Arthur St. Clair and Anthony Wayne against the Indians; Indian relations; French settlers at Vincennes and elsewhere in the territory; the Ohio Company and other American settlers; and the administration of the territorial government.
The Oakland City Columbia Township Library collection contains high school yearbooks from the East Gibson County, Indiana area including Francisco, Barton, Oakland City, and Wood Memorial High Schools. The collection also contains Gibson County Lines, the newsletter of the former Gibson County Historical Society. Additional items will be added as the collection develops.
OBAT Helpers is a 501(c)(3), non-profit organization committed to providing aid, support, education and economic empowerment to displaced, stranded and refugee populations residing in camps in Bangladesh.
The Official Weather Observer's Records digital collection includes the United States Department of Commerce Weather Bureau record books of Veral D. Merrick, Muncie Assistant Engineer, documenting Muncie, Indiana weather from 1949-1955. These records give special attention to daily precipitation amounts, precipitation duration, and special weather occurrences including fog, sleet, thunder, hail, blowing snow, high winds, and tornados.
This online collection includes digital copies of the entirety of the Official Weather Observer’s records, 1949-1955 in Archives and Special Collections.
The Old School Ledgers are the financial ledgers of Valparaiso University (and its predecessors Northern Indiana Normal School and Valparaiso College) and cover the years 1895-1919.
Oliver Frank "Trixie" Kelly was a Methodist preacher who operated his own photographic gallery as a hobby on State Street in downtown South Whitley from the 1890s until the 1940s. As a local photographer, Kelly did most of his own work in and around South Whitley and the nearby town of Collamer in Whitley County. Views within the collection include area homes and businesses, street construction and paving, a horse show, apple picking, and portraits of local people. Of special interest are the interior photographs of a barber shop, yard goods store and chicken processing room.
The images from the OAH Collection document the leadership of the organization with photographs of their presidents, executive secretaries, treasurers, secretary-treasurers, chairmen of the board, and editors.
The Original Leaves from Famous Bibles digital collection includes sixty pages ranging from the earliest printed bibles to twentieth century texts. Included are pages printed on paper and vellum, examples from incunabula, annotated versions documenting the Reformation, polyglots, a leaf from the 1611 King James Bible, and examples of fine printing.
Acquired by the Library of the Massachusetts Bible Society in 1948, the pages were assembled and collated by Otto Ege and Phillip Duschnes. In 1978, the Bible leaves were purchased by Godspeed's Book Shop. Later, Ball State University purchased the polyglot.
Otto Frederick Ege resided in Cleveland, Ohio, from 1920 until his death in 1951. In Ohio, he was a professor of Art History and later a Dean at the Cleveland Institute of Art. Despite lack of formal training in bibliography, textual criticism, or librarianship, Ege is best remembered for his care and compilation of medieval texts, including Bibles. To learn more about Otto Ege, visit Denison University's Otto F. Ege Collection.
According to the Dictionary of American Antiquarian Bookdealers by Donald C. Dickinson, Phillip Duschnes was born in 1897 and died in New York on July 4, 1970. He specialized in removing, compiling, and selling documents removed from important books, including Bibles. Ege and Duschnes enjoyed something close to a partnership by the 1940s, acquiring and selling medieval manuscript pages.
The Ostland Atlas and Statistical Report digital collection includes the two reports that make up the Strukturbericht über das Ostland (Structural Report on the Ostland), the Ostland Atlas, and the Ostland in Zahlen (Ostland in Numbers). This report was created by the Nazi Reich Commissioner for the Eastern Territories and used in the civil administration of the occupied Eastern Territories, or Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.
The Ostland Atlas features 52 color maps from a rare atlas published 1942. The maps show the occupied administrative territories, its climate and vegetation, population demographics, agricultural status, industry, energy and economic features, traffic and roads, foreign trade in 1938, and the history of the area to 1943.
Ostland in Zahlen is a statistical report on the Ostland also published in 1942. The report covers five main topics: region, population, economy, culture, and healthcare/social security.
Otto Sellers was a commercial and portrait photographer in Muncie, Indiana in the early part of the 20th century. He was born about 1868 in Germany and emigrated to the U.S. as a young man. His photographs document everyday life in Muncie from about 1900 in to the 1920s. The originals were glass negatives from which prints and safety negatives were made.
This collection features a variety of materials associated with the Palmyra, Indiana chapter of the Future Farmers of America (FFA). Items include a large scrapbook of photos and newspaper clippings about the chapter’s activities and competitions from 1953 through 1956. Among them are reports on district, state, and national contests in which teams and individuals of the Palmyra FFA won many prestigious awards. Also in the collection is a 1954-1955 end-of-year newsletter that details the chapter’s numerous activities and events as well as individual member farming projects. The newsletter contains a brief history of the local chapter as well. In addition, there are three programs from the organization’s annual Parent and Son Banquets in the collection.
Cirkut cameras were invented in the late 19th/early 20th centuries to enable photographers to take panoramic photographs of scenery and large groups of people. Indiana photographers were hired to take pictures of family reunions, the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race, military encampments, company picnics, conventions, church congregations, etc.
The Parke County Community collection contains contributions from Billie Creek Village and individuals in the community.
The library is dedicated to the preservation of local history for future generations. Among items in the collection are books, photographs, and records.
The Park Tudor School Legacy Initiative, founded in 2001, connects talented high school students with families and war veterans across the United States in order to preserve documents and oral histories. The Initiative collects copies of unpublished wartime accounts, letters, diaries and photographs; conducts oral history interviews for the Library of Congress' Veterans History Project, and publishes volumes in its anthology series: Words of War: Wartime Memories. Since 2002, more than 480 oral-history interviews with veterans and civilians and corresponding transcripts have been completed.
The Pendleton Historical Museum Collection provides online access to late 19th and early to mid-20th century images and texts pertaining to the town of Pendleton, Indiana. Located in Madison County and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Pendleton is a small town with a rich history. The collection contains the History of Madison County, Indiana, which was published in 1880, as well as historical images of the downtown commercial district, residences, schools, churches, library, rail transportation, and Falls Park.
The historical artifacts digitally reproduced in this collection are solely owned and controlled by the Pendleton Historical Museum, not by Ball State University. Inquiries about usage, reprint permissions, etc. should be directed to the Pendleton Historical Museum via post at P.O. Box 345, Pendleton, Indiana, 46064.
This photograph collection features historical images of Harrison County citizens engaged in their everyday work routine. From grocery clerks to bankers, lumbermen, road maintenance crews, and more, these photographs reveal a wide range of work that has taken place in Harrison County. Many of these images originally appeared in the local weekly newspaper, The Corydon Democrat, as part of a regular series titled "People at Work." An article appeared every week or two throughout most of the 1940s and consisted of the photograph accompanied by a brief article on the person featured. Local photographer Albert Wallace captured most of these images. Additional photographs in the collection also appeared in the newspaper, although not in the People at Work series. Still other images are those among the Griffin Center's general photograph collection that also highlight the work lives of local residents.
In 1971 the Perry Township School Board decided to build a second high school in Perry Township. The new high school would be named Perry Meridian High School. It would be located at 401 West Meridian School Road.
The Petersburg Tornado of June 2, 1990 killed 4 people, injured more than 50, and caused extensive property damage to nearly the entirety of the city. Petersburg was part of an 18-county-wide area of Southern Indiana that was affected by the storm. Petersburg was the hardest hit of this area, resulting in a massive relief effort by the National Guard, Red Cross, Salvation Army, and volunteer from Petersburg and Pike County citizens.
For more information or to lend materials to the collection, contact Matthew Behnke at 812-354-6259 x 206 at the Pike County Public Library Genealogy Department.
PRO is a digital library of primary and secondary sources that supports teaching and learning about philanthropy and the nonprofit sector. Although providing access to the content of materials is our primary goal, the project also serves to preserve the ideas contained in rapidly deteriorating texts.
The PRO collection is made up of images of the pages in the books, journals, and pamphlets. What you see is a scanned image of the actual pages of the original volume. Optical Character Recognition (OCR) has been performed on the images to enhance searching and accessing the texts.
For 75 years, the Philharmonic has provided Indianapolis with entertaining programs while providing local volunteer musicians with the chance to play challenging music together. Nearly 2000 musicians have played with the Phil throughout the years. Today the Phil is the largest volunteer orchestra in Central Indiana.
The Phoenix Theatre has presented productions since 1983. An Equity house, the Phoenix presents the Midwest and Indiana premieres of many popular Broadway and Off-Broadway plays, and has presented 94 World Premieres.
The collection is made up of photographs, booklets, pamphlets, advertisements, and newspaper clippings.
These photographs of Dubois County, Indiana were made available by local residents to preserve and share the history of our county's citizens and locations.
This collection consists of postcards, photographs and negatives from the visual images collection at the Anderson Public Library and document everyday life in Madison County, Indiana. Images of schools, churches, factories, parks, businesses and street scenes are included. Famous notables include Amelia Earhart and James Whitcomb Riley.
The Pierre and Wright Architectural Records digital collection consists of drawings, photographs, 3-D models, and ephemera from the architecture firms of Edward D. Pierre, the Pierre and Wright Partnership, and Edward D. Pierre and Associates, ranging from 1920 to 1960. Edward D. Pierre and George Caleb Wright were responsible for designing many well-known buildings throughout Indianapolis and the state of Indiana, including Bush Stadium, Old Trails Building, the Indiana State Library, as well as numerous houses, restaurants, post offices, apartments, schools and fire stations.
Items in the Pierre and Wright Architectural Records collection depict the wide range of styles popular in the early to mid 20th century, including Art Deco, Art Moderne, Tudor and Colonial Revivals, Modern, and Ranch styles. This digital collection includes images of the drawings, plans, models, and photographs.
The Pike County Library Collection contains photos, scrapbooks, board minute books, and other items related to the history of the Pike County library system.
For more information or to lend materials to the collection, contact the Pike County Public Library at 812-354-6257.
This book contains handwritten log entries documenting the daily activities of the M. S. King's Landing, a tugboat of the Kosmos Towing Co. of Kosmosdale, Kentucky. The log begins with September 1, 1938 and continues through February 1, 1943. At least three different pilots recorded information in the book during this time. The type and depth of information provided in each entry varies depending on the individual pilot who recorded it, but they largely include the names and number of barges towed, the material they carried, their destinations, arrival and departure times, river and weather conditions, and experiences at the various locks and dams on the route. The work was not without its dangers, and accidents and deaths were also recorded.
