Description: |
Founded in 1898, the original park only covered 6 miles in length. In 1927, the park name changed to Taggart Memorial Park, but reverted back to Riverside Park three years later. Located at 2400 Riverside Drive, the White River forms the western boundary, the Riverside Community the eastern, South Grove golf course the southern, and the Rivers Edge neighborhood the northern. The Riverside Amusement Park existed adjacent to the park from 1903-1970. The Rivers Edge neighborhood was built on the original location of the amusement park. This archival material has been provided for educational purposes. Ball State University Libraries recognizes that some historic items may include offensive content. Our statement regarding objectionable content is available at: https://dmr.bsu.edu/digital/about |
---|---|
Origin: | 1931-1940 |
Created By: |
Indianapolis (Ind.). Department of Parks and Recreation |
Source: |
http://dmr.bsu.edu/cdm/ref/collection/IndplsPDArc/id/7936 |
Collection: |
Indianapolis Dept. of Parks and Recreation Landscape Architectural Drawings |
Rights: | http://rightsstatements.org/vocab/InC/1.0/ |
Geography: |
Indianapolis Marion County Indiana United States North and Central America |
Subjects: |
Parks Park facilities Landscape architecture Landscape design Sidewalks Memorials |
Further information on this record can be found at its source.