Studebaker Fountain 1910

Description: Front: Script on image reads, Studebaker Spring, Winona Lake, Ind.Back: Message reads, July 28- 1910. Having a fine time. We ate our dinner at this cottage. It is so cool and nice up here. We saw Brother Hasty here. Laura and Emily. Addressed to, Mr. and Mrs. P.W. Franklin, 1221 E. Jackson, Muncie, Indiana.
The sidewalk to the left leads to the Auditorium and the sidewalk to the right goes to the Billy Sunday Home and the Grotto Spring.Studebaker Fountain was a gift of John M. Studebaker. Studebaker, one of several brothers to form Studebaker Wagon Corporation which became Studebaker Brothers Manufacturing and later became a builder of Studebaker automobiles in South Bend, Indiana. John Studebaker was on the Board of Directors of the Winona Assembly and like some of the other directors he made a material donation to Winona. McDonald funded the island, Heinz gave several pieces of public art and Duke donated an elaborate fountain. In 1902 Studebaker paid to erect a unique fountain in the area between the Auditorium and the Billy Sunday home. The site of this fountain was previously used by the Beyer Brothers as an ice and produce storage room. The room was built into the hillside and walled up using local field stone. Studebaker created a new outside wall for this room. The fountain is artistic flourish to this wall. It still exists, but the water supply has been plugged.
Origin: 1910-07-28
Created By: J. W. Van Deventer
Source: http://palni.contentdm.oclc.org/cdm/ref/collection/p15705coll8/id/689
Collection: Grace College - Winona Lake Postcards
Copyright: Contact Morgan Library, Winona Lake, IN for copy and usage permissions
Geography: Winona Lake (Ind.)
Subjects: Studebaker Fountain

Further information on this record can be found at its source.