The King's Landing primarily worked on the Ohio River between Evansville, Indiana, and Cincinnati, Ohio delivering barges full of coal, cement, crude oil, stone, gasoline and grain. It also traveled to destinations along the Green River and Salt River. Owensboro and Louisville, Kentucky were common destinations for the boat, as was its home base of Kosmosdale, where a large cement plant is located. The log also records many smaller towns and ports in both Indiana and Kentucky. In Indiana, locations include Greenview, Yankeetown, West Franklin, Morvin's Landing, Mauckport, New Amsterdam, Leavenworth, Troy, Bethlehem, Vevay, Newburgh, Mt. Vernon, Aurora, and Cannelton. Common Kentucky areas are Birk City, Cloverport, Spotsville, Stephensport, Lewisport, Concordia, and West Point. Some Ohio locations mentioned are Andersons Ferry, Addyston, North Bend, and Sedamsville.
Details of the pilot's log reveal the crew's relentless schedule of barge transport with departure, arrival, loading and unloading taking place at all hours of the day and night. It was not uncommon for the men to depart at 2:00 or 3:00 in the morning and arrive to unload at their destination at 9:00 or 10:00 that night to leave soon after and make another stop at 4:00 or 5:00 a.m. the next day. Fog, snow, wind, and ice could often cause delays, and the pilots recorded these issues. Of particular note was the winter of 1940 when thick ice and frigid temperatures left the King's Landing immobile for nearly a month.
Pilots often made a note of a barge's cargo and marked the quantity in the number of “bbls” or barrels that they transported. The crew also spent a substantial amount of time transporting stone from a quarry. While the quarry is not specifically identified in the log, it is presumably one near Kosmosdale that supplied the cement factory. The King's Landing was occupied in this endeavor, which the pilots refer to as “the rock trade,” for days, weeks, or even months at a time. A portion of the pilot's log contains a detailed chart of this daily back and forth task.
This 1938-1943 pilot's log of the King's Landing contains approximately 145 handwritten pages. About one third of the pages in the book are blank, and these pages were not scanned. Included in the collection are three crew member time sheets from 1948, which were found tucked inside the log book.
Pioneer Painters of Indiana digital collection features items from the Wilbur D. Peat Research Papers, 1878-1958 part of the Indianapolis Museum of Art Archives. The collection contains research materials for Peat's book Pioneer Painters of Indiana, including notes and index cards on Indiana artists and collectors, article clippings, bibliographies, exhibition catalogs, photographs of artworks, and correspondence with art collectors, curators and artists' families. While the book covers roughly one hundred years of Indiana's art history through 1885, Peat's extensive research papers cover additional artists and extended years beyond the book's final content. Peat served as director of the John Herron Art Museum (now the Indianapolis Museum of Art) for 36 years from 1929-1965 and was one of the first historians to research and publish about Indiana Art. In addition to his numerous articles and books on art and architecture, Peat was also an artist himself, gave frequent lectures, and taught numerous classes and workshops.
This is a collection of the Indiana Boys' School Herald newspaper. These newspapers, printed on the grounds of the Indiana Boys' School, provide a rich history of the institution and the daily happenings there. Many local Plainfield residents were employed at the Indiana Boys' School, working in various capacities from teachers, to administrators, to cooks. The Indiana Boys' School was closed in 2005 and restructured to become the Plainfield Re-entry Educational Facility, essentially ending the 130-year life it had as a reform school for boys.
The Portfolio is one of the oldest active social clubs in Indianapolis, founded in 1890 at the suggestion of Mrs. Mary Steele, wife of Hoosier Group artist T. C. Steele. The object of the Portfolio is to bring the various art interests in the community together, promote a spirit of comradeship and foster the appreciation of all the arts.
This collection consists of six elementary school registers from Elizabeth Grade School in Elizabeth, Posey Township, Indiana, and one high school register from Elizabeth High School. The books date from 1943 to 1947 and were primarily used for teachers to record attendance of students throughout the school year. In addition to the students’ names, teachers also recorded data such as each student’s date of birth, their town and/or township residence, and the name of a parent or guardian. End of term attendance and grades are provided in the elementary registers. Teachers whose work is reflected in the registers are: Naomi Johns, Faye S. McPhillips, Violet Rooksby Gassert, Murl Lopp, and Madge Kessinger. Ralph W. Clark was the school principal.
Not all pages of the registers were scanned. Many of the pages in the registers were blank and not filled out by the teachers. Blank pages were scanned only to present a representative page or form where a completed form was not present.
Transcription consists only of names of students and parents in order to assist researchers in finding specific individuals within the registers. Many pages of the registers are reports with primarily numerical information. These pages were not transcribed.
Indianapolis resident Jay Small collected real photo and printed postcards. The images depict locations across Indiana, individuals, interurban and railway stations, bandstands, celebrations, and examples of advertising. Featured here are views and street scenes in towns and cities. The images date from circa 1907 to the 1920s.
The collection houses records maintained at the library, which includes photographs, documents, and public records pertaining to Princeton, Indiana, and Gibson County.
This digital collection provides access to videos of sessions presented at the Print Culture Histories Beyond the Metropolis Conference. This conference took place on March 15th and 16th, 2013 at Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana, under the auspices of the Center for Middletown Studies. It was funded by a National Endowment for the Humanities Collaborative Research Grant. The program featured scholarship that explored print culture in smaller cities, rural locales, and colonial contexts throughout the modern, Anglophone world.
This collection provides online access to the digitized papers of the Prow family ranging from 1776 through the 1980s. The collection includes correspondence, postcards, legal documents, memorabilia, genealogical documents, photographs, and other materials documenting the lives of the Prow family of Delaware County, Indiana and Bloomington, Indiana. It also includes genealogical information on the Evans, Strong, Wingate, and Rohrbaugh families. Most of the documents in this collection were created and curated by Alice Prow Clark.
Alice was born on February 3, 1908 to Dr. Fred James Prow, a dentist and land developer, and Hallie Pace Prow in Bloomington, Indiana. She married Fred Orlin Clark, a medical student at Indiana University, in the garden of her parents’ home at an unknown date. Her brother, Harold Pace Prow, was born on January 7, 1900 in Bloomington and married Maud Imogene “Jean” Wingate Prow. Although he originally intended to work in automotive business, Harold chose to work in agriculture and raised Hampshire hogs with the help of his father. He eventually moved to Albany, Indiana where he died in 1976. He had three children with Jean: Mary Alice Prow Bilby, Priscilla Jean Prow Phillips, and Fredrick Wingate Prow.
Photographs of distinguished Purdue University alumni including the official NASA portraits of astronauts, including Neil Armstrong, Gus Grissom, David Wolf, and others.
This collection consists primarily of images of the Corydon Stone Company quarry, which was located about four miles east of Corydon and operated from 1885 to ca. 1907. These images date to ca. 1895 and feature a group of men dressed in suits and hats striking various poses at dramatic locations within the quarry. None of the men are identified. The collection also contains three documents associated with the Corydon Stone Company, and a few images of other quarries in Harrison County.
The Corydon Stone Company was organized in 1885 by original board members Michael J. O'Connor, St. John Boyle, and Ira A. Barnett. The group purchased forty acres and established a quarry in the King's Cave area east of Corydon. Stone was exported via the Louisville, New Albany, and Corydon (L.N.A.C.) Railroad, which ran a direct line to the quarry, and carried to a mill north of Corydon where it was finished. In 1886, after a devastating train accident led to the bankruptcy of the LNAC Railroad, directors of the Corydon Stone Company purchased the rail line to ensure its continued operation.
The Corydon Stone Company employed some fifty men, and the quarry averaged an annual output of approximately 50,000 feet of stone valued between $10,000 and $12,000. It supplied limestone to contractors in New York, Philadelphia, Boston, and other New England cities for use in buildings, monuments, and bridges. Later principal markets were Chicago and St. Louis.
The R. Milton Retherford House Architectural Drawings digital collection includes blueprints of a Queen Anne Style home built during 1890 in the Emily Kimbrough Historic District in Muncie, Indiana.
This Queen Anne style home was built during a prosperous time in the city`s history. The original owner of the home was Richard Berger, a city alderman, and the architect is unknown. This set of blueprints by the prominent Muncie architect Cuno Kibele were made when the interior and exterior of the house underwent remodeling in 1910 by the owners Grace and R. M. Retherford, the secretary and treasurer of Retherford Brothers Light Company.
This collection, Railroad Maps of Wartime Germany, includes detailed maps of Germany identifying the different state railroad divisions of the country. The six adjoining sheets were printed at 1:750,000-scale. The maps were published by the Army Map Service in Washington in 1944. The maps are based on German railroad maps published in 1935 with revisions from British Intelligence Reports dated 1942.
The Ralph Satterlee Photographs digital collection includes over 800 photographs taken by Ralph Satterlee. The photographs document Indianapolis 500 pre-race and race day events from 1960-1973.
Ralph Satterlee was the editor and photographer of Borg-Warner's Gear-o-Gram magazine from 1944-1972. In addition to documenting company and community activities, he extensively photographed the Indianapolis 500, serving as an official Indianapolis 500 photographer from 1960-1972. Satterlee covered the presentation of the traditional Borg-Warner trophy to the winner. He also photographed activities and people throughout the month of May, including celebrities, pre-race and race events, spectators, and the cars and drivers.
This collection provides online access to a selection of documents from the papers of Ralph Noyer, former Dean of Ball State Teachers College from 1928 to 1952, regarding military training activities at Ball State during World War II. The collection contains over 50 digitized records documenting the Civil Aeronautics Administration War Training Service education program at Ball State, including course schedules and outlines, examinations, manuals, and correspondence. As Dean, Noyer served as the general coordinator of the War Training Service at Ball State.
A complete collection of the papers of Ralph Noyer is available in Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
This collection consists of various pieces of material culture collected from anthropology professor Paul Mullins and his archaeology field school participants. The items have been recovered from various locations in and around the IUPUI campus, and depict an active and vibrant African-American community that once inhabited the area.
The IUPUI Archaeology Field School has been conducting excavations in the Ransom Place and Indiana Avenue area since 1999. Material culture from the excavations along with oral historical research is used to interpret African-American culture, class, consumption, race and racism in Indianapolis.
Formed in 1991, the Ransom Place Neighborhood Association (RPNA) seeks to maintain the legacy of Ransom Place. Established in 1897, Ransom Place has been recognized by the U.S. Department of Interior as a Historic District, serving as the most intact 19th-century African-American neighborhood in Indianapolis.
The collection is made up of photographs, flyers, and other printed materials.
This large record book is a register of Recognizance Bonds in Harrison County, Indiana, from the late 19th century. The bonds were required for persons who were charged with a crime in order to ensure that they appeared before the court at a future trial or hearing. The book consists of pre-printed forms that were filled out for each bond. Only a small portion of the book (67 pages) was used. Most entries appear from the years 1885, 1886, and 1889. There are three entries from 1887, one from 1897, and two from 1915. Charges range from public intoxication and violation of liquor laws to assault and battery, perjury, larceny and other offenses, including allowing a minor to play pool and practicing dentistry without proper registration.
