Description: |
Established in 1921, the park consists of 43 acres donated by the family of Edward Claypool, a local businessman and owner of the Claypool Hotel. Systematic segregation that occurred in the city during the 1920s and 1930s prevented the growing African American population from enjoying many of the other recreation facilities and parks. In 1927, the park, named for Frederick Douglass, opened at 1616 E 25th Street serving primarily African American neighborhoods on the northeast side of Indianapolis. Creation of the Douglass Park Golf Course in 1928 drew world renowned golfers. A mural painted on the side of the Douglass Park Family Center honors Frank R. Beckwith, an attorney and judge in Indianapolis and the first African American to run for President. He worked to promote racial integration throughout the city and his wife, Mahala Ashely Dickerson was the first African American woman to practice law in Indianapolis. All city parks and golf courses were integrated in the 1960s, but Doug This archival material has been provided for educational purposes. Ball State University Libraries recognizes that some historic items may include offensive content. Our statement regarding objectionable content is available at: https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/about |
---|---|
Origin: | 1995 |
Created By: |
Indianapolis (Ind.). Department of Parks and Recreation |
Source: |
http://dmr.bsu.edu/cdm/ref/collection/IndplsPDArc/id/8353 |
Collection: |
Indianapolis Dept. of Parks and Recreation Landscape Architectural Drawings |
Rights: | http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/ |
Geography: |
Indianapolis Marion County Indiana United States North and Central America |
Subjects: |
Parks Park facilities Landscape architecture Playgrounds Baseball fields Tennis courts Swimming pools Golf courses |
Further information on this record can be found at its source.