This early Harrison County record book documents the identification marks on the livestock of Harrison County residents. Owners selected a unique manner to mark the ears of their cattle and then registered those marks with the county. In two instances a personal brand was also noted. Entries in this record book appear in chronological order. They begin in August 1826 and continue through February 1866. There is one entry dated 1869. This is a second entry for an individual who changed his previous mark and it is recorded beneath the first entry.
The Register of Marks was maintained by the County Clerk or County Recorder. Individuals who served in these offices during the period covered are Henry W. Heth, Lemuel L. Leonard, N. B. Boone, and Marion Hise. The one 1869 entry was documented by M. M. Hon.
Entries in the Register of Marks provide names of individuals and often the township in which they lived. An index alphabetized by surname appears in the front of the book. Original index pages for "P" and "S" are missing, and the "R" index page has no names recorded on it. However, the index information has been gathered and provided for these missing pages. Also, an index at the back of the book organizes the identification marks by township. Keep in mind, however, that township residence was not recorded in all entries.
Reichenbachia: Orchids Illustrated and Described provides full access to Reichenbachia, a four-volume 19th century publication created by orchidologist Frederick Sander that provides life-sized illustrations and descriptions of orchids.
Reichenbachia, named after the renowned German orchidologist Heinrich Gustav Reichenbach, was created over a four year span from 1886 to 1890 as a collaboration between Sander and English painter Henry George Moon, who provided most of the illustrations. The text was issued in two series, each containing two volumes. The first volume of the first series was published in 1888, with the subsequent three volumes being published in two year intervals.
All four volumes of Reichenbachia are held in print at Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
For more information, visit: Straw, John B. (2004, June). The Many and Varied Charms of Reichenbachia. The Library Insider, 2(6), 6.
The Richard A. Greene Our Neighborhood Articles digital collection contains columns by Muncie Star reporter Dick Greene, b. 1903 d. 1984 . The collection consists of over 10,000 columns written by Greene between the 1930s and 1980s, primarily concerning Muncie history.
Articles used by permission of The Star Press archives.
This collection provides online access to the photography of Richard W. Burkhardt, former Ball State University administrator and faculty member from 1952 to his retirement in 1985. In addition to his professional and scholarly career, Burkhardt was an accomplished and award-winning amateur photographer and member of the Muncie Camera Club.
This collection provides access to 89 digitized print photographs dating from 1969 to 2007 taken by Burkhardt during travel in Europe and elsewhere as well as during time spent at the Burkhardt family summer home in Egg Harbor, Wisconsin.
The Digital Media Repository also provides access to a collection of over 200 speeches delivered by Burkhardt during his academic career at Ball State University. A complete collection of papers documenting the career of Richard W. Burkhardt is available in Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
In 1900, what became the Riverside United Methodist Church began as a Sunday school class led by Henry Marsh at the Old Mound School House that stood across the street from the present church. The congregation grew quickly in two years. In 1903, twenty-eight charter members organized the group into a church. In 1917, the Ball brothers helped fund a new property and building on Wheeling Avenue.
Beginning as a member of the United Brethren denomination, the congregation joined the Evangelical Church in 1946 and the Methodist Church in 1968. After joining the Methodist Church, the congregation officially changed its name to the Riverside United Methodist Church.
This digital collection includes directories, scrapbooks, building plans, postcards, publications, certificates, news clippings, programs, and photographs from Riverside United Methodist Church in Muncie, Indiana ranging from 1902 to 2003 regarding the church's history, the congregation, and church activities & events.
This collection is a combination of two individual digitization projects of the Madison Jefferson County Public Library. The River to Rail collection is the result of a collaborative grant project to document the rise and fall of river and railroad transportation in Madison, Indiana. The Harry Lemen collection consists of photographs taken from 1927 through 1950s by a real estate agent and amateur photographer. Lemen captured scenes along the Ohio Valley, particularly in Madison and Jefferson County.
The Indiana Supreme Court and the Indiana Historical Bureau are collaborating on a major project to gather in one place copies of original documents and research materials relating to Indiana's constitutional history. The IUPUI University Library has digitized and organized the material to make it user-friendly and fully searchable, and serves as the host for this Web-based material.
The Robert Cunningham digital collection provides online access to cartoons, sketches, and drawings created by Robert Cunningham between 1947 and the 1980s. The collection includes original drawings featured in the cartoon series The Corner Grocery, Cunningham’s Corner, Growing Up in Middletown U.S.A., Hometown Funnies, and Meet the Batty Family, as well as hand-drawn advertisements, political cartoons, sketches from Cunningham’s military service in Germany, and Washington School of Art assignments.
Robert Cunningham was born in Muncie in 1928 and was a graduate of Muncie Central High School. A long-time business owner and public figure, Cunningham held several public offices in the area, including mayor of Muncie from 1976 to 1980, and owned the Red Front Grocery from 1948 to 1969 and Cunningham’s Market from 1969 to 1976. As an avid cartoonist, Cunningham would frequently incorporate his drawings into advertisements for his businesses and political campaigns, and his cartoons were regularly featured in the Muncie Evening Press and published in books.
The complete collection of the Robert Cunningham papers is available in the Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
The Robert F. Kennedy Speech Collection includes audio and video recordings, photographs, as well as a transcript of Robert F. Kennedy's speech delivered at Ball State University on April 4, 1968. Kennedy's speech was devoted to domestic issues and to potential international problems that might occur after Vietnam. He talked passionately about hunger and poverty in America and the rest of the world.
The Robert Foster photograph collection provides online access to a collection of digitized photographic slides documenting the global travels of educator Robert Foster and family.
The photographs date from 1966 to 1976 and document culture, social life, architecture, and natural landmarks across the continents of North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Australia/Oceania.
A Muncie native, Foster served as director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs (formerly the Office of Special Programs) at Ball State University from 1968 to 1986. Prior to his tenure at Ball State University, Foster was an educator in the Muncie public school system. He became Muncie’s first African American school principal, holding this position at West Longfellow Elementary School. Foster earned a B.S (1955), an M.A. (1960), and an Ed.D. (1977) from Ball State University.
The Robert Maggs Diary digital collection features a diary kept by Muncie, Indiana resident Robert W. Maggs between February 11, 1901 and February 6, 1902 when he was 13 years old. There is a seven month period between April and December 1901 when Maggs did not write in the diary.
Robert Maggs was born in Canandaigua, New York on October 11, 1887 and his family moved to Muncie, Indiana in 1891. During the period when Maggs was writing in the diary his family resided at 607 Sutton Street in the Riverside neighborhood, a residential suburb north of the White River. Robert Maggs later became a prominent residential contractor and realtor in Muncie, was active in local Republican Party politics, and was a member of several social organizations including Elks Lodge 245 and the Kiwanis Club. Maggs passed away on July 13, 1967 at Ball Memorial Hospital and is buried in Beech Grove Cemetery.
The Robert R. LaFollette Papers digital collection provides access to selected documents from the professional papers of historian and educator Robert R. LaFollette, who served as the head of the social science department at Ball State Teachers College (now Ball State University) from 1921 to 1961.
Materials in this collection primarily document LaFollette's involvement in the evaluation and reformation of German education in the period following World War II. The collection includes reports and writings created and collected by LaFollette and his colleagues in their service as advisors to the Education and Cultural Relations Division of the Office of the US High Commissioner for Germany in the early 1950s. Writings from LaFollette's tenure as a visiting scholar in Germany from 1956 to 1957 are also included.
A more complete biography of Robert R. LaFollette is available on the finding aid for the Robert R. LaFollette papers collection housed in Ball State University Archives & Special Collections.
The Roger Conatser Aerial Photograph digital collection currently contains over 1500 aerial views of Muncie and Delaware County, Indiana, taken by Muncie resident Roger Conatser in 2005. The collection will grow to include aerial photographs from 1985 through 2005.
The Roger Conatser aerial photograph digital collection documents Muncie, Indiana and Hartford City's rich landscapes and landmarks. Featured areas within the Muncie, Indiana digital images are the central business district, Ball State University, Ball Memorial Hospital, churches, schools, agricultural areas, shopping centers, the White River, Cardinal Greenway, Minnetrista, parks, industrial sites, and major roadways. Featured areas within the Hartford City, Indiana digital images are the courthouse square, agricultural and residential areas, industrial parks, and major roadways.
The Roger Pelham Indianapolis 500 digital collection provides online access to photographs, press tickets, parking passes, and programs from Roger Pelham of Muncie, Indiana documenting Indianapolis 500 auto races held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway between circa 1950 and 1981. The collection also contains photographs from a 1939 endurance flight including Eleanor Roosevelt’s meeting with endurance flight pilots, photographs from the dedication of Muncie’s Johnson Field (which featured a speech delivered by Vice President Richard Nixon), aerial photographs of Muncie, and audio and video oral histories with Roger Pelham conducted between 1994 and 1999.
Roger Pelham was born in Shelbyville, Indiana in 1908. He moved to Muncie as a child and remained in the city for most of his life. In addition to his photography, Pelham owned a camera shop in downtown Muncie. In 1950, he began working as a photographer at the Indianapolis 500 using a Leica camera, which he used through most of his career. During the races, Pelham would position himself at one of the turns in order to take action sequence shots of the cars, especially during turns and wrecks. His photographs were frequently published in the Muncie Star Press and the Indianapolis Star newspapers. Roger Pelham died in Dayton, Ohio in 2002.
The Ronald V. Morris American and Indiana History Images digital collection includes slides of historical sites and living history productions taken by Ball State University professor of history Ron Morris in the 1980s and 1990s.
Collection consists of materials reflecting the history of the organization and student life. Materials include oral interviews, photographs, architectural drawings, and yearbooks.
The Ryan-Stradling-Shirey-Puntenney-Tuhey Families digital collection includes photographs, correspondence, account books, business cards and contracts, event invitations and programs, memorial cards, a handwritten genealogy chart, and other records documenting the lives of the Ryan, Stradling, Shirey, Puntenney, and Tuhey families in Delaware County, Indiana between 1853 and 1914.
The Ryan White collection at The Children's Museum of Indianapolis formed the basis for the Museum's most compelling permanent exhibit, The Power of Children, which tells the powerful stories and impact made by three extraordinary children: Ryan White, Anne Frank, and Ruby Bridges. The lives of these youth inform an array of Power of Children programs and events popular with families, students, and educators who visit the Museum. A valuable primary source subgroup of this collection, currently limited in usage, is Ryan's compilation of letters that were written to him as a child in response to his internationally-known efforts to educate the public about HIV/AIDS. To fully leverage this resource and build upon one of its most well-known experiences, the Museum partnered with the IUPUI University Library Center for Digital Scholarship to digitize and preserve the letter collection online. This project will serve as a step in bringing an array of documents and objects related to Ryan's life to audiences through a publicly accessible, online archive.
In 1953, the Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod commissioned the world renowned Finnish-American architect Eero Saarinen to design a complete campus for Concordia Senior College. The result is a campus that first served Concordia Senior College (1957-1977) and now serves Concordia Theological Seminary (1977-present). This digital collection documents in pictures and text how the campus was built, expanded, and used during the more than fifty years it has served to form pastors, deaconesses, and others for service to God and His church.
The Saint-Mary-of-the-Woods College Library collection consists of books about the college including the 1906-1915 view books.
The Sam DeVincent Collection of American Sheet Music contains approximately 24,000 pieces of sheet music, songbooks, and folios. It was acquired for the Lilly Library in 1998. Sam DeVincent who, until his death in 1997, hosted a popular radio show on WOWO in Fort Wayne, Indiana, formed the collection. DeVincent collected sheet music for the artistry of the illustrated covers as well as for the music. In 1988 DeVincent donated a large portion of his collection to the Smithsonian Institution"s National Museum of American History. The Lilly Library collection contains duplicates of some of the pieces in the Smithsonian collection as well as additional materials DeVincent subsequently acquired.
The Samuel G. Bartel Architectural Records digital collection includes drawings for school houses as well as commercial buildings, churches, and modest residential homes in Indiana, dating from 1894 to 1920.
Little is known of Samuel G. Bartel's early years, but by 1889 he was employed as a carpenter in Haughville, Indiana. A few years later he became a contractor, and later advertised himself as a practical architect specializing in building school houses.
The Schenley Distillery Architectural Drawings digital collection consists of 207 architectural drawings for alcoholic beverage distillation and fermentation facilities operated by Schenley Distillers Corporation and its various subsidiaries (listed below) in Lawrenceburg and Greendale, Indiana between 1934 and 1951. The plans were drawn by draftsman Frank C. Hall and include original drawings and printed reproductions. Some of the plans have been annotated in pencil to identify office copies and versions that were considered void.
This county record book dates from 1833 to 1853 and contains information pertaining to the county's various townships, their trustees, and the section set aside in each township for school land. The book contains details on elections of trustees, division and sale of public lands, and enumeration of children within each township. Throughout the book, townships are identified by township and range numbers rather than name. Election records typically list the names of voters as well as candidates and a tally of election results. Elections often took place at the home of a local individual, and this name is also noted. Details of land sales include the price per acre, names of buyers, and mortgage information, as well as some plat maps and land descriptions. The book also contains financial ledgers that detail the accounting of township funds and provide the number of children in each township.
The book contains several blank pages and those pages are not included in this project.
The Schuyler N. Nolan Architectural Records digital collection includes nearly 100 residential and corporate landscape designs ranging from 1937 to 1976.
Schuyler N. Nolan (1894-1981) created numerous residential and corporate landscape designs throughout his career running his own landscape architecture firm in Indianapolis from 1937 until his retirement in 1976. He also designed reforestation plans for local parks and landscapes for churches, colleges, and cemeteries. Unfortunately a flood in his basement ruined most of the drawings from his lengthy career; however, plans for the fifty-six projects depicted in the Schuyler N. Nolan Architectural Records digital collection survived.
This digital collection provides online access to a selection of digitized records from the Schwartz Paper Company of Muncie, Indiana ranging from circa 1921 to 1993. The collection includes Board of Directors meeting minutes; memoranda and correspondence; financial statements and sales statistics; agreements and contracts; abstracts of title, architectural plans, building photographs, and other property records; paper product advertisements and buyers guides; and other records documenting the business and administrative operations of the company under the leadership of Martin D. Schwartz and Helen B. Schwartz.
Schwartz Paper Company, Inc. was established in 1921 in Muncie, Indiana by Martin Schwartz’s parents, Leo and Anna Schwartz. In the early 1950s, the company expanded its operations to a property located near S. Tillotson Avenue along the White River (formerly the Ball Brothers Company Westside Paper Mill). The original headquarters located at 628 S. Walnut Street continued to be used as storage warehouse until the 1970s. After graduating from Harvard University in 1939, Martin Schwartz retuned to Muncie to take over for his father as president of the company, a position he held until his retirement in 1985. Martin’s wife Helen Schwartz served as the company’s vice president throughout his tenure as president. Schwartz Paper Company was sold to Jordan Paper Products, Inc. of Muncie circa 1994.
The Schwartz Paper Company records are part of the Martin D. Schwartz Papers available in the Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
This collection contains records of Scott Township, Harrison County, Indiana. Scott Township was a part of western Harrison County bordered on the north and west by Big Blue River, and on the southwest by the Ohio River. Because of the creation of the Harrison-Crawford State Forest, Scott Township ceased to exist as a designated political entity in January 1939, and the area was made part of Harrison Township.
The digital collection of cookbooks is a collaborative effort between the University Library and the Indianapolis Public Library and will focus on Indiana cookbooks dating from the turn-of-the-century, with a special emphasis on fundraising cookbooks published by churches, synagogues and other community organizations. The University Library has created the community cookbook collection using unique materials from the Indianapolis Public Library's collection of historic Indiana cookbooks. The online collection includes digital images of each cookbook in its entirety, plus in-depth descriptions of each item. The collection is fully text searchable and broadly available on the Web. Community users who wish to "publish" their own copies of cookbooks in the digital library that are not under copyright will be able to do so. The University Library provides sources and information about publishing on demand within the context of the collection itself.
The Sharley B. DeMotte Scrapbooks collection provides online access to 23 digitized scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings documenting the history of Ball State from 1925 to 1954.
Sharley DeMotte, an alumna of Indiana University, came to Ball State in 1925 as a faculty member, teaching English and journalism classes at the college until her retirement in 1954. In addition to her teaching duties, DeMotte was the founder-director of the Ball State News Bureau, the forerunner to University Marketing and Communications, and served as an advisor for all student publications, including the Ball State Daily News and the Orient yearbook.
Her collection of scrapbooks includes newspaper clippings from student and local publications and documents the social, cultural, and administrative history of Ball State from 1925 to 1954. The scrapbooks are arranged chronologically, with each book covering one academic year or a range of years, and are available to be searched full-text.
A significant portion of the scrapbooks in this collection document the impact of World War II on Ball State, including the establishment of branches of the Army Specialized Training Program and the Civilian Pilot Training Program on campus. Articles regarding Ball State students contributing to the war effort overseas are also heavily documented.
In addition to documenting Ball State's contribution to the war effort through scrapbooking, DeMotte was instrumental in coordinating correspondence between Ball State community members at home and in war. In 1960, DeMotte was honored as a namesake for DeMotte Hall in the DeHority Complex dormitory on the Ball State campus. Sharley DeMotte passed away on January 24, 1978 at the age of 89.
A finding aid for the physical collection of Sharley B. DeMotte scrapbooks held in Archives & Special Collections is also available.
Shortridge High School was an innovative educational force in Indianapolis. It is the oldest free public high school in Indiana, opening as Indianapolis High School in 1864. The first superintendent, Abram C. Shortridge, took the unusual steps of hiring female teachers, admitting of African American students, lengthening the school year from 3½ to 9 months and introducing a graded system. The list of school achievements includes the first daily student newspaper in the country and a school radio station which began in the 1940s.
Singin' Sam was the stage name for Harry Frankel (1888-1948), who lived much of his life in Richmond, Indiana. He began his career as a minstrel performer and vaudevillian and became a famous personality in commercial radio. Collection includes personal images and audio recordings of his radio shows.
The Sir Norman Angell Memorial Lectures digital collection provides full-text online access to 6 published lectures dating from 1968 to 1973 from the Sir Norman Angell Memorial Lecture series held at Ball State University. In addition to the published lectures available in this collection, additional Sir Norman Angell Memorial Lecture publications were made available in the Conspectus of History, publication of the Ball State University Department of History.
The lecture series, named after British politician, author, journalist, and lecturer Ralph Norman Angell Lane, brought noted intellectuals, statesmen, and diplomats to Ball State University to lecture on the subjects of peace and diplomacy.
Angell was a friend of Ball State and of Robert LaFollette, former social science department head at Ball State from 1921 to 1961. In 1961, LaFollette negotiated with Sir Norman Angell for the statesman's personal papers and library to be donated to Ball State. On April 13, 1966, shortly before his death on October 7, 1967 at the age of 94, Angell received an honorary degree from Ball State University.
This collection contains images of Saint Mother Theodore Guerin (1798-1856), foundress of the Congregation, as well as photographs of artifacts that belonged to her. Additionally, there are images of several artifacts belonging to the Congregation. Also included in this collection are the three oral history interviews of the project titled Religious Life Through the Generations: An oral history project of the Sisters of Providence of Saint Mary-of-the-Woods, Indiana.
Slovenians came to Indianapolis from the early 1890s through the mid 1920s. The Slovenian National Home continues to serve as a social club for the Slovenian people and their descendants.
The Muncie and Delaware County Small Manuscript Collections provides access to small archival collections ranging from the late 19th century to the 21st century.
Local merchants published Smithville, Indiana s first newspaper, Name It & Take It, in 1897. Later it was named The Smithville News. A fire suspended publication in 1901, but the newspaper was revived in 1908 by Ralph B. Carter, a local telephone exchange pioneer. Under Carter, the paper covered local business, limestone, railroad news, society news, church events, obituaries, criminal mischief, and gossip about who was courting whom - in Smithville, Harrodsburg, Sanders, Fairfax and Clear Creek.
This collection contains engineering drawings, business records, and photographs from the Snider & Rotz Engineering Drawings and Papers collection. Snider & Rotz Engineers was a consulting engineering firm based in Indianapolis that worked with many local architectural firms to design the mechanical aspects of construction projects in and around Marion County. Led by Lewis A. Snider and John M. Rotz, the firm began in 1912 as J. M. Rotz Engineering Company and was in business until at least 1981. In the 1920s, their offices were located in the Merchants Bank Building in Indianapolis.
John Martin Rotz, son of John and Anna Manhart Rotz, was born at Prairieton, Indiana, 12 July 1884. He attended grade school in Prarieton but went to high school in Terre Haute. In 1906, he graduated from Rose Polytechnic Institute (now Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology) in Terre Haute with a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical and civil engineering. Rotz worked as a civil engineer at the New York Central Rail Road Company, the Santa Fe Railway, and the Pennsylvania Rail Road Company until he opened his own firm, called J. M. Rotz Engineering Company, in 1912. He specialized in heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, power plant design, sanitary problems, and electrical distribution.
Drawings in the collection are mostly mechanical drawings for heating, ventilation, electrical wiring, and plumbing on many different kinds of projects from a variety of architectural firms. Types of buildings include schools, asylums, hospitals, infirmaries, stores, banks, residences, hotels, libraries, and restaurants. Architects and firms represented include Charles E. Bacon, Elmer E. Dunlap; Donald Graham; McGuire & Shook; J.E. Kope & Woolling; Evans Woollen; John G. C. Sohn; James Associates; Ewing Miller; Bohlen, Burns & Associates; Bohlen, Meyer, Gibson & Associates; Browning, Day, Pollack, Mullins; and Pecsok, Jelliffe, Randall and Nice Architects. A few unusual designs in the collection are an automatic bottle feeding machine (1912) and a publication selling machine (1913) built by United Metal Parts of Indianapolis.
The Social Change Report Newsletters digital collection includes twenty-two publications, dating between 1986 and 2006. The Center for Middletown Studies distributed The Social Change Report from 1991 to 2006. Edited by Theodore Caplow of the University of Virginia, the Report reviewed important social trends in the United States and was distributed to scholars and opinion leaders in this country and in Europe.
The Solomon Rice digital collection provides online access to correspondence between Solomon Rice and his family. Ranging from 1857 to 1884, the letters document Solomon Rice’s experience serving in the 128th Regiment of Indiana during the American Civil War. His letters describe his daily events as a soldier moving through Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia.
Solomon Rice was born was born May 10, 1834 in Northampton, Pennsylvania, and married Hannah Ann Pitman on October 6, 1859. They had nine children together: William, Gerrard, Martha, John, Emma, George, Solomon, Ann, and Elmer. Solomon passed away on April 13, 1914 and is buried with his wife in Clymers cemetery in Cass County, Indiana.
In 1891 the first space was designated for a Perry Township high school, but it wasn't until 1930 when Southport High School would finally have its own building. This new building, modeled after the Wren building of the College of William and Mary, opened at East Banta Road and Orinoco. In 1958 Southport High School moved to its current home at 971 East Banta Road, in what was originally a Junior High.
Special Olympics Indiana (SOI) celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2009. The not-for-profit organization, brought to life on June 6, 1969, primarily through the efforts of two Indiana State University/Lab School faculty members - Tom Songster and Judy Campbell, has been providing year-round sports training and athletic competition in a variety of Olympic-type sports for children and adults with intellectual disabilities. This collection contains photographs, documents, artifacts and oral histories that record the history of SOI and the achievements of the athletes.
Dating back to its inception in 1944, Sports Car Club of America has served as the United States' most diverse motorsports organization. With competition in its DNA, SCCA is pleased to partner with the IUPUI Library to capture some of its proud photographic history for future members, motorsports enthusiasts and historians.
In 1945, Richard A. (Dick) Greene started his Seen and Heard in Our Neighborhood column for the Muncie Star. When he passed away in 1984, Greene left a legacy of over 10,000 columns and almost 3,000 photographs. The photographs, which were donated by Wiley Spurgeon, and the columns provide invaluable historical documentation of Muncie, Indiana, from the 1930s through the 1970s.
The Star Drug Store Inventories digital collection includes 2 volumes of inventories that document merchandise and pricing at the local drug store in Muncie, Indiana during the year of 1885.
The Star Drug Store, which was located in downtown Muncie, Indiana, was owned by Geo. H. Andrews. The main room was 24 feet wide and 80 feet deep. With a wareroom in the rear and a 20 foot square room upstairs, all sorts of goods were available to the community. According to an advertisement from the 1881-1882 Muncie, Indiana city directory, the drug store bought large quantities direct from manufacturers and importers and was said to have the lowest prices on the purest goods.
This collection of photographs is the result of a collaborative effort of the Starke County Public Library and the Starke County Historical Society.
The Starr Sheet Music Collection, containing over 100,000 separate items, is a rich resource for musicians, historians and students of American culture. It is primarily a collection of American popular music, which extends from the late eighteenth century through the 1950's. The collection was originally assembled by Dr. Saul Starr and presented to the Lilly Library by Mr. Bernardo Mendel in the 1960's.
The Stet Literary Journal collection provides online access to Stet, a publication of the Ball State Department of English sponsored by the Ball State chapter of the Sigma Tau Delta English honor society. The journal, which was created in 1939 and continued publication until 1982, featured student works of literary and creative writing in both prose and poetry along with student art and photography. Most issues were creatively printed on presses through a partnership with the Department of Journalism. The title Stet comes from a printers term (originally Latin for 'let it stand') which directs that a letter, word, or other matter marked for omission or correction is to be retained.
The Sullivan County Community WV3 collection contains digital items donated to the project by private individuals in Sullivan County.
No description available
The Sullivan County Historical Society collection consists of early photos of transportation, farming, people, businesses, buildings, etc. These photos were donated by families and local historians from the area.
The collection contains images documenting transportation, buildings, merchants, street scenes, parades, politics, disasters, etc. in Sullivan County. There is also a silent film depicting various aspects of life in Sullivan County from 1938-1939 and Dr. James B. Maple's Scrapbooks. Dr. Maple was a local doctor and historian who in his spare time researched early Vincennes and Sullivan newspapers for items concerning Sullivan Co.
This collection of local materials documents life in Syracuse, Indiana. Materials are from the collections of the Syracuse-Turkey Creek Township Public Library and the Syracuse-Wawasee Historical Museum.
The Temple Beth-El Records digital collection includes board meeting minutes, monthly bulletins, membership directories, photographs, and other records documenting the history of the Temple Beth-El congregation in Muncie, Indiana between 1922 and 2013.
The Brevier Legislative Reports, published biennially from 1858 to 1887, are verbatim reports of the legislative history of the Indiana General Assembly during those years. The volumes also include veto statements and other messages from the Governor.
The Children’s Museum of Indianapolis Digital Archives contributes to the Museum’s Mission statement “to create extraordinary learning experiences” by providing care and access to a diverse range of digital historical records. These assets include but are not limited to: history of The Children’s Museum Guild, annual reports, exhibit development documents, newsletters and bulletins, historical reference books, photographs of exhibits, staff and events.
This collection provides online access to five booklets created by Facing Project, headquartered in Muncie, Indiana ranging from 2016 to 2018. The booklets include stories about LGBTQ individuals, teachers, racism, and unity in diversity.
The Free Soil Banner was published in Indianapolis from 1848 to 1854. The paper was an instrument of the Free Soil Party, which was formed in 1848. The primary purpose of the Free Soil Banner was to promote the party's candidates, Martin Van Buren for president, and Charles F. Adams for vice-president, and to gain supporters for their cause. The newspapers contain the proceedings of meetings and conventions, speeches, letters, and sometimes humorous jabs at their opponents.
The Allen County Public Library Genealogy Center is a unique and valuable resource for the Northeastern Indiana community and the entire genealogical community at large. It has one of the largest research collections available, incorporating records from around the world.
Since the first copyright for it in 1861, people have found that the small, thin postcard is a quick and inexpensive way to keep in touch with others. This collection documents landmarks such as Wonderland on the eastside, the downtown Traction Terminal, or the Emrichsville Bridge over White River along with the poetry by James Whitcomb Riley.
The Man Haters Film Collection includes a rare 35mm silent movie filmed in Muncie, Indiana in 1915. The film was produced by Basil McHenry, a traveling film producer from Akron, Ohio. He financed the film with sponsorship by Muncie's Majestic Theater and The Muncie Evening Press newspaper. Readers of the Press were asked to cast their votes for the leading actresses using coupons printed in the paper. Filming began in Muncie, Indiana on November 3, 1915 and the movie opened at the Majestic Theater on November 15, 1915. Basil McHenry also produced similar films in other towns in Indiana and Ohio.
The Miller House was designed by Eero Saarinen, with interiors by Alexander Girard and landscape design by Daniel Urban Kiley. The collection documents the design, construction, history, and maintenance of the residence form 1953 to 2009.
The Other Side of Middletown Collection, consisting of over 150 digital images, illustrates the history of the life and achievements of African Americans in Muncie and Delaware County through photographs donated by members of the community.
This collection documents the personal and professional life of prominent landscape architect and partner of the Olmsted Brothers firm, Percival Gallagher.
The Torch is the student-published newspaper at Valparaiso University. This collection, digitized from the University Archives' microfilm, covers the years 1914-1992. On April 1, 1949 (April Fool's Day), student editors began printing The Scorch, a parody of The Torch, a tradition which continues in present day.
The Voice is a newsletter by the homeless voices of our community, and is published by The Creative Change Project. The purpose of The Voice is to raise awareness about homelessness, and to educate the general public. The Voice digital collection contains monthly newsletters from 2014 onward.
The Woman's Literary Club of Corydon was established in 1878 and it remains in existence today. The club emerged through the efforts of Mrs. Anna VanZandt Applegate, who wanted to keep herself intellectually challenged and knowledgeable in addition to fulfilling her roles as wife and mother. She gathered likeminded women in the community to form the club, which was at times called the "Spare Minutes Club" and the Literary Society. The women took their work seriously and expected each member to come to meetings not only having read the literature being studied, but also to be well prepared to discuss at length the themes, plot, and characters of the work. Bylaws restricted membership to fifteen and each member was assigned a specific topic to present for discussion. The women also set aside a portion of their time to discuss current events. Topics range from national and world politics and events to arts and culture and scientific discoveries. For example, among the many topics discussed in 1898-1899 were the sinking of the Maine, U.S. involvement in the Philippines, Rookwood pottery, invention of "the talked of flying machine," a Vanderbilt wedding, and Tesla's plan to harness the power of Niagara Falls for electricity.
Throughout the years, The Woman's Literary Club of Corydon has studied a wide variety of classical literature as well as contemporary works. They include novels, plays, poetry, history, geography, art, science, religion, and culture. The group spent several seasons studying English, Greek, and Roman history and literature, and devoted seven years to the works of Shakespeare, followed by poems and essays of Pope, Tennyson, Carlysle, and others. In addition to their intellectual studies, the club has also been active in social and cultural developments in the community. The group played an instrumental role in establishing a public library, preserving the First State Capitol Building in Corydon, and the formation of the local theater, just to name a few. They have also raised money for the blind, sponsored art exhibits, promoted awareness of women's health issues, campaigned to curb litter, and provided comfort to individuals in nursing homes.
Established in 1878, The Woman's Literary Club of Corydon is one of the earliest such organizations in the state. The Corydon club predates both the General Federation of Women's Clubs (organized in 1889) and the Indiana Union of Literary Clubs (1890), which was a forerunner of the Indiana Federation of Clubs. With its promotion of intellectual stimulation and community involvement, The Woman's Literary Club of Corydon has been a consistent influence throughout the town's history and will continue to be for the foreseeable future. Items in this collection include meeting minutes from the 1898-1899 season, a scrapbook created in 1978 with a brief history and various newspaper articles about the club, various photos of club members over the years, and a collection of yearbooks, or programs, that date from 1909 through 1956. These yearbooks listed the agendas of each meeting for the coming year and included topics covered, works studied, assigned hostesses and leaders, and other details.
The town of Irvington was annexed to Indianapolis in 1902 with the promise of a high school to serve the area. That school finally opened its doors in September of 1938 as Thomas Carr Howe High School, named for a former president of Butler University. The school's yearbook was named the Hilltopper for the original site of the school, a 10.9-acre tract known in the community of Irvington as Violet Hill. The high school was closed in 1995, then reopened in 2002 as Thomas Carr Howe Academy, later becoming Thomas Carr Howe Community High School.
The Thomas Jefferson Bowles family digital collection includes notebooks, scrapbooks and other material related to the life, work, social involvement, and political activity of Thomas Jefferson Bowles ranging from 1886 to 1924. In addition, this digital collection includes a scrapbook and funeral address related to Homer Bowles, Thomas Jefferson Bowles' son, ranging from 1911-1935.
Thomas Jefferson Bowles was an influential medical doctor in Delaware County, Indiana. He studied medicine at the Medical College of Ohio followed by advanced training at Rush Medical College in Chicago and Bellevue Hospital in New York City. He began a medical practice in Windsor, Indiana and relocated to Muncie in 1874. Together with Drs. G.W.H. Kemper and J. Dillon, Bowles wrote the constitution and by-laws organizing the first medical society in Delaware County. At the time of his death on April 19, 1924 at the age of 87, he was known as the oldest practicing physician in the state of Indiana.
In addition to his work in medicine, Thomas Jefferson Bowles was a leading freethinker in Indiana and actively advocated the formation of opinions based entirely upon logic, reason and empiricism without regard for authority, traditions, or dogmas. He wrote extensively on ideas associated with freethought and was in demand as a speaker on the subject. Known as an agnostic and evolutionist, Dr. Bowles formed the Literary and Scientific Association of Muncie, the Literary Fireside Society, Home Circle and Ethical Society.
The notebooks and scrapbooks in this digital collection contain notes, speech manuscripts, and newspaper clippings documenting Thomas Jefferson Bowles' involvement in the Indiana Rationalists Association, interest in the National Liberal Party, and thoughts and remarks on a wide variety of other subjects including breathing, heredity, alcohol, diseases, religion, politics, history, and funerals. In addition, this digital collection includes a funeral address for Homer Bowles and a scrapbook created by Homer Bowles containing biographical newspaper articles and obituaries of prominent Delaware County citizens.
The material in this digital collection is a part of the Thomas Jefferson Bowles family papers, 1886-1984 in Archives and Special Collections.
The Thomas L. Ryan Diaries digital collection includes four volumes that reaccount the life of early Muncie, Indiana resident Thomas L. Ryan dating from 1886 to 1890.
Thomas L. Ryan was born in 1872 in Muncie, Indiana. After finishing his education in Muncie, Ryan completed a course in engineering at the Hoboken Institute of Technology and studied law under his father. He joined his father`s law firm, which became Ryan & Ryan, in 1898. He was also president of the Highlands Manufacturing Company of Muncie.
Ryan wrote in his diaries every day. He recorded the weather, events at school, activities with friends, trips to the library and around town, chores and projects, and special events.
The historic artifacts digitally reproduced from 1888-1890 in this collection are solely owned and controlled by the Muncie Public Library, and not by Ball State University. Inquiries about usage, reprint, permissions, etc. should be directed to the Muncie Public Library - Local History & Genealogy @ Carnegie Library (301 East Jackson Street, Muncie, Indiana 47305 - (765) 747-8208.
The Thomas Neely Diaries digital collection contains five volumes of Thomas Neely's diaries, dating from April 1867 to August 20, 1901. The diaries chronicle Muncie, Indiana events, people, and places as well as the city's response to national news.
Thomas Neely began keeping a diary on January 1, 1860, and continued to make regular entries with few interruptions for almost 42 years. When his sight began to fail in 1897, his daughter Jennie continued making entries until his death in 1901. The whereabouts of the first volume (1860-1867) is unknown.
The Thomas P. and Eva Mann digital collection includes postcards, Westwood property assessments and plat maps, correspondence, birth records, and photographs from Thomas Mann, who worked as a cashier for the Merchants National Bank in Muncie, Indiana during the 1910's and 1920's, and his family. The collection ranges from 1896 to 1959 and documents the Mann family's history and travels.
Thomas Marshall was the 27th governor of Indiana and vice-president of the United States under Woodrow Wilson. He was an attorney and democratic politician who advocated progressive reforms. This collection of Marshall's correspondence with colleagues, hand-written and typed notes and speeches and campaign memorabilia was compiled by John Martin Smith. Smith served as DeKalb County Historian from 1982 until his death in 2011.
On April 15, 1989, Hu Yaobang, the ousted General Secretary of the Chinese Communist Party, died in Beijing. Thousands of ordinary people went to Tiananmen Square to mourn for his death. The college students in universities in Beijing soon turned mourning into a grassroots movement that called for political reform. They requested that the government officials' corruption be stopped, the freedom of speech be truly guaranteed by the law, and so on. This event spread to many cities in China and abroad as well and lasted for more than a month. The event ended abruptly with government's killing of hundreds of ordinary citizens on June 4.
During the event, thousands of media professionals and ordinary citizens recorded the happenings with their cameras. Nevertheless, the images that have survived the time are relatively few. Most of these high-resolution photographs have been exhibited for the very first time because, 25 years ago, the Chinese government confiscated cameras and film to identify and arrest people. A quarter of a century later, many ordinary people, whose faces were accidentally recorded in the pictures, may want to show their bravery to their children. This history has been intentionally obliterated by the Chinese government from the younger generations to the point that many young people in China have no recollection of what happened in Beijing in the spring/summer of 1989. These photographs will serve as a reminder of numerous ordinary Beijing citizens' bravery and are exhibited in memory of those who died for their dreams.
This collection includes over 400 black and white photographs taken Dr. Edgar Huang, a faculty member from the IU School of Informatics and Computing on the Indianapolis campus. He was then a university instructor and a documentary photographer in Beijing. He traveled almost every day to different university campuses, different locations in Beijing, especially Tiananmen Square to record with his Nikon F3 all the exciting and sad moments. "Thanks to my beloved late wife, Lily Sun, who brought the negatives to the United States in 1994," Huang said, "these photographs are now possible to be exhibited to the public."
For over a century, Girl Scouts has served as a unique and vital part of women's cultural history in Indiana. The materials in this collection represent an overview of that history. Included are documents from all four legacy Girl Scout Councils from northern Indiana and parts of southern Michigan: Lakeland, Limberlost, Singing Sands, and tribal Trails as well as early materials from the early history of the organization. These include meeting minutes and notes, newsletters, handbooks/activity books, scrapbooks, slide shows, and photographs.
The Town of Seelyville collection includes town minutes from as early as 1907 along with images of buildings, events and residents.
This collection of trade catalogs contains hundreds of historic advertisements for Indiana manufacturers. It is notable for the diverse industries represented. The collection was compiled by John Martin Smith, who served as DeKalb County Historian from 1982 until his death in 2011.
This collection features a wide variety of images reflecting modes and avenues of transportation including horse-drawn vehicles, steamboats, locomotives, and automobiles. Photos of early roads, bridges, and their construction are also part of the collection.
The collection contains several photos of early bridges and roads in Corydon, the county seat, as well as photos of the Corydon tollhouse and gate along the late 19th century plank road. The Louisville, New Albany, & Corydon Railroad (LNA&C) is well represented, and there are also several images of the construction crew that built Doolittle Hill Road in Posey Township around the turn of the century. In addition, there are several images of a variety of steamboats that plied the Ohio River over the years, as well as various bridges crossing the Ohio. Of particular note are photos of both Teddy Roosevelt and Benjamin Harrison at campaign train stops, and images of a railroad track in Jeffersonville, Indiana during the 1913 flood.
The images in this collection reflect the holdings of the Frederick Porter Griffin Center. Please contact the Griffin Center at [email protected] if you would like to donate similar images to expand our collection.
For more than 175 years, the Indiana Historical Society has been Indiana's storyteller, connecting people to the past by collecting, preserving, interpreting, and sharing the state's history. During its anniversary year in 2005, IHS displayed Treasures from the Collections featuring a glimpse at some of the "jewels" that make the collection unique.
The U.S. Steel Gary Works Photograph Collection is a series of more than 2,200 photographs of the Gary Works steel mill and the corporate town of Gary, Indiana, held by the Calumet Regional Archives at Indiana University Northwest. In images of compelling diversity, historians and the general public can view all aspects of this planned industrial community: the steel mill, the city, and the citizens who lived and worked there.
Umbrella is an art journal that began publication by Judith Hoffberg in 1978. The journal covers news and reviews of artist books, mail art and contemporary art and photography tradebooks. It includes interviews with leading book artists, alternative spaces as well as Fluxus artists. The journal ended print-copy publication in 2005 and moved to an online edition, 2006-2008. Soon after ceasing hard-copy publication in 2005, permission was granted to the Herron Art Library of IUPUI University Library to digitize the 1978-2005 journal run and provide access over the World Wide Web. Permission was later extended to cover the electronic format as well. This collection contains the full journal run, print and electronic, 1978-2008. This is an important collection for the study of the genre. Online access has proved to be of great value to researchers. It is a great honor for the Herron Library to serve as a gateway to this resource and continue Judith's vision to provide access to the wealth of information provided across the collection. The library staff is in the process of moving this material to Public Knowledge Project's Open Journal System so that the journal will continue Judith's vision in an open-access environment. This collection is dedicated to the memory and important work of Judith Hoffberg.
This collection provides online access to a selection of digitized records from the Unitarian Universalist Church of Muncie, Indiana ranging from 1850 to 1993. The collection includes annual reports, governance documents, meeting minutes, education and ministry records, membership records, church service records, architectural drawings, construction and property records, scrapbooks, photographs, and audio recordings.
A digital repository of unique U.S. Civil War materials from East Central Indiana that includes letters, diaries, photographs, videotaped readings, and other Civil War documentation.
The UniverCity Videos collection provides online access to 44 digitized videos of lectures, presentations, performances, and cultural and educational events from Ball State University's UniverCity programs.
Inspired by the Chautauqua adult education movement, UniverCity refers to a series of multi-day cultural programs planned by Ball State University for the benefit of the Ball State and Muncie communities that began in 1988 and occurred again in 1990, 1992, 2000, and 2002. Events included talks and lectures given by scholars, artists, advocates, and other speakers as well as artistic performances, cultural demonstrations, and panel discussions and were held both on and off campus. Themes for the five UniverCity celebrations were An Agenda for a Living Planet, Uncommon Ground, Touching Home, Time to Time, and Celebrate Community respectively.
This collection contains digitized versions of video recordings held in Ball State University Archives and Special Collections.
Urban Displacement and the Making of a University is very much a work in progress! We're taking extra time and care to describe collections in the most useful ways possible—watch this space while we continue to add to the collection.
Urban Times is a monthly newsmagazine (published every month except January) which serves as the "official neighborhood newsletter" for thirteen Indianapolis neighborhoods. Urban Times is also heavily committed to news of the business community in the newsmagazine's distribution area, as well as development news and arts-and-entertainment news. Urban Times was launched in August 2005 when editor and publisher Bill Brooks merged two neighborhood newsletters, The Lockerbie Letter and The Keyhole (The Old Northside), adding Chatham Arch and St. Joseph. Since that time, the other neighborhoods have petitioned to join the family.
The digitized yearbook collection includes annuals covering the period from the late 1890s up to a decade ago. The yearbooks were issued under three titles throughout the history of Valparaiso University and its predecessor, Northern Indiana Normal School. There are also various annuals from the late 1890s-1917 named after specific classes (Scientific, Classic, Professional, and Medical).
The Vermillion County Community collection contains digital items donated to the project by private individuals in Vermillion County.
The Vernon Freeman Family Papers and Photographs digital collection includes financial records, real estate records, correspondence, minutes, photographs and other material from the Vernon Freeman family in Delaware County, Indiana ranging from 1850 to 2009 regarding the operations of the Freeman family farm, the establishment of the Farmington Subdivision and Farmington Meadows planned communities, and the lives of the Freeman and Russell families. Specific topics documented in this digital collection include farm management, the transition from agribusiness to residential property development, and the growth of planned communities in the United States beginning in the 1960s.
This collection provides free online access to a selection of the papers of Victor B. Lawhead, former Ball State University education professor and administrator from 1950 to 1984 and U.S. Navy veteran, serving in the Pacific Theater in World War II.
The bulk of the collection dates from 1940 to 1953, documenting Lawhead’s Naval career during which he served on a minesweeper in the Pacific Ocean; he later served in the U.S. Naval Reserve. The collection includes U.S. Navy newspapers and periodicals, notebooks and training manuals, U.S. Navy reports, and guidebooks and language guides published for U.S. Navy personnel.
A complete collection of the papers of Victor B. Lawhead documenting his Naval and academic career is available at Ball State University Archives & Special Collections.
The Vietnam War Era Veterans Oral Histories digital collection includes 26 oral histories conducted by students from Michael W. Doyle's HIST 499 Oral History Workshop course in Fall 2009.
The students enrolled in the immersive-learning course learned methods of oral history research and conducted interviews with local military veterans of the Vietnam era. The interviews were recorded using HD technology.
The Vietnam Moratorium Committee digital collection provides online access to a scrapbook of newspaper clippings pertinent to the Ball State University chapter of the National Vietnam Moratorium Committee, active on campus from 1969 through 1970, as well as to photos, videos, programs, schedules of events, and posters for the 50th Anniversary Reunion and Conference, held October 10-11, 2019.
The National Vietnam Moratorium Committee was a nation-wide demonstration and teach-in against the United States’ involvement in the war in Vietnam, initially vowing only to disband after American troops were removed from Vietnam or a negotiation was reached. Many smaller committees were formed on college campuses around the country, including at Ball State. The Ball State chapter organized numerous local protests, marches, anti-draft events, etc. from 1969 through 1970. The national committee disbanded at the end of April 1970 due to changing methods of demonstration/protest, with the Ball State chapter disbanding concurrently.
On October 10, 2019, a 50th anniversary reunion of the members of the Ball State chapter was held on the Ball State campus, followed the next day by a day-long conference focusing on the history of the Committee on campus; peace and social justice activism; social movement leadership; the reintegration of returning soldiers into society and the campus; and a keynote speech by David Harris, a veteran anti-war activist and journalist.
The Vigo County Community collection contains digital itms donated to the project by private individual in Vigo County. It also contains digital images from the Clabber Girl Museum displays and photographs of buildings, products and employees from its 150 year history.
The Vigo County Historical Society contains the following collections: dolls, photographs, greeting cards, and Wabash Valley Profiles, a series of tributes to hometown people and events that have shaped our history.
Digitized books and pamphlets make up the core of the collection with such items as histories of Vigo County and Terre Haute, pictorial histories, school publications, specialized materials in African-American and women's history, and pamphlets documenting local institutions and organizations. Oral history transcripts, photographs, Civil War letters and transcriptions, and other materials recording the history of the area round out the remainder of the collection.
These collections from the Bryon R. Lewis Historical Library at Vincennes University highlight the importance of Vincennes, Indiana's oldest city, and the state's oldest college to early Indiana statehood. Initial collections to be digitized include the early family papers reflecting the city's French heritage, documents reflecting the origins of higher education in Indiana, and selected early Knox County government records.
This digital collection contains drawings for 16 building projects by the Indianapolis architecture firm Vonnegut & Bohn and subsequent firms, dating from 1902-1949. Also included are portraits of the firm’s principals and photographs of their projects; these were assembled as framed photo collages in the firm’s office. The collection is part of the larger Wright, Porteous, and Lowe Architectural Records, and is the first series of the collection to be digitized.
W. A. Swift was born in Metamora, Indiana, on August 17, 1877. He moved to Muncie in 1918 and was working for the Delaware Engraving Company as a photographer by 1923. He was a commercial photographer in Muncie through the 1940s. The collection documents both the ordinary and extraordinary events of daily life in Muncie, primarily in the 1920s.
Wabash Historical Images is a collection of digital images taken from the Robert T. Ramsay Archival Center at Wabash College.
This collection includes materials pertaining to the National Horse Thief Detective Association, proceedings of twenty-six annual NHTDA meetings held between 1878 and 1932, complete minutes of meetings and ledgers of the Waynetown Detective Company from 1866 to 1934, as well as constitutions, by-laws, and articles of association of local chapters, miscellaneous documents, personal accounts, letters, newspaper articles, two essays on NHTDA and vigilantism in Indiana, and other related items.
The mission of the Wabash Valley Genealogy Society is to promote genealogy, educate, support the collections and services of the library, and to preserve the heritage and history of the Wabash Valley families who settled here.
This collection contains a wide variety of images taken by Corydon, Indiana residents Walter (Ham) Fried and his wife, Mina Redden Fried, during the 1950s and 1960s. Walter Hamilton Fried (1908-1975), who commonly went by "Ham," served as postmaster in Corydon from 1949 to 1970. He played a prominent role in having the U. S. Postal Service issue the Indiana Sesquicentennial commemorative stamp in Corydon as part of the state’s Sesquicentennial celebration. The April 1966 "Stamp Day" was a kick-off event for the state and drew a large crowd and several dignitaries to Corydon. Images of the day, as well as the large Sesquicentennial parade that followed, are represented in this collection.
From 1970-1978, inspired at least in part by the US War on Poverty, the British government funded 12 Community Development Projects (CDP) in some of the most impoverished neighborhoods in England, Scotland and Wales. The CDPs were given resources to hire paid community workers to work alongside community residents toward the goal of ameliorating deleterious local conditions. The projects began in a spirit of great optimism and although they were expected to be short-lived, by 1978, all twelve projects had been de-funded and were shut down, some amidst a great deal of acrimony. In a few cases a successor project, scaled back and with a more modest brief, continued. The programme as a national anti-poverty initiative, however, ended.
In the tumultuous political climate of 1970s Britain, many of the community workers hired to staff the projects ended up developing radical critiques of the government's policies on poverty, including criticisms of the CDP, itself. In addition, in working with residents of beleaguered communities to secure vital resources, the CDP workers created additional controversy by engaging in direct confrontations with their local councils, who actually paid a portion of their salaries.
Each of the 12 projects included both an action team and a research team. The extent to which these functions overlapped one another varied from project to project depending on the local personnel. In any case, over the course of the CDP's lifespan, both the local teams and a central research team, which was established later in the life of the Projects and which continued into the early 1980s, after the local Projects had been disbanded, produced an extraordinary corpus of reports in which they analyzed the causes and consequences of poverty. These reports contain astonishingly prescient documentations of the process of de-industrialization and the changing policy initiatives that once constituted Britain's comprehensive welfare state.
Warren Central High School and Warren Township were named for Joseph Warren, a Revolutionary War doctor and patriot who died in the battle of Bunker Hill. The original Warren Central opened in January 1925 at the corner of 10th Street & Post Road on the far eastside of Indianapolis.
This expanding collection will include the full text content of a variety of pamphlets and books related to the history of Wayne County, Indiana.
The Wayne M. Weber Architectural Records digital collection includes images and drawings of covered bridges around the state of Indiana that reflect Weber's nearly 30 years of photographing, documenting and preserving these unique architectural marvels.
Wayne M. Weber (1905-1984), Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, was an accomplished architect and architectural photographer, as well as a passionate aficionado of historic covered bridges. In addition to covered bridges, the collection contains photographs depicting Indiana buildings designed in the 1940s-1970s by Weber's firm and other architects.
A Justice of the Peace docket book for Webster Township, Harrison County, Indiana, that dates from 1893 through 1922. The docket contains entries of court cases that were brought before local justices of the peace by township residents. The cases reflect the daily lives and conflicts of residents throughout the period and include charges of unpaid debts, provocation, assault and battery, bastardy, property conflicts, and other offenses. The records include names of plaintiffs and defendants, as well as those of witnesses, constables, and attorneys. Justices of the Peace during the time frame covered are: Frederick J. Lillpop (1893-1895, 1903-1909), Levi H. McKinney (1897-1898), George A. Johnson (1899-1902), and Jacob G. Ging (1912-1922). Various cases in the docket book have original documents, such as promissory notes or receipts of payments, attached to the record. These attachments have been scanned and transcribed and are included in the collection. Blank or missing pages were not included. Pages 218-221 in the book are stuck together and were not included. An index of plaintiffs' names appears at the front of the book; however, it does not appear to be complete. It is recommended that users search for a name using the search box. There are two three-year gaps in which no records are recorded in this book. There are no entries from February 1906 through January 1909, and from July 1909 to July 1912.
A note about transcription: These records were handwritten and while the majority of the book is easily readable, there are portions that are difficult to read and some that are indecipherable. In these instances, a bracketed question mark [?] indicates a word or phrase that was questionable or totally unreadable.
This collection includes images of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Westchester Township in Porter County, located in the dunes country of northern Indiana. The postcards, photographs, and business cards reflect the community's commercial, industrial, cultural, and social development.
These digital collections are part of the History of Western Medicine in China project. The project contains archive guides, primary sources, digitized materials—selected to assist lay people and undergraduate students, as well as established scholars and graduate students. Most sources to date focus on the period from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the formation of the People's Republic of China.
The Whitko Community Digital Collection consists of images of five townships of the Whitko area in northeastern Indiana. Many residents and groups have loaned photographs for this ongoing project to document our community from past to present.
The Wilkinson Lumber Company Architectural Drawings digital collection contains 144 drawings made in the 1930s by the design service bureau of the Wilkinson Lumber Company. These drawings represent plans for 51 houses and one boat dock. Only one set of drawings is associated with an address; the others appear to be stock plans that customers could purchase to build their house. This practice was widespread among lumber companies; several offered similar services, and many continue the practice.
The Wilkinson Lumber Company was named for Indianapolis businessman Allen A. Wilkinson. Wilkinson attended a business college in Glens Falls, New York, as a teenager before moving to the Midwest with his parents. He started his business career in Muncie, Indiana, in 1882. Ten years later, he and his wife moved to Indianapolis, where he became secretary-treasurer of S. L. Greer Lumber Co., a business owned by his brother-in-law. Eventually, he gained an ownership interest in the business, which became Greer-Wilkinson and then, in 1906, the Allen A. Wilkinson Lumber Co.
By the time of his death in 1929, he had opened 36 branch locations and had built a massive woodworking and joinery shop at 907 E. Michigan St. in Indianapolis. Anna Greer Wilkinson assumed control of the business upon Allen's death and ran it through the late 1930s. About 1946-47, the name of the firm was changed to Midland Building Industries. The building on Michigan St., then known as the Midland Building, remained actively used for lumber purposes into the 1970s. It was later turned into the Midland Antique Mall.
This collection comprises the correspondence and speeches ranging from 1922 to 1945 from the Will H. Hays collection (L560) at the Indiana State Library. Hays served as the Republican National Committee chairman during 1918-1921 and was the campaign manager for President Warren Harding in 1920. Harding appointed Hays as postmaster general in 1921. Hays later became president of the Motion Picture Producers and Distributors of America (MPPDA) from 1922 to 1945, where he established the Hays Code of acceptable content for motion pictures produced for a public audience.
Digitization of the Will H. Hays collection is made possible through grant funding from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC).
The William Conner Farm Architectural Drawings collection contains site plans and architectural drawings of the William Conner Farm in Fishers, Indiana, created by architect Robert Frost Daggett.
In 1934, pharmaceutical executive Eli Lilly purchased the crumbling, early 1800s Conner house and farm and immediately began to stabilize and restore the house. Lilly hired Daggett, a prominent local architect who had designed Lilly's home just a few years earlier, to oversee the structural work as well as build other homes and outbuildings on the property during the time Lilly operated the property as a farm. He later donated the house and property, which is now known as the Conner Prairie Interactive History Park.
The drawings in this collection reflect Daggett's work on the property, including the Conner house, a garage, well house, and a brick cottage built for Tillman Bubenzer, who worked as Lilly's farm foreman.
William Henry Harrison was elected the 9th President of the United States in 1840, served as the Indiana Territory's first governor, defended the frontier from Native American insurgents, and commanded the Army of the Northwest from 1812 to 1814. The Harrison Collection contains correspondence (personal, governmental and military), legal papers and engraved portraits. Although Harrison's secretary penned some correspondence, most were handwritten and signed by Harrison.
This collection provides online access to a selection of digitized materials from the papers of William Sutton, Professor of English at Ball State University from 1947 to 1981 whose academic interests included 20th Century American literature and poetry.
The collection contains 90 documents dating from Sutton's tenure at Ball State University, and includes professional correspondence pertaining to his research, original scholarship and writings, Ball State University administrative documents, and original research materials and publications related to gender bias in the English language. The collection also contains documents pertaining to matters of civil rights, affirmative action, and Sutton's service on the Muncie Human Rights Commission as well as correspondence between Sutton and prominent authors regarding English education practices and the interpretation of literature. Available in this collection is correspondence with prominent authors including Pearl Buck, John Dos Passos, Allen Ginsberg, Archibald MacLeish, W.D. Snodgrass, and Robert Penn Warren.
The complete collection of the papers of William Sutton is available at Ball State University Archives & Special Collections.
Family photographs of William Vincent Wheeler, founder of Wheeler Mission Ministries of Indianapolis.
The collection consists of scrapbooks created by local and national newspaper columnist, William W. Dinkle (1873-1940) and presents the most complete history of the theatre in South Bend, Indiana and the surrounding areas during the time period of 1890 to 1940. Interwoven in the theatrical collection featuring interviews and photographs of prominent stars of the era are programs, articles and photographs that pertain to circuses.
This digital collection consists of documentary videos produced by WIPB-TV. Included are Andy Baumgartner - 1999 National Teacher of the Year, Ed Ball's Century, Gene Stratton Porter: Voice of the Limberlost, and Movers & Stakers: Stories along the Indiana National Road.
WIPB-TV is a member station of the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) and Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations (IPBS). WIPB-TV is also part of the Ball State University Media Services.
Running from 1977 to 1983, Womankind was a local feminist newspaper, conceived by, and published for women. Many of the writers have IUPUI roots including founding, regular author and IUPUI English professor, Rebecca Pitts. The newspaper includes editorials, research, poetry, stories, ads, and reviews of local exhibitions.
This collection comprises materials related to women's history in Indiana, including letters, papers, photographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and other published and unpublished materials, from and about Indiana women, both ordinary and extraordinary. Women's history encompasses the agency of women as individuals and in organizations, daily life, contributions to society, and movements, particularly women’s rights. New materials will be added to the collection on a regular basis.
The Woodburn Historical Society Collection consists of photographs depicting life in the town of Woodburn and surrounding Maumee Township from the late nineteenth through twentieth centuries. The collection also contains photographs of several of the town's founders and civic leaders, as well as pictures of schools and rare images of two of the early log cabins in the township.
The collection provides online access to 22 azimuthal equidistant maps where the center point is represented by different world cities—Kinshasa, Frankfurt, Panama City, Cairo, Moscow. The azimuthal equidistant map projection is a technique where all points on the map are drawn at proportionately correct distances from a center point. Map projections are techniques of cartography used to accurately construct maps on a flat surface to represent the earth’s spherical shape. The collection offers users unique world views and provides a valuable research tool for teachers and students of geography.
This collection comprises materials related to World War I history in Indiana, including letters, papers, photographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and other published and unpublished materials, from and about Indiana's involvement, both ordinary and extraordinary.
The World War II Films digital collection consists of short films and news clips, primarily in black and white, documenting Allied operations and activities during WWII. In addition to footage of campaigns in Europe and in the Pacific, the films document activities on the homefront, including the efforts of African American colleges and farmers, the relocation and internment of Japanese civilians, and the victory garden program sponsored by the U.S. Office of Civilian Defense. The films are housed in Ball State University Libraries Educational Technology and Resources Collection.
The World War II Government Publications digital collection includes 102 pamphlets published by United States Office of Civil Defense (OCD) and other government agencies during World War II. The aim of the pamphlets was to educate the public on subjects such as blackouts/air raids, civilian defense, communities/housing, construction, education, victory gardens, fire/police, medical service, industrial plants/buildings, roads/traffic, veteran information and volunteer information. This collection includes pamphlets published specifically for citizens of Muncie and Indiana as well as pamphlets with national focus.
When the United States entered World War I in April of 1917, President Woodrow Wilson established the Committee on Public Information (CPI) and its offshoot, the Division of Pictorial Publicity (DPP) to promote public support. Some of the finest artists of the day created posters to spread the word, including Indiana native Gaar Williams. The subjects covered enlistment in the armed forces, conservation, industrial mobilization, subscriptions to Liberty Loans, and other patriotic duties.
The World War I Posters from the Elisabeth Ball Collection is a representative sampling of more than 2,000 WWI lithographs from Italy, France, Belgium, England, Australia, Germany, the United States, and other countries collected by Elisabeth Ball (1897-1982), daughter of Frances and George Ball. Ball State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections houses the original lithographs plus slide copies of each image available for public use.
The Wysor's Grand Opera House Programs digital collection includes over 40 season programs ranging from 1897-1902.
Jacob Henry Wysor built the Wysor's Grand Opera House in 1892 on the corner of Jackson and Mulberry Streets in Muncie. J. H. Wysor was a prominent Muncie businessman who accumulated nearly a half million dollars through his real estate interests, a trip to California during the Gold Rush, and various business ventures.
Harry Richardson Wysor, J. H. Wysor's son, was the general manager from 1892 to the early 1900s. The opera house held many stage productions during its 70-year career, as well as movies beginning in the 1920s. In its prime, as many as four different plays or shows were performed each night.
The Wysor's Grand Opera House was razed in 1963.
The Yellow Trail Research Center, in Hope, Indiana, is a small but dynamic library with a mass of historical and genealogical materials; it is a branch of the Yellow Trail Museum, which also has a significant collection of historical materials and artifacts. The collection consists of several thousand items: documents, photographs, diaries, memoirs, artifacts, and other materials, dating back as far back as the founding of the town of Hope in 1830.
The Yorktown-Mt. Pleasant Township Historical Alliance Collection includes 194 photographs and newspaper clippings from the organization's collections. The materials document the history of Yorktown and Mt. Pleasant Township, Indiana from 1888 to 2007.
Founded in 2004, the mission of the Yorktown-Mt. Pleasant Township Historical Alliance is to create a physical destination for community historical artifacts to be displayed and enjoyed by the community and community resource for school age children, college students, and others to engage in research for further education. This digital collection is a collaborative project between Ball State University Libraries and the Yorktown-Mt. Pleasant Township Historical Alliance.
To contact the Yorktown-Mt. Pleasant Township Historical Alliance, call 765-759-6119 or email [email protected].
Indiana Memory is made possible through the collaborative efforts of academic libraries, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives to create and share their digital collections reflecting Indiana's cultural heritage. These collections reside on CONTENTdm servers across the state. To learn more about these digital collections, follow the links to the left.
Currently, Indiana Memory aggregates over 700,000 items in 718 collections.